We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Key West
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The room is a size of a match box, the shower is the size of a child's closest door... the sink was stopped up the ac felt like the heater no wash rags we couldn't bath the first night. .. then when we spoke to the owner he said no refund we got your money you can leave, my husband was pissed the staff was rude that was the only thing bad for our three day weekend. ..I Shouldve listen to the reviews about this place. ..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Starting by saying his family members were senior executives at Tripadvisor, this guest threatened to write us a bad review on Tripadvisor, if we did not give him a big discount off his room. So the situations was passed to me. Why a discount? Because there were just two faceclothes in his room's towel set when he arrived. Their Value Room (and everyone elses) comes with a special make-up removing facecloth, two regular faceclothes, two hand towels, two large towels, a bathmat and two extra large pool towels. We would have gladly given him extra faceclothes but it was after midnight when he called the Front Desk and housekeeping was closed. The next morning I did not agree to give him a discount. I DID tell him that we would refund his money for the remaining days of his stay, but no discount for the night he stayed. He decided to stay. Why? Because our Value Rooms are one of Key West's great bargains. Its a pity to see this happen, but as his review says they enjoyed the rest of their stay with us. I am glad to hear that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    217
    148
    71
    90
See reviews for
165
314
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We recently had a five night stay at this unique "Boutique Hotel" that has a fabulous funky 50's vibe in the decor of the rooms and the resort. There is a great restaurant on site called the Stoned Crab with an open air quality that enhanced the dinning experience. We especially enjoyed our 5 Breakfasts there and the great service by our waitress, Connie. We also liked visiting the other "guests" at the resort.... two tortoises, exotic birds including Lex who greeted us at the front door to the lobby, Iguanas, and of course the Ibis who frequented our porch off our beachfront room ! Have to say thanks to Chris at the Fun Desk who gave us many helpful tips and I will be forever grateful for the beautiful sunset sail we took, that Chris booked. We parked our car when we arrived, conveniently, in front of our room and never used it till we departed. The cabs are about $10.00 into town and then we just walked everywhere. We found this to be the best no hassle way to go, so worth it. So if you want Fun in the Sun at a resort with an onsite restaurant, a pool, a movie night, a great gift shop and lots of wildlife all for a reasonable rate then... Ibis Bay is your best bet !

Room Tip: We preferred our beachfront room with its little porch. I think it is a matter of personal preferenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us. We are all in love with our animals. Also, we are now just starting a free shuttle bus service to and from downtown between 7am and 10pm. So you guys save on cab fares or choosing a designated driver. Thank you for such a good review. Come back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

First i think we should start with the whole water front thing, they do indeed have rooms on the water, but its not what you think, the water smells bad, there's a couple feet of sand between your room and the rocks that go down into the water, the hotel looks old and kind of beaten up, the rooms aren't bad, and for the price its not a terrible hotel. Also, if you do end up visiting the hotel make sure to visit the large tortoises that they have, they're pretty cool!

Room Tip: If you do end up getting a room get one of the ones on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Like every tidal beach in Florida, the tides, weather temprature and seaweed season can sometimes create a bit of a stink, but not often and not very strong. Unfortunately you were here when it happened. We are proud of being a Florida Fifties hotel. They are rare these days and that makes them fun. A step back in time. I hope we see you come back soon. The tortoises said to say, "Hi!".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

