We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great and very family friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Key West
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This place is great and very family friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We have been to ibis twice in last two years . This place is so amazing. I would put this place up for one of the best places ive ever stayed . The owner is very nice and there is plenty to do right there at the resort . We will be back year after year .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Coming back to stay at Ibis Bay is the greatest compliment you can give us.Thank you for that. I look forward to next time! Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and supporting us on Triadvisor too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    199
    131
    65
    87
See reviews for
141
295
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our stay here was very pleasant. We only stayed one night, but it was nice enough I would like to stay again if I could get a better price. It was a little pricey for what I would normally pay. All the staff was very friendly and pleasant. It must have been an older hotel that they upgraded. If you are looking to stay at an upscale Hilton type of hotel, this might not be for you. My only complaint would be the shuttle should be able to handle more people and come back from Duval later in the evening. We had a wonderful time there. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the decorating inside and out. We had an old outboard engine that was converted to a fountain of sorts. It was very cute!

Room Tip: Arrive early for the shuttle. Seats fill up fast. You could be standing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I love the 1950s outboard motor fountain in that room's garden. We are building a large water fountain in the courtyard that will feature a lot more vintage outboard motors. I will post a picture on our website as soon as it is done. It's a project for the slow season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was my first trip to Key West. I can't wait to go back and I will definitely stay at Ibis Bay again. I randomly chose Ibis Bay based on reviews of others; price as well as the photographs on-line. Everything was picture perfect and our stay was absolutely amazing. I was very pleasantly surprised upon arriving. The rooms, pool and restaurant were nice as well as clean. (I do wish there would have been a coffeemake and an iron/ironing board in the room though.) The "beachfront" resort ad was somewhat deceiving but that was okay. I loved the overall appeareance of the resort and the location was perfect. When at the pool, Vivian treated us like royalty. She is a real asset to the resort. However, while checking into the resort, the staff member at the front desk made us feel less than welcome. That part was a little uncomfortable but we overlooked it. Our overall experience was wonderful and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Glad to hear you love Key West and Ibis Bay! The first time we came here, my wife and I fell in love with the island. I still buzz around town on a little scooter like a tourist. That first Key West night, we wandered around the downtown streets looking at all the amazing Victorian wood house. Just the smell of the air here is beautiful. There's always a light breeze so it feels cool at night. Some of our guests sleep in their garden hammocks its so nice at night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to the keys for a weekend getaway. Picked Ibis Bay because of the price and that they have a shuttle service around the area, which is awesome. However, other than that and the nice staff, comfortable bed and nice pool area, that's all the hotel has to offer. The room is a good size but the bathroom is the size of as closet and the water pressure even out of the sink SUCK!! The temperature also reminds me of an apartment, if someone is doing dishes or laundry the temperature will change DRASTICALLY WITHOUT WARNING!! But size in this case really does matter! And we are small people! The other issue we had is, the pool should definitely be heated until at least the end of April. Being a Floridian, that water was like ice cubes. We were just at the beach and I had been in the warm gulf water no problem.. The pool, not so much. Very cold!! Loved the shuttle, should run later though. Last one was at 9. Restaurant was good, grounds were clean and taking care of. I would update bathrooms, fix water pressure, heat pool and it would be PERFECTION 5 stars

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Our Value Rooms are best suited for people who want to spend most of their money on Key West's many activities. As you say, they offer our guests a nicely decorated and perfectly clean place to sleep. We offer mostly larger rooms for a little more with a lot more appointments including private garden rooms, beach rooms, water views and every other room type comes with their own outdoor hammock. The size of all the rooms is something we inherited. All the buildings are from Florida's Fabulous 50s period. They are historic. Thank you for your observations and for choosing Ibis Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel, or as they call it, resort, is not beachfront, so it's very deceiving. It is on the water which always had a low tide smell and also on a very main road with lots of noise from constant traffic. We decided to book a suite and basically had an oversized corner hotel room. The décor was nice and yes it had a mini fridge, however no coffee pot, no alarm clock, no smoke alarms, (even complete dive hotels have those!) The mattress was like a rock and the towels were like sand paper. The bathroom was a