We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were great! Service is everything...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Woodbridge, NJ
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The staff were great! Service is everything...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My family of 11 and I were on a cruise stop in Key West and ended up at IBIS Bay by mistake. We wanted to go to a beach that had jet skis, but this resort has a very small beach and wasn't exactly what we wanted. However, we decided to stay for lunch at the restaurant and it was awesome!!! The service and food were great and they allowed the kids to go to the pool even though they weren't hotel guests (I think to salvage the trip). It was so generous of them to do this and really made the kids happy. They were also very helpful in calling cabs to help us get back to the boat on time, which again was not a service they were obligated to perform. My husband and I will definitely consider IBIS bay for our next trip to Key West. I'm sure we won't be disappointed. Service like this is rare nowadays in hospitality, so if service means anything to you, and you want a good deal, clean accommodations and great location, then try it. I truly believe the staff will do everything they can to make your trip the best ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Wow, what a great mistake you made! Our place is great for kids. We have the facilities, but, as you point out, we have the right staff. Thanks for all your compliments. Please do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    190
    129
    65
    86
See reviews for
137
288
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Place was clean, front desk staff was very friendly and nice. Not much of a resort but more of a side road motel. The booked us in a room facing some major construction on the main road. We asked for a different room and they readily agreed to "upgrade" us to a "courtyard room". Know what that means? A room with no windows at all except for a sliding door that doesn't opened but faces the interior parking lot. So basically no privacy if you wish to draw the curtains. If your visiting Key West, please skip this place. It was not that cheap at $135.00 USD per night (Off - Season).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for your compliments about the staff. They do a great job. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 as a motel. It was actually constructed of coral rock that was dredged from Ibis Bay itself. We love that about this place and have built a resort around the original buildings. All the courtyard sliding doors do slide and open onto either a small patio with chairs or a larger garden with a hammock. You mentioned yours did not work. I will try and track down which room you were in and check that out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Based on the hotel website, we made reservations in January for a 2 night stay in April. We arrived in early afternoon. The man checking us in was very friendly. My husband is tall, we booked a room with the largest bed size offered, queen. Our room was on the 2nd floor, overlooking the parking lot behind the pool & restaurant. The doorjamb showed evidence of being kicked-in. The door lock was the type used on restrooms, it read "vacant" when we locked it upon exiting. The room was very small. There was no place to put two suitcases. The bathroom shower was the size of one found in a motor home. The room smelled very musty, covered by disinfectant. The beach area was uninviting and was next to a drainage ditch. We did not feel safe nor relaxed in this setting. We opted to stay elsewhere. When we returned to the office to inform them we cancelled our Expedia reservation, we were met with a surly attitude. This was extremely shocking because the Ibis Bay Beach resort received a full night's payment from us and would be able to re-rent the room! We were more than happy to loose a couple of hundred dollars than to stay in a place that was less than as depicted on their website.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
You booked a Value Room (our smallest, but cheapest room) through Expedia on a non-refundable Expedia special. The key is you bought a non-refundable special just like the airlines offer. You checked in. After several hours in that room you told the Front Desk it was too small, the Manager upgraded you to a larger waterfront room for FREE. It was like being upgraded to First Class. She was being very nice. An hour after being in that room you said you were leaving and wanted all your money back. No airline or other hotel will return a non-refundable booking. It's non-refundable. Plus two rooms now had to be completely re-cleaned by our housekeepers. I understand that we might not be the right property for you and your husband, but you are now writing a bad review that disparages us as owners and inaccurately depicts the whole resort property. Hardly fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are frequent visitors of Key West and wanted to save some money on this recent trip. We were able to save $75.00 a night by staying at Ibis Bay rather than our usual hotel one street off of Duval. it had very similar features that Ibis Bay does. What we loved about Ibis Bay was to sit in a hammock overlooking the Gulf and watching the sun go down. It has a very tropical atmosphere and very inviting. It's only a mile from Duval and very much worth what we saved!

