We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The many positive reviews are correct” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Save Saved
You added The Mermaid & The Alligator to your Saves list
729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Cold Spring, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The many positive reviews are correct”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The website pictures an escape into a idyllic place of green tropical trees and lush plants (it never freezes in Key West) and quiet corners. The house and outdoor space well surpass the web site depiction, appealing as it is. This is a place to be, not just a place to sleep before going out again. When you do go out, it is centrally located. We left our car parked the entire time and walked everywhere in old town Key West.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    32
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
483
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in the Sun Room at the Mermaid and the Alligator in December 2012. This bright room is small with very efficient use of space, very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Because it was on the 2nd floor, we had views of the treetops which made it seem like you were in a tree house or rain forest. The B&B was full when we were there but it was very quiet. We never heard anyone from the other rooms, nor did we hear any street noise, though this room faces the back gardens and not the street. The B&B might be considered 'off the beaten path' but don't confuse that with being far from the sites. It's an easy walk or bike to anywhere on the island. The staff will provide recommendations for all things and got us bikes to rent which we picked up the next day at the B&B. The Mermaid and the Alligator is different than other B&Bs I've stayed at. It has all the things you'd have at home but couldn't bring along (e.g. beach chairs, beach umbrellas, sunscreen, towels) and no knickknacks in the room taking up precious space. Breakfast is in the gorgeous garden area. The breakfast consists of several juices, muffins, yogurt, fruit, coffee and a hot dish that they prepare. All very good. Geri and Rebecca were very helpful and friendly and handled things quite while the owners were out of town. The two dogs Caya and Havana were mellow and just hung out. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it highly to anyone else. This is probably one of my favorite B&Bs that I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in January 2013 and were joined by my brother Chris and his wife Gail. We had previously spent a fantastic week cruising the Carribean on Carnival Valor and seeing our daughter who is a dancer on that ship. Whilst that was a wonderful experience our stay in Key West and the wonderful delights of the M&A were indeed paradise. We had the pleasure of seeing all the Christmas decorations before they were taken down; an amazing display. The breakfasts were delicious and helped set us on our way each day with us enjoying the different flavoured muffins later on as we explored this historic and fabulous island. When we returned we relaxed in the shade of the immaculate gardens; a wonderful place to rest our wearly legs after each fun filled day in Key West before setting off in the evening for more delights. Rebecca and Geri were very welcoming and a very big thank you to Geri for all her recommended eating places and sorting out the bookings. We never had a bad experience and would endorse Saluté, La te dars, Louis' backyard and Latitude. Finally, we will miss Havana and Caya, especially the latter who never let my husband rest in the jacuzzi!! Thank you Dean and Paul for sharing your "home" with us. Mike and Sally

Room Tip: Just simply look at their fantastic website. The pictures do not lie!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for the first time in January 2013. This is a beautiful house, surrounded by lush gardens. The house was still decorated for Christmas, and looked amazing. We stayed in the Sun Room, which was beautiful, and immaculate. We had our own private deck overlooking the gardens and breakfast area, which we thoroughly enjoyed sitting on. Breakfast was absolutely delicious every day, and quite a variety. Geri and Rebecca were very helpful, and very friendly. The dogs, Caya and Havanna added to the charm! Thank you Dean and Paul for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South County RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Caribean Queen on the second floor which had it's own full length porch along the Truman Street side.There's a hammock too. Very nice place to relax but there are street noises at times. The Bed was a king size and very comfortable. Plenty of closet space and drawer space and the rooms has a programmable safe.
We stayed 2 nights in the Audobon Room on the first floor which had a second door opening to the pool/garden/dining areas which was very convenient. The Bathrooms for both rooms were kept very clean were both excellent. Again, plenty of closet space and drawer space. I liked this one better because the AC was central and not a window unit and there was a bathroom outside in the hall across from the room for when my wife taking too long. This bath featured a jacuzzi tub with jets and the shower had no enclosure as the bath was all tile. It made it much roomier.
My only complaints were with the Caribbean Queen. The bath had a broken door under the sink and the ipod dock remote was broken. Otherwise, the breakfasts were ample and varied and to my liking and there were snacks put out in the afternoon and late evening.
All in all I would have no problem returning to or recommending this B&B. They have earned their high rating. Having the dogs around was a plus and I'm afraid I spoiled them with dog biscuits.

Room Tip: No TV's just so you know ahead of time. I was able to connect to netflix via their wi-fi though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stay here every year over the New Year holiday and really cant fault it - it really is paradise on earth. The house is beautiful and always full of Christmas decorations when we visit, and the cleanliness and attention to detail in the rooms is meticulous - they think of everything. Really everyone at the Mermaid makes our stay just perfect! Our hosts Dean & Paul are very welcoming and Geri & Rebecca are most helpful in arranging anything that we need to do during our holiday in Key West.....not forgetting the dogs Havana & Kaya who make it feel like home from home!

Room Tip: We have stayed in lots of the rooms, they are all individual and all superb but we have now settled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Mermaid and Alligator during Christmas of this year. So inviting, relaxing and feels like home. Geri and Rebecca are experts on the local area and the Innkeepers provide everything that you could need, several that you didn't even know you needed. A real home away from home. Plus, you get to interact with Havana and Caya! So I didn't miss my dogs at home. Breakfast was varied and tasty. Lemonade and Wine provided each afternoon and evening. Would love to come back soon!

Room Tip: They are all lovely, just depends on your mood. I never heard a peep from anyone else staying in ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid & The Alligator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.