We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Save
You added The Mermaid & The Alligator to your Saves list
729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

This was our 2nd time to stay at The Mermaid and the Alligator. The first time was on our honeymoon 4 years ago. When we decided to make a trip back to Key West, all of our plans revolved around getting stay at this inn again.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The bathrooms are modern and very clean. Our room this time around, the Royal Poinciana, had a large balcony which overlooked a side street. We spent many lazy afternoons reading on a comfy lounge chair amongst palm trees with a cool breeze on our faces.

Breakfast is also a treat. There is a selection of muffins, cereal, and yogurt, fruit, and also a hot entree each day. During our 7 day stay, we enjoyed waffles, frittatas, pancakes, french toast and omelets. There is also a fridge with bottled waters and sodas for your enjoyment during your stay.

The staff is very friendly and seems 100% focused on the enjoyment of not only the inn, but of all that Key West has to offer.

  • Liked — It is so beautiful!
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    36
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
537
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Just fantastic. Location is perfect, staff were friendly and accommodating, but also remained in the background until you needed them. Home-baked muffins for breakfast, wine on the terrace at sunset, fabulous garden and great decor. We stayed in two villas in the garden. The first (Key Lime) had a problem with noisy air-conditioning, so they moved us immediately the next day. Both rooms were great and the whole stay was so peaceful, it's hard to believe the noise of Key West's bars and restaurants is just a few minutes' walk away. If I went back to Key West, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

Couldn't have been better! Owner and staff wonderful! Service great! Grounds beautiful! Room very well done! First rate property!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

I have stayed at the M&A 4-5 times over the last 9-10 years. I have never been disappointed. The last visit was with someone who had never been to Key West before and I promised her someplace special. She loved it and is already talking about our next visit! We stayed in the Bamboo Room. I prefer the Bamboo Room because it is a cottage in the yard with its own covered porch. We loved drinking tea and coffee there in the morning and sitting with a candle in the evenings. The room has been refurbished since my last stay (new air conditioner, shower and furnishings) and is even better! As other reviewers have said the owners are very aware of how much interaction you want and don’t intrude. I highly recommend treating yourself (and your partner) to a massage in the garden. They have a screen room/tent installed now which affords privacy and with the warm breeze in the middle of February really feels deliciously decadent for us visitors from snowy areas.

  • Liked — Charming taste of old Key West
  • Disliked — Wouldn't change a thing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

My girlfriend and I were looking for something a little different (for us) and Key West came up as an option. I had never been to Florida in general, and the more I looked into Key West the more intrigued I became.

A friend recommended the Mermaid and the Alligator, so we called and booked a room. Actually 2 rooms - nothing was available for the duration, so we needed to switch rooms 1/2 way through. This may seem annoying, but not the case. All the rooms are different so it was actually fun to stay in two different completely different spaces.

Room 1 - Tree Top Suite - It's on the 3rd floor, and away from it all. It has charm, is perfectly decorated, and amazingly comfortable.

Room 2 - Caribbean Queen Suite - Totally different feel, but just as good (not quite as quiet though. One major bonus is a huge private porch.

The little things are what made this B&B perfect.

The yard is private, quiet, and completely relaxing. Every afternoon we'd drag a couple of lounge chairs off into a private corner to read and catch a little nap.

On the first day we inquired about renting Bicycles, a few minutes later the owner had a local renal company deliver them (really - it was less that 20 min).

As it turns out - Florida is hot - which results in thirst, and there's a well stocked fridge with sodas and water for guests - like I said - it's the little things.

We've stayed at a few B&B's, and we've had good and bad hosts. The hosts at Mermaid are perfect - they're there to answer questions, chat if you like, or they completely disappear. They have an incredible knack for reading people and knowing how each guest wants to relax in their own way.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Mermaid and Alligator for 7 days. We stayed in the Audubon room, which was lovey. Doors opened to the outside garden area, the bed was comfy, and we loved how spacious the bathroom was.

I found the decor beautiful, and there were so many lovely details. The Innkeepers were very helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do, and also made reservations for us.

Definitely eat at Pisces - delicious! Next Key West trip, we will certainly be staying again at the M&A!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We had a wonderful experience at the Mermaid and the Alligator. First, the property is spectacular and the inn keepers go to great lengths to make it as stunning as possible. There is a lovely back porch/garden area to eat and relax. They are always providing the guests with numerous goodies - cookies, wine, and a full service breakfast featuring both cold items (yougurt, cereal, fruit, etc) as a well as hot items such as quiche. There is also a nice large hot tub to hand out in. There are also cages of love birds scattered throughout the premises outside, which give the property a very tropical feel.

The rooms are nice. We stayed in the Kiwi Room, which was a little on the small size, but had a very comfortable bed. Our friends stayed in the adjacent Mango Room, which was a little large and equally well decorated. We were able to explore a few more rooms in the main house which were so lovely. The house itself is amazing - they are truly gifted at decorating!

They also helped us do lots of little things - rent bicycles, book a snuba trip, and find/recommend good restaurants.

Lastly, they have an adorable dog Havana, who is just about as sweet as can be.

I would recommend this place to anyone - I cannot see how anyone could go there and not fall in love with the place.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid & The Alligator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.