What we didn't care for was that the bathroom was extremely small and the lighting was very dim. The shower was the worst, great water pressure but the size of the shower was so small that you could barely bend down to pick up your soap or shampoo (it had no shower caddy or shelf to sit anything on). In fairness to the resort, we inquired about the bathrooms in the other rooms and they told us that the resort has been in a remodeling process for the past 3 years and that the section where we stayed is due to be torn down and rebuilt soon. We looked at other rooms before leaving that had been remodeled and wee will definitely come back to stay again!

Room Tip: choose any waterfront ground floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the resort. I have to admit that I have gone out to inspect the beach and found myself asleep in one of the beach hammocks an hour later. Sunset is when all the birds return to spend the night on the mangrove island in the bay. Yes, we are improving everything as we go. I am glad you got to see what is coming up. See you when you come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The staff was amazingly friendly, the food was awesome, and the drinks flowed as easy as the staff could pour them. The bartenders were amazingly entertaining and made the trip worth it.The view on the water was amazing, the hammocks made the night that much better as well. Pricing was adequate and the food quality was outstanding. One of the best bloody marys around hands down. Distance to the action wasn't bad at all.

Room Tip: See shannon at the bar. She will take good care of you. -superman-
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Tripadvisor reviews are so great for someone looking to choose where to stay. To help people choose further we are launching a new Virtual Tour on our website starting July. You will be able to "walk" around the hotel and every room type and see it for yourself before you get there. Look for it at ibisbayresort.com starting July. If you book direct on our website or call direct @ 305-296-1043 you will get a FREE room upgrade too. Give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We called a bunch of hotels in Key West and based on price and positive reviews picked this one. But we booked through expedia.com and when we went to check in there was an extra $20 due just for booking through expedia! Not good but I think they felt bad... our room was HUGE with two beds, & French doors that opened onto a beach area stocked with hammocks and chairs. The pool was huge also (although a companion suffered a chlorine reaction from it). They have regular white towels all hotels have, but also give you enormous colored beach towels that are very fluffy. They didn't wash the beach towels though, they just draped them over some chairs in our room. When we asked, though, they supplied new ones.

There's a nice restaurant right next to the pool and if you are staying at the Ibis you get a 10% discount. Construction makes any travel a hassle, but they have huge color maps and are happy to tell you the best way around. Parking downtown is always a hassle, so it was nice to know we had our parking lot at Ibis to always come home to... and a parrot at the front desk!

I almost gave this 4 stars instead of 5 for the expedia hassle and also the (not) washing the beach towels thing. But the hotel is so well kept, clean, and they are so friendly that I give it 5 stars. No frills, but inexpensive and on Key West.

Room Tip: Room 602 had two double beds and French doors going onto the beach. It was on the 1st floor, right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for the five stars. Those lovely fluffy pool towels have a habit of disappearing so housekeeping is only allowed to directly exchange them with the guest present. Its a way of keeping track. I am glad you enjoyed the place and the restaurant too. The Stoned Crab's seafood is the freshest in Key West because they have their own fishing boats pull in at the dock every night with the day's catch. If you didn't try their local stone crab claws you have to come back just for that. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Like other reviewers have mentioned -- this place is not right in the middle of Key West so you definitely will need a car or be willing to pay for taxis to get into town. I liked that it was more peaceful and not surrounded by all the bars downtown. The road construction made navigating a little tricky with the one way road. They have done a great job making an older motel look cool retro. It was clean and the staff was nice. My first room had an issue with the A/C so they quickly moved me to another (even bigger room) with a working A/C. The hammocks and little "camp" area was cute. I would recommend this as a nice, low-key place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. There are definite advantages to being a taxi ride away from the downtown bars. Being on the beach in a hammock is definitely one of them. That would cost you 4 times our price downtown. We will be starting a downtown shuttle in August. It will run every hour from 8am-11pm. Come one back and try it out. Thank you for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.