A bird screamed like clockwork at 7 am both mornings for a half hour until
someone fed it. No ice machines must walk over to local restaraunt.
Grounds people talking loudly early in the mornings. Decent price compared to
others but don't plan on sleeping in!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed it here for the most part. Macaws can be loud when they want something. I am sorry they woke you. Our ice machines are centrally located in our resort restaurant in the middle of the resort. Unfortunately we had to relocate them there and lock them up because fishermen were emptying our machines of ice for their coolers. There was never any left for our guests. Not a perfect solution but better than no ice. Thank you for letting me know about the maintenance team talking loudly in the morning. I will correct that. I hope we see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Little pricey for the room size. Stayed for a night with my wife. The Room was very small with just one person standing space around the double bed, but neat. The washroom was neat too. Location was good. But for a $145 per night, give another thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
You chose to stay in a Value Room. While they are compact, they are a great bargain for Key West and thats what makes them sell out first. Next time you stay with us though you will get a free upgrade as a returning guest. Your room will be much larger. You may even get a beachfront room. They are fabulous. Thank you for stay with us. I hope we see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We took a trip down to Key West for the weekend. We had a great time. the room was beautiful, the staff was excellent. On our last night there we were back in our room, and by accident some red wine was spilled. It was midnight so I had to use a face cloth to wipe up the mess. We then got up and left, as I was driving back home I received a call from the manager Gina Lee. She then told me she was going to call the police because I destroyed the room. I explained to her that it was an accident and yes I did use the towel to clean up the wine.She then very rudely told me that I needed to come back to the lobby. I told her I was already on the road. Well bottom line is that she charged me 167.00 to replace the towels. I thought about this on my way home and not happy! I own a motel in Maine for 20 years and have never treated any of my guest the way this lady treated me. I spilled the wine! I did not put holes in the walls or damage anything! Please be careful if you stay at this property or you will be treated bad and charged extra money.

Room Tip: Do not drink wine in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am glad you said you had a great time, thought your room was beautiful and added that the staff was excellent.
Unfortunately the red wine you spilled soaked through the sheets to the mattress. The towels you used to mop up the mess would not come clean.
Ibis Bay is a non-smoking hotel. You freely smoked in your room. There were cigarette ashes on the floor, bedside table and an empty cigarette pack and stubs in your trash can.
We did not charge you $200 to remove the smoke odor that entails shutting the room down for 24 hours with an ozone generator running.
Our charge of $167 is to replace the permanently stained towels and the sheets.
You signed our non-smoking agreement and room damage agreement when you checked in. Regardless, as an act of good will, you were not charged for the smoke repair.
I believe we have been fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a horrible place! The first the guest encounters when entering the hotel is a Macaw in a cage. The bird is wingclipped and mutilated and is obviuously suffering from lack of stimulation and also the lack of possibility to escape the weather : /sun/wind/rain or people who enjoy teasing him. His food is inadequate. In short: This is terrible abuse. Around the corner there are two more Macaws in a large cage, (though separated). One has plucked himself out of frustration, and according to staff they have been here for very, many years. None of the parrots had fruit, despite that fruit is necessarry as part of their diet. They all suffer under these horrible conditons. In this cage are futher a number of local black birds, who had found the way in, but seemed unable to find the way out of the cage. Further, there are two big tortoises, which seemed to suffer as well. To further add to the torment of animals (and guests) there was loud music going on from daylight to late in the evening. The room was horrible, especially because of the terrible air in the room, it stank. The air condition did not seem to function and one could not keep the door open as it turned to the courtyard. I hope they will understand in this hotel that parrots do not exist to be mutilated and encaged to be of entertainment to guests, this is a very primitive way of thinking. Staff obviously do not care. In additon, the cleaning was poor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
You are obviously an animal lover. We are too. We work closely with the Florida Fish and Wildlife Division. At Ibis Bay we both help heal and nurture animals in need. We have rescued birds, turtles, tortoises and iguanas. With official help we have created enclosures in excess of the guidelines. Our birds are loved and treated as family. They are given the best food, fruit treats and are talked to and stimulated daily. Our enclosures are in plain view of the staff and our video security system. We make sure nobody abuses any of the animals. One of our macaws was abused by its past owner. After we got her, our vet said that unfortunately she will always pick at her feathers because of her past. She is now loved by us all.
Our turtles were suffering from shell bacteria when we adopted them. They are now perfectly healthy and are also spoiled by us. Their favorite treat is strawberries.
I wish you had asked to speak with the hotel GM when you were here. He would have explained everything. Cages are certainly not a natural setting, but they do allow our animals to recover in an environment where they are loved and protected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.