good size but there was one towel rack falling off the wall and not even a place to put a bar of soap in the shower. Go next door to Kmart and buy a lousy $10.00 shower caddy!! Place a few hooks on the wall in the bathroom for towels, bathing suits, etc. No attention to detail and for the price there should be! As far as that colorful sarong goes, that's news to us - it was never offered. Be prepared to bring a flashlight when you go out and return after dark as there is no working outside light and when I called maintenance to check it out, I was told that there was some sort of wiring problem in the wall and to put a lamp from the room outside!!! Really???? And that "free" shuttle that takes you downtown is not really free when you have to pay for it in the resort fee. We did not have a car either, but again still had to pay the resort fee. The Stoned Crab restaurant was okay, nothing special. The people at the front desk were all basically friendly. We would not stay here again, you really don't get much for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Clearly we are not your cup of tea. Just to clear your main headline point. Our bay beach is 600ft of imported white sand. Key West is a coral island so all the "natural" beaches here are coral rock which requires flip flops. We got permission from the city and DEP to import sand from Bermuda. That sand is contained by small coral rocks so the sand does not kill the natural marine enviroment at the shoreline. We have two floating docks out on the bay for swimmers, snorkelers and kayaking. Like everywhere else in the world, when a full moon and low tide combine it creates a very low tide. That is when you get a seaweed smell. I happens once a month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We chose Ibis Bay based largely on the price and were very pleasantly surprised to find it to be the perfect place for our long weekend away. The rooms, pool, beach area and restaurant were super clean, adorable and the staff were very friendly. The service was truly outstanding. Stop by to say Hi to Viviane at the pool bar - she's great. We paid extra for a "beachfront" room and it was worth every penny. The room has a little deck area for us to enjoy a cocktail, a sandy area with lounge chairs to sunbathe and a wonderful hammock to relax in the shade. As mentioned in other reviews, the beach isn't really a beach but that's true of anywhere on Key West because the entire coast is coral. Ibis Bay definitely isn't "downtown" but that is part of what makes it so perfect. Duval street is fun but it's also a zoo so it's nice to get away from that at times. We got bikes from the resort (we got the adventure package which included bikes for the whole stay) and rode to/from town very easily. There is a bike path from Ibis Bay's front door to Duval street and all of old town. If you don't like to bike, there is a free shuttle bus to bring you back/forth or you can take a cab ride for ~$20. You would have to take a LOT of cabs to make up the difference of price to stay downtown. We had a great dinner at The Stoned Crab as well. They have fresh seafood that gets delivered daily and healthy options which makes me very happy. Breakfast was lovely as well...get a cafe con leche, you won't be disappointed. Lastly, there is a grocery store, drug store, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, liquor store, etc right across from the resort and a mini-fridge in the room so you don't have to pay resort prices for every drink and every snack. I'd highly recommend staying at Ibis Bay rather than paying the outrageous places to stay downtown. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront room. It's definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Connie,
I read your extensive review of our Adventure Package. Our packages save you money. But more importantly they save you the hassle and time it takes trying to figure out which activities are the best. You get here and everything is done for you. We know the island and what's "the good stuff".Thank you for staying with us and taking time to let other vacationers know what you thought of it all. I think you made a good decision on the beach front upgrade too. A hammock on the beach is hard to beat. Come on back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is not a bad place to stay as the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. The waterspouts offered here are very god as we took the 90 minute wave runner tour although not for beginner wave runners as it gets rough at the speeds needed to make the fur in 90 min. The food is not as great as they say at the Stoned crab. go elsewhere for lower prices and better food. It is also far from Key West center (Duvall, waterfront, etc.) and you need a shuttle but after 9:15 you will need a 20.00 taxi to get back. Shuttle should be at least til 12. Grounds are nice, Starbucks across the street at the Courtyard hotel. Way overpriced but then again all hotels are here this time of year.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel in able to walk to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We actually have a very famous shuttle bus. Our guests and particularly those guests who review us on Tripadvisor rave about our "Life is Too Short" shuttle. Its a lot of fun and it operates all day and into the night. I am a bit confused when you say our hotel is "way overpriced" and then point out that all hotels in Key West are as well. I use reviews to look for things that I can do better. I wish I could lower the price of everything in Key West because I live here. But we are an island that is the southernmost point of America. That distance makes things a little more expensive. I wouldn't describe it as "way overpriced".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.