We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the low price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #34 of 41 hotels in Key West
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok for the low price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was one of the first resorts on Key West (according to employees) but had a major renovation. It was quaint, but if you seek modern things, you won't get it. The sliding door, that lead to outside, did not lock properly. A shower rod was used as a door jam, but you could easilty tilt the door open. There were no other rooms since it was Memorial Day weekend 2012. To give them credit, a repairman came to the room promptly and intalled a proper door jam. No one complained about this before??? It wasn't a bad place, just a little too far from the action. The costs of cab rides cut into the money that was saved for the low cost room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    191
    126
    68
    82
See reviews for
120
273
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had been rattling with this decision on where to stay for our Key West vacation for months before I booked this place & let me say we were not disappointed! Yes it would be great to have been able to afford a Hilton or Marriot type hotel but as we were celebrating the end of our academic career graduating from UF we needed to save some money.

First off, it was CLEAN!!! That's always my biggest concern w/bargain hotels. The bed was comfortable, nice tv, spacious bathroom, and a fridge. Wish they had a microwave, but still a good deal. The bay view was great & recommend it for anyone who books. Very nice to hangout on the hammock during the day or night. Also had beach chairs on the sand & on the docks.

In terms of excursions, we booked 2 things through the fun desk. 1) night time paddle boarding 2) jet ski tour. Both were awesome & worth the money! My suggestion is to actually get a kayak with a clear bottom for instead of paddle boarding because you are out there for like 90min and very tiring even for pretty in shape people like ourselves. Also you can see more with the clear bottom than on the paddle boards. Don't worry the bay isnt that choppy for you to lose your balance or anything. The jet ski was a lot of fun & definitely just pay for 1 & share it. It too can get tiring & are allowed to switch drivers when you want. We had Robbie A as our guide & he was great! We had us and an older couple on the tour so we really got to do what ever we want. He let us mess around with the skis during our stop at the sandbar, also he was a local & told us a lot of cool stories of what its like growing up in Key West. The fun desk had a lot of other things you could book through them too, if we ever go back we really want to try deep sea fishing.

We never got a chance to eat at the stone crab because my boyfriend really wanted to experience the different restaurants around Duval street & waterfront ones on the marinas. However, it looked like a lot of fun. The only draw back about the Ibis Bay is the location. Very far from downtown & the one night we took a cab to & from was pretty expensive. Would be cool if they had some kind of shuttle service like I observed some of the other hotels doing.

All in all you will not be disappointed with booking here. 2 kids just finishing their masters wanted to celebrate on somewhat of a budget & we did! Think both of us spent around $1200 each including lodging, meals, & excursions. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Definitely get water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your statements. You are right, Ibis Bay IS is good deal. Our resort facilities and activities keep a lot of guests at the resort both day and night. Downtown hardly ever calms down day or night. Great to party but no relief. For people who want somewhere quieter, Ibis Bay it isn't a matter of money. But that's a nice side-benefit. BTW, our free downtown shuttle starts in August. Come on back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the reviews I read online, and also on the website. It was more than we expected. It was amazing. We loved sitting outside watching the Iguana and Ibis Birds wondering around. It was an amazing view while lounging in the hammock. The ocean and the beach.. sooo relaxing.
The staff was absolutely awesome. They did everything they could to help make our stay great. I asked for a room that had a view, and they made it happen. They were awesome and a lot of fun. They joked around and had a good time with us. We ate at the Stoned Crab which was part of the resort. It was awesome food, and a very friendly atmosphere. All the staff here was exceptional. They gave us pointers on where to go, and how to get around easier. There was one waiter (Sam) who took time out of his night (even though it was busy) to talk to us and make us feel welcome. He was great. Between the rooms and all the things they have there, we looked forward to going back to our room at the end of the day and kicking back to relax. Thanks to everyone there for making our stay perfect. Even with the construction going on, we didn't hear any of the traffic or outside noise from our room. We loved staying there and will recommend it to anyone and everyone. Can't wait to come back just to stay there (pretty much did everything there was to do in Key West, but would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Room facing the beach.. That is where you get the hammocks and iguana's and the beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
They say the secret to success is getting repeat business. We think that making it possible for both the staff and the guests to enjoy meeting each other this much is the secret to being happy at work. But I'm glad it's good business too. Thanks for sharing your feelings about us. We will look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were drawn to the funky, tropical atmosphere and the friendly, accommodating staff. We paid a bit more for a first floor, large, renovated room on the water. So worth it. A small, sandy "beach" was right off our patio replete with hammocks, palm trees, black mangroves, and a camera shy Iguana. But, no matter how lovely the property, if the staff sucks then your stay sucks! Not at Ibis Bay. The staff made our stay magical. From the rich, luscious, fresh cuisine, made with love by Executive Chef, Tami Ritchey in the open-air restaurant, The Stoned Crab. The resort has their own fishing boats - so it's really fresh seafood on a menu that I did my best to eat my way through. Tami's talent as a Chef is so awesome that we ate EVERY SINGLE MEAL at The Stoned Crab from check-in - to check-out (5 days). Must try the Eggs Benedict and Bloody Mary's in the morning; the delicious Stone Crab claws ANYTIME, for dinner - the Lobster Ravioli is most excellent! My pants were slightly tighter after (5) days and I blame Tami!! The other stand-out staff who made our stay so enjoyable are the day bartenders - GinnaLee Becker (restaurant bar) makes the best Mimosas and is one of those rare and wonderful people that everyone adores! Chris at the pool bar kept everyone entertained while mixing perfect Rum Runners - So Cute! And I must mention Connie Levy who took good care of us in the restaurant, and Peter Maczek who seemed to be everywhere, doing everything. I complimented the Resort owner while on site about his best, most valuable asset - a staff that really cares about the guests, the Resort, their service, and each other. That is why we'll be back and we'll tell everyone we can about Ibis Bay and the great people we met there. So, until our return I will dream about Tami's amazing food - till I can taste it again! SHINE ON!!!

