We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cozy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

You must have a car because the fun stuff is a 10 minute drive away. However, the room was decorated in a very nice style with Cuban art- comfy bed and nice shower. the maid didn't clean until 3:30 pm- so plan accordingly. We spent time in the hammocks near the pool. The restaurant- Stone Crab- is okay, but beware that some of the items on the menu may not actually be available (including key lime pie). Despite those some little complaints, I still recommend it- and, there's a Starbucks across the street.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for recommending Ibis Bay. Our room decorations come from many local artists and the Cuban posters are vintage from the 1940s. It is odd that The Stoned Crab restaurant didn't have Key Lime pie when you were here. It is always good. The restaurant is very popular so maybe they were out the one day you asked for it. Thanks again, please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    199
    131
    66
    87
See reviews for
141
296
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ibis Bay is a unique resort with friendly, helpful staff - especially Claudine and Nikki. Our room was clean comfy, with a great view of the water. We would be thrilled to stay there again. The restaurant was convenient too - with great food! Nice pool. Fun 'dive in' movies.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are lovely for the view. The resort has a real Key West feel and great staff w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It is so great to hear we exceeded your expectations. American Airlines just exceeded our expectations too. In their January in-flight magazine they recommend Ibis Bay Beach Resort, Sunset Key Cottages and The Waldorf Asoria's Casa Marina as THE coolest places to stay in Key West. Wow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I kept hearing how nice of a place this was to go to for lunch and sit by the pool, so my sister who lives here and is a frequent visitor here brought my daughter and i here Christmas day. We hadnt even set our towels on a chair when a snotty young man came over and asked to see our membership cards. My sister (a local) was confused, as she has never been asked this. She was just here with my other daughter the week before at least 3 times having lunch and drinks! He gave us his best smile and I wont cause a problem attitude, but he was loud enough for other sunbathers to hear. I finally said we were coming for lunch, he then said oh then you can stay but you have to throw away your water bottles, we sell water over at the stone crab. My sister who is diabetic, then tried to tell the arrogant man that she needed to have certain things with her but he didnt want to hear it. again very embarassing, to think we had already spent money here and told people how nice it was..boy were we wrong!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am not happy to hear how you were teated by our Pool Manager. I will address it. He used poor judgement. But unfortunately numerous local people took advantage of us bringing their own food and beverages, leaving kids on their own for the day and bringing glass containers that are prohibited by law. To keep the pool available for locals and profitable for us, we are starting a local friends pool membership ID program. Its free and will eliminate any problem like this. Please enroll.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

first of all, the place was nice, super clean rooms , The waterfront room we had was awesome, wake up to a view of the water, The pool was great, The stoned crab at the hotel was awesome, they will serve u drinks by the pool all day long while the music is playing. The staff was super nice and friendly, Just an overall good trip, Dont let the other reviews change your mind about this place, If your looking for a no frills fun place, this is the place for you .

Room Tip: definately ask for a waterfront room, for a few extra bucks its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Guest's honest reviews really help everyone know what we are doing right and what still needs work. Since we bought the hotel we have solved a lot of issues people used to rightfully complain about. So thank you for supporting who we are today. It really helps other travellers know what to expect at Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab and that is our reward. Very cool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed one night in room 209 with ocean view and a hammock right outside. Overall the place was really clean and quite. Service was great, they even helped us jump our car the morning after because we had problems with the battery, thank you Claudine and Niki!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Isn't your own hammock on the beach great? More than one guest has said they slept overnight in their hammock it was so peaceful and comfortable. With tropical rain bursts that is risky. So glad you had a great time. Come back! Claudine and Nicki are two peas in a pod. Hysterical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stopped here for three nights and was really impressed
Place is very clean and the staff are all very helpful
The rooms with a seaborne are amazing and the private 'beach' area is great with hammocks to use.
Pool is very nice along with the diner

Would definitely recommend this particularly if you are travelling on a budget

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
You raise a good point: affordability. There are only 8 hotels in Key West on the beach. ibis Bay is the most affordable and the least stuffy. We have 600ft of waterfront with jet-skis, paddle boards, kayackes and kiteboarding and of course beach-front rooms with private hammocks. I am glad you enjoyed it all. Thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Looking just for a place to bed down, before making a business meeting, and after a long drive, and just plain tired, I instead found a place that alerted me to how cool Key West is, and vow to never go to a box-hotel again! The setting was with water views directly out my door, beautiful vistas, very relaxing. The Stoned Crab restaurant on site -great lunch and again, a different water side dining, and at night, they even had a really cool film showing on a giant (real movie-size) screen at pool side, popcorn and all! Next time I come to Key West, I'll come here, again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Your response is the response we really hope for. We are definitely an "out of the box" hotel. There are way too many of those. Thank you for taking the time to share your excitement with other travellers. See you next time you are on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.