We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Stays - Both Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Save
You added The Mermaid & The Alligator to your Saves list
729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westford
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Two Stays - Both Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We had a second stay at the M & A last December. It was as wonderful as the first, one year earlier. We again stayed in the Garden Room with the wonderful 'outdoor' glass block shower.
The annual Holiday parade took place during our stay and the M & A held a cocktail party as a fund raiser for a local charity. Guests enjoyed food and drink on the front of the property while the parade passed right by. Dean and Paul are wonderful hosts. We are looking forward to our next visit in about 7 weeks and meeting the newest member of the family, Caya.

  • Liked — Immaculate, ambience and privacy
  • Disliked — It would be nice to have a guest laundry.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    39
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
583
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We just came back from our trip to Key West. While this marks the third time we have visited Key West, staying at The Mermaid and the Alligator’s innate charm made everything magically feel like a “first time” experience once more. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen Suite – what a retreat. It was truly cozy, containing a comfy 4 poster bed; lots of seating; lots of places to store your belongings; and a soaking tub big enough to loose yourself in. Our favorite part of the room was the private wrap around porch, perfect for drinking your morning coffee, hiding out with your favorite book, or watching leisurely KW life go by. Every morning we were treated to homemade goodies like Belgian waffles, quiche, crustless French toast. This modest, yet scrumptious meal was truly worth getting up early for – and set us straight for the many adventures the day would surely bring. As for the atmosphere…well let’s say that you’re in for a bit of paradise. We were surrounded by lush greens and palms, the fragrances of stunning and colorful flowers, the song of innumerable finches and parakeets, and the warm welcome of the B&B’s two most adorable four-legged residents – Kaya and Havana. While hurricane Gustav came to call during the last day of our vacation, we did not mind so much – as we were safe in the embrace of this place. Stay here – and you won’t be disappointed. It’s truly the perfect place to call “home base” while in Key West.

  • Liked — The Breakfasts
  • Disliked — The Stairs
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

After a few weeks (really!) of going over and over reviews of Key West Hotels on TripAdvisor, we settled on a 3 night honeymoon at the Mermaid. No regrets! We called a few days before and asked if it were possible to get in our room early since we were getting married at 6pm. They said they would clean our room first. We were able to get in around 12:30, just enough time to relax before getting ready. We were shown around the property by Gerri. She was a great help and even booked us a delicious wedding dinner at Santiago's Bodega. We stayed in the Bamboo Room which had a separate living room area. The room was tastefully appointed with tropical bird prints, a sleigh bed and super comfy chair and sofa. The bed was decked out in fine bedding and was a pleasant surprise. The entire property is landscaped with lush foliage, orchids, palms, water features...There are several outdoor bird cages with lovely birdies to greet you. The dipping pool with jets was a great treat after a long and sweaty night walking Duval. Noone else was in it the entire stay and it felt like our own personal jacuzzi. They have a small guest fridge in the house loaded with cold drinks. They serve wine and fresh lemonade around dinner time and put out chips as well. The breakfast was yummy. One morning we had quiche with spinach and mushrooms, fresh croissants and fruit. Another morning was fresh Belgian waffles with macerated strawberries, warm syrup and whipped cream. And yet another morning, they served eggs monterey. They always had out high end cereals, yogurts, coffee, and tea each morning. There were also english muffins, Dickinsons jellies, and fresh fruit juices. If you need any directions or reservations, they will provide them. We highly recommend getting bicycles at least one day while you're visiting. The staff at the Mermaid is so genuine and friendly. The housekeepers keep a meticulous property. And let's not forget the two black Labs, Caya and Havana are there to greet you. If we weren't bringing our kids in November, we would stay there again without a doubt. Next adult vacation, back to the Mermaid and the Alligator.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Parking, but it's lousy everywhere on Key West
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

My husband and I just stayed here and we can honestly say that this was out best vacation ever. The house and the surrounding garden grounds are beautiful. The housekeepers do a great job as the place is immaculate. The atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. We found ourselves just wanting to stay there and relax and hang out by the pool area despite all the other things to do in Key West! We loved playing with the adorable and well-behaved dogs, Kaya and Havana. Geri was helpful with restaurant recommendations and the breakfast each morning was delicious. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — everything was great
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
77713
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

The Mermaid and the Alligator is the nicest place I have ever stayed. It is very clean. The hosts are very nice and accomadating. The dogs are precious. The grounds are beautiful. They serve a delicious breakfast every morning abd wine in the afternoon. I will definately go back. I highly recommend The Mermigator!!!

  • Liked — it was like being in home complete with pets.
  • Disliked — No negatives
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

We stayed at The Mermaid & The Alligator this past December & we LOVED it! The place is adorable, it has one of the nicest kitchens & outside area that we've seen at any B&B.

Our room, the Royal Poinciana was WONDERFUL, we loved the look of it & the deck was an added bonus. The bed was very comfortable & if it weren't for the delicious breakfast each morning we may not have gotten out of it. We loved the Royal Poinciana so much that we came home with a list of things to purchase that we had in that room.

Dean & Paul were great, Dean was especially helpful, he made us last minute dinner reservations at Seven Fish. We ate at the bar but that was just fine, it was amazing so you should try to go if you visit KW.

Geri is amazingly sweet, she really makes you feel at home there! She booked us a couples massage & a boat trip (Danger Tour) and both were wonderful!

All in all, this place is a gem! It's in a great location & you will not want to leave.....I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

This guesthouse is probably the best we have ever stayed in.

Fantastic location, fantastic decor, fantastic room choice, fantastic owners and lovely doggie ... just totally fantastic!

We stayed in the house for four nights to kick off our honeymoon and by-passing the big hotels to stay here was the best decision we made.

The house was full when we stayed but you would never have known it, you were given your own space to pad around but there was always someone on hand if you needed help or had questions to answer.

We really did feel like it was a home from home and we wanted to take so much of the art home with us - the light fitting over the dinner table was just outstanding!

A special mention has to go to Geri. She is just lovely and such a gem. Nothing was ever too much hassle and she booked us on a Discovery half day boat trip plus a couples massage - both of which were excellent. And her breakfasts were scrummy.

Having Dean and Paul's top restaurant picks to hand was also great as every single one of them we went to served delicious food, particularly Seven Fish.

The garden was totally lush and although the pool was small it was a lot bigger than we had expected and was a great place to cool off after the heat of the day.

Everything you could ever need is thought of - from pool towels to beach towels, free water and soda, lemonade in the afternoon and wine at night - its these extra touches that make this place so fantastic.

We stayed in the Caribbean room and the bed was just HUGE and oh so comfy.

We are in our early 30s and I know a couple said they felt quite young in the house - think they may have been there the same time as us and looked roughly our age - we never felt like that at all.

If you cannot tell we really, really loved this place and would definatley go back there in a minute if I had the chance.

  • Liked — There's too much to choose ... the interior decoration and Geri!
  • Disliked — I got bit by midges but that's just Key West for you!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#1 of 45 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#32 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,899 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#6 of 92 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid & The Alligator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.