We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #4 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for ten days in April and chose the inn partly based on tripadvisor but also because we liked the look of the house and the dogs. The first thing to say is that this is a great choice for a longer trip for two reasons. One is Geri who is a very lovely lady - very welcoming and charming. The other is what this inn offers more generally; both Geri and Rebecca know where is best to eat (no tourists traps) and what activities are available; the house is beautiful, interesting and eclectic which means you don't get bored of the decor; the fact a good breakfast is included and they have nice touches like lemonade and cookies at 15.00 and wine later; and the adorable dogs of course.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriibean Queen which was lovely though all the rooms we saw on our floor looked g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    31
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
470
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights in The Tree Top Suite.Because it is room in the 3rd floor it has exposed rafters that are low. Problems was the open rafters are by the bed and my husband hit his head a couple of times. The room is beautiful. We did not know the house sits on the corner of a busy street so it took us a night or two to get us to the street noise . But the owners do provide a sound machine in the room which we used. The Gardens are beautiful and breakfast is served there daily. also the gardens are a nice place to sit relax and enjoy a book. if you needed anything they were happy to help out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

In late February-early March 2013, my husband and I spent a fabulous three nights at the Mermaid and the Alligator, so would highly recommend it. Conveniently located in Old Key West, the staff at this 1904 Victorian home made us feel very welcome. They were ever so helpful, whether suggesting a good restaurant, or arranging reservations for various activities. It was like having your own personal concierge service. The home is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated, and the privacy created by the lush gardens made a wonderful place to enjoy the full hot breakfasts they provided. There is lemonade in the afternoon, and complimentary wine in the evening. Also included is wireless internet and off-street parking. Due to there location in Old Key West, we were able to walk everywhere and didn't have to worry about parking...finding spots OR paying for it! At first glance, it might seem expensive, but Key West is an expensive spot. Even lower end hotels were almost as much, so we felt it was well worth the price when you added up all it had to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found the Mermaid and Alligator to be an exceptional B&B. The room and grounds are lovely, the service and food exceptional and the staff...INCREDIBLE.

The staff set up a host of "adventures" for us, including a seaplane ride and a delightful female impersonator show! We had a blast!

Thank you to all the staff for making our visit to Key West so memorable!

P&K Small

Room Tip: Call ahead and have the staff set up your adventures and dining options!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, Shetland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Mermaid & the Alligator for one night. It's a wonderful B&B. Beautiful setting, gorgeous room, helpful staff and great breakfast. The only downside was we couldn't stay longer. We would go back to Key West in a heartbeat and will definitely choose the Mermaid & the Alligator as our base when we do so. Thank you for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Place is located on Truman, which is one of the busiest streets in Key West, but you would never know it staying at this wonderful B&B. We were pleasantly greeted by their two labs, Caya and Havana, who seemed happy to have more people around. They made our stay feel more like a home vs. just being on vacation. The pictures of the garden on their website do not do it justice.
My wife and I stayed in the Bamboo room, providing us with our own sanctuary from the fun that is Key West. Our room was clean, had its own porch and definitely large enough for two.
Each morning we were treated to an exceptional breakfast on the patio that started our day out right. Dean, Paul, Geri and Rebecca provided direction on the hot spots around town and of course some of those tucked away neighborhood hideouts (thanks Geri).
If you need to get away from the snow or just need to unwind this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed from 4/4/13 to 4/8/13. Great place to relax, with amazing gardens and a very comfortable room. Very gracious hosts who were willing to do whatever was asked to make our stay more pleasant. Breakfasts were outstanding, with fresh-baked muffins and fruit in addition to the hot breakfast of the day. Wine in the afternoon, friendly dogs that like to be petted, and a location that made it easy to walk everywhere - what more could you ask for. The only downside was that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Their website gives a good description of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid & The Alligator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Mermaid & The Alligator to your Saves list