We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

After visiting the USA for the 3rd time we decided to do something different and drive from Orlando to Key West for 2 nights at the Ibis Bay Resort. We travelled as a family of four with two daughters 16 & 18 and we all enjoyed our stay. A very pleasant welcome and a good size family room that was adequate for our short stay. Staff were exceptionally friendly and were always there if you needed anything. Loved the shuttle bus as it saved us having to take the car out for the duration of our stay. Also loved the iguanas and tortoises. Staff at the Stoned Crab were outstanding especially the young woman from Jacksonville. Met some amazing American's whilst there from New York & Texas (we were all neighbours) and we had some good chats although I think my Northern British accent was hard for them to understand. Thank you everyone at Ibis for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I am glad you and your family tried something different and we were a good part of it. Sounds like you had a ball. Ibis Bay is specifically designed to be fun for families and couples. With all our water activities (and tropical animals!) there are lots of options. I appreciate you taking the time to help spread the word for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    209
    142
    70
    86
See reviews for
157
304
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel is clean, adorable and fits the needs for a great vacation. The owner, Chris, is on premises everyday except Sunday. He makes sure your stay is great. The workers are friendly and always there to make sure you are taken care of. The employees love to work there and love their boss. Their own landscape team are always cleaning and making the premises look inviting. They have jet skies, paddle boards bikes, scooters and more. They also have a short bus called "Life is too short bus" to take you to Duval St. Willie is the driver and hes priceless! Tortoises, Iguanas (they eat fruit and green leafy veggie like Kale and Romaine Lettuce), hammocks, lounge chairs, private docks, swimming pool with poolside movies and excellent food/drinks in their restaurant The Stone Crab Key West (great friendly bartenders). I travel alot and spend every year in the Keys. I am pretty picky about the places I stay and this has been one of my top favorite places. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Any room but I stayed beach front in 204. Quite sunrise and sunsets a dock, hammocks and lounge chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I am having this review enlarged and hanging it on the wall behind my desk to remind my staff every day that they like me. LOL. I'm glad you had fun. We enjoy seeing our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I'm currently on property as I'm writing this review. The location is great, close to everything, but far enough away to avoid traffic and parking issues that key west offers. This place offers a free shuttle ride downtown every hour, which is cost efficient and saves time...especially with all the construction going on around the place. The staff is great as well. But to the negatives of this place, I knew when I booked here the room was small, no complaints there...again, I knew. What I did not know is our "private beach area" is the nasty backwoods part of the stinking bay area and is no fun. When we arrived, the room smelled like mold and must, I complained to the front desk, he said it's "low tide smell, it's all over the island". I've lived at the beach and I know what low tide smells like, but I waited it out anyways to give them the benefit of the doubt. After going to buy lots of air fresheners, I called and complained again and they sent maintenance to my room. Kudos for a less than 5 minutes response time, but he brought a can of air freshener...in which I just went out and bought. Lastly, the window unit AC makes annoying sounds, but it works very well, I like my room around 65 degrees and it's nice in the Keys heat. Overall, this place is acceptable. It's not a Ritz-Carlton, but you can tell what you're getting on the user friendly website. This place is old and fitting to the true Key West atmosphere you'd want. Yes it's pricey, but this is a tourist destination for world-wide travelers and business owners are in business to make money.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Ibis Bay is real Key West. It was built in 1956. We have renovated it without changing its character. When I travel I don't like slick and modern hotels, I prefer historic places. If you are like me, Ibis Bay is a great choice. It's Fabulous 1950s Florida. Thanks for staying with us and reviewing us. Its appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a sea view room. ( please note you can't swim in the sea- seaweed) but the views and pontoons with hammocks and loungers have made this one of the most fabulous places I have stayed. Funky and Eclectic but also clean and very comfortable with a very nice pool

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you. I am glad Ibis Bay was your kind of place. Lexie, our macaw says, "Bye!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently stayed at the Ibis Bay Resort for our Honeymoon. Overall it was a great trip; however, we booked it through Bookit.com and therefore it was a mystery package at a discounted price. The staff was extremely nice, and the room was clean but small. It is not the waterfront that they advertise, it is a dirty body of water. Also we stayed in room 513 ( economy ) and woke up every morning to the annoying birds right in front of the overpriced Stoned Crab restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
The best rooms at Ibis Bay are the one on the beach. Booking direct from our website gets you the better rates and you get to see inside all the rooms with our Google Virtual Tour. That way you can choose exactly what's right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The cons, the bathrooms were extremely small! The mirrors were very tiny. the maids didn't give us new towels when they cleaned it, we had to request it.
The beds were uncomfortable. Very hard.
Other then those things the resort was super cute and fun!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
If you come back to stay with us, call us directly to get our great "returning guest" rates. Booking services are great but booking direct with us on the website saves you money plus you can see room layouts, dimensions, photos and go on a virtual tour of the whole resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I recently stayed here with my two kids, 12 and 13, and found it to be a very nice hotel. The rooms are not large, but very clean, the place has a lot of charm, hammocks everywhere, a small, sandy beach area with floating docks sporting comfortable lounge chairs. Plus there is a dockside restaurant on the premises. Staff is friendly, there is a shuttle bus to Duval Street where all the action is in Key West or you are not far by car or bike (which they rent; motor scooters, too). I definitely recommend this place. It's really very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Nice photo! Thanks for choosing Ibis Bay. I am glad your kids had fun. It's a great family place. Lots to do. I hope they (and you) tried the night time clear bottom kayak tour with the LED lights. Its a great choice to see all of our night time marine life. Thanks for such a nice review too!! My staff will be proud.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.