We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging to your Saves list
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   622 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% in April and May
Ranked #12 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, D.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Ambrosia Key West April 12-14 for a wedding in town. We chose the honeymoon suite in order to take advantage of the in-suite jacuzzi, which was wonderful. The staff was very helpful in every aspect you can imagine, including bike rentals, knowledge of the area including nearby grocers, etc. The amenities were great - pools (2), and hot tubs, water and refrigerator in-room, as well as hair dryers, coffee makers. The pool area provides not just towels, but all sorts of sun products, sunblock, sunscreen, etc. The location is perfect - 2 blocks off Duval Street, so you're close if you want to be but also far enough from the noise so you can have a nice night of sleep. The properties themselves are charming and well-appointed. I highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for the praises! As our guest you stayed in our Honeymoon Suite. This second floor all white suite is located at our historic Ambrosia House. I am sure you enjoyed a peaceful relaxing evening in the beautifully appointed master bathroom featuring a two person Jacuzzi. We are glad you took advantage of our sun products that we keep in stock near the beach towels. It’s a nice touch, one less item you have to pick up at Fausto’s! Again, thank you for sharing your Ambrosia experience with us, we are excited to greet you on your return trip! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    123
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
182
624
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I booked our stay one week prior to spring break. Luckily, we were able to get a room. The best part about it, we didn't just get a room for our stay we moved from room to room to room! There were no available rooms for consecutive nights, so we were pleased to be accomodated on such short notice. Now I have an idea of the room to request on our next visit. The glass is half full! Most reviews have covered the tropical ambiance, helpful staff, delcious breakfast and the proximity of being tucked away from the business of Duval. So, I want to mention that this is pet friendly lodging. We traveled with our small dog, Woody and felt he was as welcome as we were! We will definitely return and recommend to others! Thank you, Tina and all staff for making it a great getaway!

Room Tip: Pool rooms on the first level are convenient to the lap pool and breakfast area and provide a full v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello Jeanette, Ken, and Woody! We were happy to squeeze you all in! As our guest you had the pleasant opportunity to stay in three different rooms. The first night you stayed in our two story town home Bob’s Place. Bob’s is equipped with a patio overlooking our dip pool, French doors, full kitchen, living room, and a second floor bedroom that opens up to a balcony with a hammock. The next two evenings you stayed in two of our first floor pool rooms. An ideal location that overlooks our tropical courtyard! We are delighted Woody felt welcomed as well; after all he is part of the family! Again, thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit! P.S. Don’t forget Woody! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent one night in Key West. The Ambrosia hotel is a wonderful hotel close to town. The location is great. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was nice by the pool. I want to go back to Ambrosia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Ambrosia Key West. We are delighted to read you were pleased with our Inn while in Old Town. I am sure you enjoyed being close to all of the action on Duval, Mallory Square, and the Historic Seaport. Our breakfast is the perfect way to jumpstart your morning served poolside daily! Jenny, Tina, Marilyn, and Lexi cannot wait to greet you on your return trip to Ambrosia. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was our first visit to Key West and we loved it. Just a walk away from the "Key West Express" that we took from Fort Meyers. Once there, Tina was full of suggestions as to where to go, eat, drink etc. We just followed her ideas and were happy little tourists for three days! Breakfast around the pool was a great start to the busy days! We be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amelia which was across the street from the Main Inn, which was not a problem. A la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Christine, we are thrilled you arrived on the Key West Express. Several of our guests that check-in daily, opt to take the ferry from Fort Myers! During registration Tina will offer you a refreshing adult beverage, she then will give you a map of Key West and point out all of the hot spots for dining and things to do. As our guest you stayed at “Ole Girl”, a.k.a. the Historic Ambrosia House. The second floor Amelia Suite is where you called home during your three day visit. This two room suite features a beautifully appointed master bedroom and a massive bathroom. I am sure you enjoyed taking the day in at our private Jacuzzi that is located behind this historic home. Did you know this was the childhood home of our current mayor? Tina cannot wait to greet you on your second trip to paradise! Until next time…Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We loved our stay at the Ambrosia Inn. The staff went out of their way to help us get settled, park our car, and bring our luggage to our room. We had a lovely room with a large porch which overlooked the garden and one of the pools. We enjoyed sitting at the lovely table on our porch each morning as we enjoyed their wonderful complimentary breakfast. Fresh air, fresh fruit and the sound of birds all made this stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Room 104 is large and comfy. It overlooks the pool and garden and has its own porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Greetings Dannielle and Paul! Thank you for coining Ambrosia Key West as a “slice of paradise”, it has a nice ring to it! It was our pleasure to get you settled, once you arrive at our Inn, we want you to start your vacation ASAP!! As our guest you stayed in our most wanted suite; the alligator suite features a huge private porch, tropical décor, king bed, hardwood floors, and a large private bath. I am sure you enjoyed being two steps away from our lap pool, dip pool, and our hot poolside breakfast that is located in our tropical courtyard. Jenny, Tina, Lexi, and Marilyn want you to hurry back soon! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just spent 2 fun nights in Key West. The Ambrosia is a great place to park the car and walk the town. It's close enough to Duval to walk it but far enough to be quiet. Nice clean room, great people and a good breakfast by the pool. The location on Fleming is located a little towards the north end of Duvall so you can easily walk to Mallory Square to watch the sun go down, but its also an easy walk to the Southernmost Point in the USA. Loved the shopping, the restaurants and the people watching. Next time we'll stay at the Ambrosia longer!

Room Tip: Park your car-there's no place to park anyway and Key West was made to walk. Don't miss the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Wow! Thanks for the fun review! We are in an ideal old town location! Just a block and half away from Duval Street and just a few blocks from Papa’s House, Mallory Square, Beaches, and the Historic Seaport. Our tropical courtyard is the best place to kick start your morning before you head out on your adventure. Go for a swim in one of our pools and then treat yourself to a hot breakfast. I am sure you enjoyed leaving your car keys in your suite, and strolling through the scenic neighborhoods’ of old town. Please be sure to contact our reservation department directly for your next trip to Ambrosia Key West. Until next time…Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After scouring the Internet we started calling B&B's. Ambosia Key Resort was the third place we called and we where lucky to get Lexi on the phone. After talking to her we looked at the web sight again for Ambrosia and decided to call back and book.
Lexi suggested a room and we were not disappointed when we finally got to Key West. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. A pleasant surprise was the breakfast each morning, which was a very nice to start your day.
Everyone from the front desk, the breakfast people, maid and maintenance man were all friendly and helpfull.
We will schedule our next Key West trip around the availability of the room we experienced on this trip

Room Tip: Talk to front desk here's a hint Alligator room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review! As our guest you stayed in our popular Alligator Suite. The Alligator Suite is a real treat featuring a huge outdoor living room overlooking our lap pool and our lush tropical gardens. I am sure you enjoyed having the best seat in the house! We are pleased to hear you felt our breakfast was a pleasant surprise, our hot poolside breakfast features eggs, bacon, sausage and biscuits, fresh fruit, waffles, just to name a few. Lexi blushed when I shared your feedback with her. We have a fantastic staff at Ambrosia, well-rounded handpicked group of hospitality professionals. We look forward to greeting you on your next trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Address: 622 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.