Room Tip: "So worth it to pay a bit more for first floor, water side, renovated room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
The benefit of running the hotel and the restaurant with the same spirit, is exactly this kind of response. No matter where or what you do at Ibis Bay, you feel welcome and part of our family. Not surprisingly, all of us who work there are like members of a big family too. I will pass on all your mentions. Everyone will be glad that you had such a good time. And thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, NJ
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family of 11 and I were on a cruise stop in Key West and ended up at IBIS Bay by mistake. We wanted to go to a beach that had jet skis, but this resort has a very small beach and wasn't exactly what we wanted. However, we decided to stay for lunch at the restaurant and it was awesome!!! The service and food were great and they allowed the kids to go to the pool even though they weren't hotel guests (I think to salvage the trip). It was so generous of them to do this and really made the kids happy. They were also very helpful in calling cabs to help us get back to the boat on time, which again was not a service they were obligated to perform. My husband and I will definitely consider IBIS bay for our next trip to Key West. I'm sure we won't be disappointed. Service like this is rare nowadays in hospitality, so if service means anything to you, and you want a good deal, clean accommodations and great location, then try it. I truly believe the staff will do everything they can to make your trip the best ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Wow, what a great mistake you made! Our place is great for kids. We have the facilities, but, as you point out, we have the right staff. Thanks for all your compliments. Please do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Place was clean, front desk staff was very friendly and nice. Not much of a resort but more of a side road motel. The booked us in a room facing some major construction on the main road. We asked for a different room and they readily agreed to "upgrade" us to a "courtyard room". Know what that means? A room with no windows at all except for a sliding door that doesn't opened but faces the interior parking lot. So basically no privacy if you wish to draw the curtains. If your visiting Key West, please skip this place. It was not that cheap at $135.00 USD per night (Off - Season).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for your compliments about the staff. They do a great job. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 as a motel. It was actually constructed of coral rock that was dredged from Ibis Bay itself. We love that about this place and have built a resort around the original buildings. All the courtyard sliding doors do slide and open onto either a small patio with chairs or a larger garden with a hammock. You mentioned yours did not work. I will try and track down which room you were in and check that out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on the hotel website, we made reservations in January for a 2 night stay in April. We arrived in early afternoon. The man checking us in was very friendly. My husband is tall, we booked a room with the largest bed size offered, queen. Our room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking the parking lot behind the pool & restaurant. The doorjamb showed evidence of being kicked-in. The door lock was the type used on restrooms, it read "vacant" when we locked it upon exiting. The room was very small. There was no place to put two suitcases. The bathroom shower was the size of one found in a motor home. The room smelled very musty, covered by disinfectant. The beach area was uninviting and was next to a drainage ditch. We did not feel safe nor relaxed in this setting. We opted to stay elsewhere. When we returned to the office to inform them we cancelled our Expedia reservation, we were met with a surly attitude. This was extremely shocking because the Ibis Bay Beach resort received a full night's payment from us and would be able to re-rent the room! We were more than happy to loose a couple of hundred dollars than to stay in a place that was less than as depicted on their website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
You booked a Value Room (our smallest, but cheapest room) through Expedia on a non-refundable Expedia special. The key is you bought a non-refundable special just like the airlines offer. You checked in. After several hours in that room you told the Front Desk it was too small, the Manager upgraded you to a larger waterfront room for FREE. It was like being upgraded to First Class. She was being very nice. An hour after being in that room you said you were leaving and wanted all your money back. No airline or other hotel will return a non-refundable booking. It's non-refundable. Plus two rooms now had to be completely re-cleaned by our housekeepers. I understand that we might not be the right property for you and your husband, but you are now writing a bad review that disparages us as owners and inaccurately depicts the whole resort property. Hardly fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.