We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Save
You added The Mermaid & The Alligator to your Saves list
729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I spent 5 days in Key West with my daughter and son-in-law over Christmas and we could not have been happier with this choice of Bed & Breakfast. My daughter and son-in-law had the Bamboo Room which was a larger accommodation with a comfortable seating area. It had a large provate covered porch just across the walkway from the breakfast area and pool. I was in the Papaya Room, which was smaller but perfect for the mother-in-law. The three of us congregated on the Bamboo Room's porch looking out on the gardens and pool. Both rooms were very comfortable and pleasantly decorated. They were clean and well-maintained, and I cannot say enough good things about the staff. There's a hot breakfast available every morning by the pool. In addition, there's coffee, tea, juice, muffins and fruit available from early in the morning. There's juice and snacks around 3 pm, and wine around 5pm. The staff is attentive and helpful with arrangements for activities, taxis and information. The property is located centrally in Key West, and is walking distance from most attractions and restaurants. I would reccommend this B&B to all my friends and would most definitely plan to stay here agin myself on a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    37
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
545
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We escaped Minnesota in December and got a most relaxing getaway at The Mermaid and the Alligator. Jeri was always around when we needed assistance; renting bikes, scheduling tours, restaurant recommendations, and serving the breakfast -- it was beautiful and most delicious. The house was lovingly restored and is absolutely beautiful inside and out. We stayed in the Poinciana room. It was beautifully decorated with a well appointed bath and lovely porch. The house was quite decked out in holiday decor; it sparkled. But I'd imagine it would be quite lovely even without it's holiday decor. The gardens are lush and lovely. The pool was petite and still a refreshing oasis. Thanks, Mermaid and Alligator; you made our stay great!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Loved our three night stay at The Mermaid & Alligator. Everything was exactly as described on the internet. We stayed in the Bamboo Room, which is actually a separate cottage nestled in the gardens. The room was very nice and all amenities were first class.
The breakfast each morning was delicious and very nicely presented. If we would ever decide to visit Key West again, we would stay here. They simply have thought of every little detail to make one feel comfortable, from beach towels, maps, umbrellas, tour guides. etc.
You know what you are doing and you do it right!!

Room Tip: If you want privacy, I would choose the Bamboo room. Separate private entrance with a nice sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Friendly, relaxing oasis in the fun town of Key West. This was our second stay, the first was in 2004. The place has a wonderful tropical garden surrounding the main accommodation in which one can spend many tranquil hours relaxing in the hammock, gazebo or plunge pool. On both occasions we stayed in the Bamboo room, a self contained "cottage" in the grounds and separate from the main house. The room is, as suggested by the name, decked out in a funky bamboo theme. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with the most luxurious cotton sheets and topper and from which it was difficult to drag oneself away for the wonderful breakfasts each morning. Every evening nibbles and drinks are served in the grounds affording guests a great opportunity to mingle and mix and discuss the days activities. Should we once again find ourselves in Key West, it's this place we aim to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Mermaid & The Alligator was the perfect home base for our trip to Key West. Our room (The Audubon) was lovely, and the landscaping lush and beautiful. Breakfasts were delicious, and the whole staff was very helpful with reservations, recommendations and directions. Loved the B&B dogs and birds! We'll definitely want to return here for a future vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights (in Royal Poinciana room) in mid-November for the end of our Keys road trip. It may be a bit pricier than other Key West hotels but, we can say with certainty, it was worth every penny. Completely refreshing to stay in an establishment that's thought of everything a traveler could want, and need, for their time in Key West - beach towels and chairs on loan, complimentary wine in the evenings and soft drinks throughout the day etc. Really impressed by the meticulous attention to detail of the interiors, as well as the hospitality - great restaurant and sightseeing tips, lovely breakfast service. An added bonus (besides the lovely, lovely dogs), is the free parking, for which lots of other hotels in Key West charge you an exorbitant amount! Highly recommended when you want a bit of charm and great service in your Key West holiday - wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Our last visit was in 2008, four years later our 4th visit was even better than we remembered. We were warmly greeted by Rebecca and shown to the Garden Room, our favorite. At The Mermaid & The Alligator everything exceeds expectations. Delicious breakfasts (thank you Geri and Paul), afternoon wine and snacks and a lovely outside area to socialize with other guests - or just spend alone time. They think of everything for you, from everything you need for the beach including towels, umbrellas and sunscreen, to rain umbrellas or a personal item you forgot from home. The location is perfect as you can walk to anywhere in Old Town. The two beloved dogs, Havana and Caya, are a joy. The dogs are well trained and there are signs at the tables asking guests not to feed the 'Muffin Monsters' - they keep a jar in the kitchen filled with treats for guests to give them. We are glad that Paul and Dean decided to make the M & A completely smoke free. Consider a visit after Thanksgiving to see the gorgeous holiday decorations put up by Dean. Award winning. Thank you Dean, Paul, Rebecca and Geri - every visit is like coming home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Address: 729 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid & The Alligator, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.