We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Loved it !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Middletown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, Loved it !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

first of all, the place was nice, super clean rooms , The waterfront room we had was awesome, wake up to a view of the water, The pool was great, The stoned crab at the hotel was awesome, they will serve u drinks by the pool all day long while the music is playing. The staff was super nice and friendly, Just an overall good trip, Dont let the other reviews change your mind about this place, If your looking for a no frills fun place, this is the place for you .

Room Tip: definately ask for a waterfront room, for a few extra bucks its worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Guest's honest reviews really help everyone know what we are doing right and what still needs work. Since we bought the hotel we have solved a lot of issues people used to rightfully complain about. So thank you for supporting who we are today. It really helps other travellers know what to expect at Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab and that is our reward. Very cool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    225
    153
    76
    95
See reviews for
172
330
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed one night in room 209 with ocean view and a hammock right outside. Overall the place was really clean and quite. Service was great, they even helped us jump our car the morning after because we had problems with the battery, thank you Claudine and Niki!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Isn't your own hammock on the beach great? More than one guest has said they slept overnight in their hammock it was so peaceful and comfortable. With tropical rain bursts that is risky. So glad you had a great time. Come back! Claudine and Nicki are two peas in a pod. Hysterical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for three nights and was really impressed
Place is very clean and the staff are all very helpful
The rooms with a seaborne are amazing and the private 'beach' area is great with hammocks to use.
Pool is very nice along with the diner

Would definitely recommend this particularly if you are travelling on a budget

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
You raise a good point: affordability. There are only 8 hotels in Key West on the beach. ibis Bay is the most affordable and the least stuffy. We have 600ft of waterfront with jet-skis, paddle boards, kayackes and kiteboarding and of course beach-front rooms with private hammocks. I am glad you enjoyed it all. Thanks for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Looking just for a place to bed down, before making a business meeting, and after a long drive, and just plain tired, I instead found a place that alerted me to how cool Key West is, and vow to never go to a box-hotel again! The setting was with water views directly out my door, beautiful vistas, very relaxing. The Stoned Crab restaurant on site -great lunch and again, a different water side dining, and at night, they even had a really cool film showing on a giant (real movie-size) screen at pool side, popcorn and all! Next time I come to Key West, I'll come here, again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Your response is the response we really hope for. We are definitely an "out of the box" hotel. There are way too many of those. Thank you for taking the time to share your excitement with other travellers. See you next time you are on the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Manager was awesome and the staff went out of there way to make us feel comfortable. Everything is there including jet ski rentals. The bar and restaurant are really good. The fishing charters are really close by. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
As a Top Contributor to Tripadvisor you have a broad base of hotel experience to draw on. That makes your opinion of us extremely meaningful. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab Restaurant. We really love this place and continually work on all aspects of it. I hope you come back again soon. Thanks for taking the time to help with this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Overall a good stay. The front desk people aren't that friendly, but our room was good, the restaurant is yummy for any of the three meals. Hotel is on ocean, although boulders line the shore, they do have some hammocks and chairs in the sand. The parrots were a bit noisy during the night and morning, not quite sure why they have the birds facing the hotel rooms, but whatever. The parrot near the lobby does say welcome and is pretty funny. Room and bathroom were very small, but, it was good enough for us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The parrots love being around people so we keep them in a busy area. But, I admit they get noisy when they want attention. To quiet them down in the early morning and at night, we are going to try roll-down shades on their cage. Hopefully that will do the trick. I hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were married a year ago on Smather's Beach November 15, 2011 and stayed at Ibis Bay Resort. We loved it! So we decided to return to celebrate our anniversary. And we are glad we did. The folks at Ibis have been renovating and we couldn't belive the difference a year made.
They have assembled an interesting compentent staff, all were very cordial. The rooms are intimate, clean and very colorful....... there is a litle beach with hammocks and chairs.

The Stoned Crab Resturant on site offers exceptional menu selections and I have been told by an "insider" they will soon have a new wine selection with emphasis on Austrailia and New Zeland wines.

Yes we will return next year............... highly reccommended!

Michael and Bonnie Noone

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and The Stoned Crab for your anniversary. Your "insider" was right. We will be focusing our wine and beer list on the best from Down Under. Being an Aussie, I am excited to introduce some exciting products thare are
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.