We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Value Room" for $213 a Night?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Corinth, Maine
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“"Value Room" for $213 a Night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Biggest problem for us was the lack of internet connectivity. We were on the second floor. Didn't work there, didn't work in the restaurant, didn't work at the pool. Loved the decor in our tiny little room, but tiny may be giving it too much credit. Miniscule. Wee little shower had really low water pressure. And don't get me started on the size of the toilet seat... Comfy bed, though. It's obvious Management has fantastic, fun, creative ideas for the entire property and that, bit by bit, those ideas are being realized. In the meantime, though, it feels somewhat disjointed and definitely a work in progress. Loved sitting on the floating docks directly on the waterfront at the rear of the property. Peaceful. The parking situation seemed to mess up the beach vibe, with a mixture of sand and macadam blurring the lines between aesthetics and practicality. The air conditioner in our room was noisy and, even turned to its highest setting, didn't keep the room comfortably cool overnight. Enjoyed The Stoned Crab. Great service and atmosphere. There's an authentic Key West vibe happening here, and maybe it would be worth paying to stay in the beachfront rooms. Other reviewers seem to think so. We were only in Key West one night and would love to return for a longer stay. Maybe the Ibis will be ready for primetime then.

Room Tip: "Value Rooms" are VERY small. Pay more to upgrade to something larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
You (and me tool!!!) will be happy to know we just finished testing some completely new wi-fi technology this week and It works perfectly. That includes streaming video without buffering. Because our old buildings are built of coral stone that is more tha a foot thick, wi-fi reception has been an on-going problem that no supplier was able to solve ... until now. It will take a few weeks to complete thoughout the resort. No-one could be happer about this than I am. Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    199
    130
    65
    87
See reviews for
141
294
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ibis Bay Resort and we LOVED it! The service was great, the rooms were comfy, and the resort gave you the laid back island feel. We enjoyed just walking around the resort and seeing the various animals on site along with relaxing on the beach chairs by the water. We loved the restaurant Stoned Crab which was on site. After swimming and exploring Key West during the day it was nice to have a quiet close place to eat and the food was delish! We actually got guest of the day one day and that really made us feel like valued guests. We will stay at the Ibis Bay again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
It sounds like you enjoyed Ibis Bay the way we hope all our guests do. Its a quiet, but always interesting place you can come back to after being busy downtown or doing activities. Some guests just relax here on the beach in a hammock the whole time they are in Key West. I will look forward to seeing you here agin. Thank you for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The Hotel is very cool. Nice Styling. Clean. Providing a hourly shuttle bus to the center. Nice pool area and good restaurant. So far so good. Sure it is pricy, but in the Keys all of the Hotel are.

What was dissatisfying is that the promote High Speed Wifi as a room amenity.But in fact it does not work in the rooms and the crew knows it. The houses are built in thick limestone, and that's what the crew is also explaining. And the did not care about the fact that they do misleading advertising. They showed no interest when I confronted them with that fact and on could feel that they did not care at all about it.

So go there if you want a cool hotel. But not if you need Wifi in your Room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
How right and wrong you are. You are right about our style. But when it comes to our attitude about wi-fi goes you are off the mark. We not only care, we have invested almost $100K to try and solve a unique problem. Standard wi-fi will not penetrate our thick coral stone walls. But tests this week with a new technology seems to have solved the problem. We are conducting guest exit interviews this week to make sure it works as well as we think it does. I think you will be impressed next time you come to Ibis Bay. The new system wil be resort-wide in the next few weeks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

First off, I just want to say THANK YOU to the entire staff!! The hotel staff & The Stoned Crab staff really made this a memorable trip!!!
This hotel is simply amazing!!
Some friends & I chose Ibis Bay for my bachelor weekend.
We arrived by taxi early in the morning and were greeted with a "hello" from a friendly parrot that sits outside the lobby!
The staff at the front desk were great. Probably the most speedy check-in I've EVER had!
We got to our rooms, which were 2 adjoining second floor suites, put our bags down and went straight to The Stoned Crab for lunch!
I've never felt so welcome at a restaurant/bar before! The bartender was excellent! We ate here everyday! The food and drinks were the BEST on the island! (By far the best Conch Fritters I've ever had) The bartender bought us a round, even the owner bought us a round!
I'm so glad we picked this place to stay! I've been to Key West a hundred times and this place is HANDS DOWN the friendliest, most outgoing resort on the island!!!
I definitely will return!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
I saw you guys quite a few times. Every time you were having fun. That's what it is all about here. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The rooms are tiny--barely room to turn around--and the beds are hard. I think our "mattress" might actually have been a box spring. (Yes, it was that hard.) However, there's a big pool, movies on an outdoor screen, music by the pool and a restaurant on site. No doubt it's better suited to the young than to retirees.

Room Tip: It's on a busy street. Ask to be in one of the buildings away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Glad you had a good time. It sounds like you booked our Value Rooms. They are small, but you get to spend the money you save having fun in Key West. We generally get compliments on our new comfy beds. I will track down your room and check the mattress. Thanks for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

upon leaving the hotel I cut my hand and instead of putting the towel i used on the floor I placed it in the garbage so the attendant wouldn't have to touch it. I then continued to clean the room because thats just who i am. My boyfriend and I left, about an hour later I received a phone call from the hotel stating that I had shoved towels down the toilet bowl. I am a 47 year old woman who would never do such a thing, I was told because of the blood that they had to call a biohazard team in to clean the room. I asked them, since my boyfriend is in the biohazard business to give me the credentials of whom they had to call in and they couldn't seem to understand that, the woman on the phone then explained to me she was pregnant and didn't have time for this. She's the one who called me, then I was told I was being charged 200 dollars for this mess. I in turn called my credit card company to dispute the charges.

Room Tip: very small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
All good hotels take extra sanitory precautions whenever a significant amount of blood is found. You told us that you had an overnight "female accident". That was a relief. For absolute safety we replaced the damaged linen and UV sanitized the room's surfaces. Thank you for understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Fun place to stay! The atmosphere is cool and beachy...very Key West. It's on the water (river?) the view is really pretty, we saw horse shoe crabs, lots of iguanas, had a really nice walk around the property. They rent jet ski's on site, very convenient. The room was comfy and sufficient, king sized bed, nice sized bathroom, perfect for the 2 of us. It's not close to Duvall or Mallory square so you'll need to rent a scooter (recommended) or have a vehicle to get around. Overall we had a blast here and would definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
My wife is an avid fan of the iguanas you see. You probably noticed she has iguana toys in the gift shop, iguana key chains for the rooms. There are iguana paintings too. They are amazingly beautiful. Maybe less known is that they are prized by Cubans for their meat! Not exactly what we have planned! Thanks for coming. I am glad you had fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.