We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Save Saved
You added Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   622 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My family and I booked a cottage at Ambrosia - great breakfast each morning -- welcoming staff! We had a phenomenal time. They were in the process of fixing the hot tub so they pumped up the heat in the pools right outside of our room which was perfect for us! The cottage was clean, well kept, and accommodating for our needs. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
It was a pleasure to host your entire family! Katie's Kottage is perfect for a family of 6 featuring two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a queen sleeper sofa in the living room and a full kitchen. Glad to hear you enjoyed our lap pool and dip pool. During your time with us, it was unseasonably cold and we actually had to do maintenance on our Jacuzzi, however, as you mentioned we did turn up the heat in our two other pools. Thanks for the comments regarding our breakfast. It truly is a great breakfast with eggs, bacon, waffles, granola, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, bagels, breads, and much more. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    961
    111
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
161
574
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phila., PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I managed to crash their guest computer printer twice. Other than that and the fact that people still smoke, we DID have 5 days of Blue Heaven. Very helpful staff/great and huge bed/good breakfast/very clean/comfortable, low key and authentic. Why did we not stay?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Greetings computer crashers! No worries the guest computer is working fine and I am glad you were able to print your crossword puzzles out daily!! As our guest you stayed in our Havana Cabana which is located at our Historic Ambrosia House just across the street from our compound. I am sure you enjoyed the privacy that this suite boasts. Thanks for the kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. The entire Ambrosia Family enjoys their profession and it shows! Jenny, Tina, Lexi, and Marilyn want you to hurry back soon! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My second time at Ambrosia, and it didn't disappoint. Great location - within walking distance of Duval, the wharf, and the great neighborhood places to eat - Seven Fish, Mangia Mangia, Sarabeth and the rest. Though close to the action of Duval, very quiet and restful. Rooms were good, nice breakfast, friendly staff. Two negatives - smoking allowed so close to room entries -hard to escape when you are next to or near smoking neighbor and bathrooms are small. Even with those, I still give it an excellent rating as it is such a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We are thrilled you chose and enjoyed Ambrosia the second time around! Yes, we are within walking distance to all of the hot spots in Key West. Ambrosia is in a prime location surrounded by tropical foliage. So glad you had the pleasure to visit Seven Fish, Manga Manga and Sarabeth’s. They are my three favorite restaurants in all of Key West! All of our accommodations feature private entrances, most with private verandas. So happy to hear you enjoyed a peaceful vacation. We look forward to your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Long overdue in writing this review of our favorite place in Key West. Hubby and I have stayed here multiple times and will not stay anywhere else. Jungle room is great and right next to the in ground jacuzzi tub. Our last visit was in June and we stayed in the Alligator Suite which is steps away from the lap pool. We loved our veranda and spent lots of time reading and playing board games in between dips in the pool. Breakfast is served everyday with a large selection. There is truly something for everybody. Ambrosia is a great location and close to all our favorite spots. We just booked again for March and can't wait!

Room Tip: Alligator Suite and Jungle room are great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for taking time to share your experience. As our guest, you stayed in our most popular suite, the Alligator Suite featuring a large outdoor veranda that is perfect for wasting the day away with your sweetheart or entertaining family and friends! Our breakfast buffet has a plenty of variety and you are right, there is something for everyone. We look forward to your return trip next month. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our first trip to Key West and we couldn't have been more pleased with our 3 day stay.
Ambrosia offered every amenity from a full breakfast and afternoon snack, pools and garden, wicker chairs and umbrella tables, coffee/tea and robes, to a very short walk to a great grocery and Duvall Street. We walked everywhere easily and never used our car until we left. The staff is open and friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had the 2nd floor room nearest the office….quiet and shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for the nice review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your first trip to Key West and Ambrosia. We offer a bountiful hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, bacon, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit…just to name a few. As our guest you stayed in our second floor pool room which is well located. Most of our rooms surround our lap pool and dip that we offer. You are right; it is quiet at Ambrosia, considering how close we are to Duval Street and the Historic Seaport. See you next time! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Ambrosia house 12/28/13-1/4/14 - what a wonderful experience and nice place! We were not treated like cattle as you get at a hotel either. Wonderful, accommodating staff. Booked our sunset cruise and our scooter rental for us. The breakfasts were wonderful and so nice by the pool. The location was even better, close to everything there we enjoy. This was our 3rd trip to KW and the best yet. Mostly because of this place! We just loved it so much. The rooms are spacious and we had our own veranda overlooking the street. And they are dog-friendly which makes it perfect for us. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
What a hoot! Our staff is pleased to hear of your compliments! Our private Havana Cabana is perfect for a romantic getaway. Glad to hear you enjoyed the fabulous view of the streetscape! I am sure you liked how remote the spa pool was to your suite. We are all pet lovers at Ambrosia and we loved having Frisco as our guest. We look forward to your return visit! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the Ambrosia on a 3 day get away for our first time to Key West and really enjoyed it. The location is perfect for seeing the sights and getting around town whether on foot or by bicycle, which we chose , and the bikes were delivered within 20 minutes. Lexie was so helpful and really made our stay here special. Very relaxed atmosphere with all the amenities you could ask for. The breakfast, which is served in the pool side cabana, has everything you can imagine from eggs and bacon to toast, coffee and cereal galore. Two pools and the jacuzzi which was near our room on the opposite side of the street in the older house, was perfect. Centrally located on Fleming Street and near to everything, yet so peaceful and quiet too. Definitely a hidden jewel to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Beverly thank you for sharing your Ambrosia Experience! As our guest you stayed in our Ambrosia Suite which features a queen bedroom, living room with a queen sleeper sofa, private veranda and just steps away from our Jacuzzi. Yes we are situated in a perfect Old Town location, I am sure you enjoyed being within walking or biking distance to such hot spots as the Aquarium, Audubon House, and the shipwreck museum. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed Lexi’s recommendations and she helped make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to greeting you on your return trip to Key West. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Address: 622 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.