We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing - We'll be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Key West
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing - We'll be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Yes, read the reviews... the rooms are no frills, but quirky, clean, bright, great views. Whatever the rooms "lack," the rest of the place makes up for in spades! (And who the heck hangs out in the room all day in Key West?!?!) From the second we arrived we felt like family. The front desk and "fun" desk (Scarlett!) were so helpful. Amy and Natasha... words cannot express my love and thanks for making us at home from the get-go. Steve... you were one of the most delightful, patient servers I've ever met... as was Jared who got me no less than three servings of toast during breakfast. Tommy - as Southerngirlsrock pointed out - and who is also fabulous (love you girl!!!!) was a fantasic and attentive pool bartender. The pool is clean and beautiful and the restaurant is excellent (see my other review). Finally, to Chris the owner and all around awesome rock star - Thank You. You obviously have a gem of a place that you cherish and want to grow and share with others, and we really, truly appreciate it. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: I know they are renovating, so maybe ask for a newer room, and the beachfront rooms have amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I will now be unbearable to live with now because I am officially a RockStar! Excuse me while I trash a couple of hotel rooms. Wait! I can't do that, it's my hotel! Seriously, I am glad you had such a good time at Ibis and in the restaurant. I will show your review (with Chris is a RockStar highlighted) to everyone. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    232
    158
    77
    97
See reviews for
182
342
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our group of friends meet in Key West every year for the Offshore Powerboat Races and to hang out together.That means forgetting about work/home and eat well,drink hard,tan by the pool/ocean,and have lots of laughs.
Ibis Bay provides a comfortable,quirky,thoroughly enjoyable experience at a reasonable rate.
It's not the Bahamas-like decor,the coconut palm tree peppered grounds,the excellent restaurant,the parrots,iguanas,manatees,or giant turtles.It's not all the fun and exciting amenities.
What makes it memorable,above all,is the Ownership and Staff.You will feel like you somehow just met the greatest and happiest group of people on earth.Whoever hired and keeps these employees engaging should be outsourced for every hotel/resort in the world.We never wanted to leave!
Kudos to Chris,Tom,Claudine,AGOTH,and many others who make Ibis Bay a place to remember.
See you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms numbered in the 100's are on the beach with own hammock facing the ocean. The 500's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you on behalf of everyone here. We really enjoyed you being here. You are great guests so it was a pleasure for us too. Now imagine all the Ibis Bay staff loudly shouting together, "Thank you and see you next year!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reception staff were very helpful with bike hire on site with an easy cycle into town. Rooms were ok however they had no safety deposit box which when you are travelling is a real pain. Had a nice steak in the restaurant pool ok but only ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed biking and the steak! Ibis Bay is the most afordable beachfront hotel in Key West. One of the ways we do that is to eliminate expenses that are rarely called for. Like personal safes. That enabled us to put more money into things everyone appreciates like UV light sanitizing for our linen. But I know this does legitimately inconvenience a few.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

November 11th – 15th

This Resort is just simply that, Amazing! From the moment we set foot on property, the staff made us feel like we were welcome with open arms and they were there to make our experience one to remember. We were greeted by Gina who was really nice and who also upgraded us to a loft suite! The room was really nice, very clean and close to everything on property also had wifi in the room upstairs and down. The wildlife that is located here turtles, parrots, iguanas, ibis birds and a manatee from time to time makes you feel like you are on kind of an island safari.

The staff that works the fun desk is just that, fun! They were a big help with booking our excursions and everyone there has a great attitude. The food at The Stoned Crab is crazy good! We ate there every day for breakfast and dinner and not one thing disappointed us. They also take 10% off the whole meal if you are staying on property and show them your room key. The pool bar being open every day is great along with the pool itself. We did meet Shannon, one of the best bartenders we have had on any trip down to Key West. We closed out the bar 2 nights chatting it up with her and we had so much fun. Shannon makes some great mixed drinks and always makes them with fresh ingredients (try the cucumber mojito). Thanks Shannon!

We are already planning our return to the Ibis Bay as well as working on having our wedding at the property. We are happy that we found this classic gem in our favorite place, and now we have found our favorite place to stay. Chris you are doing a great job!

Thanks again to the Ibis and the staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Its late and I thought i'll just check Tripadvisor before turning in and I got to read this wonderful review. If anyone was going to enjoy Ibis Bay the way I hoped they would it was you two. Every time I saw you both, you were surrounded by new friends and there was a fun buzz. Thanks from everyone. Come back. GET MARRIED HERE!! Please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I just got back from staying at the Ibis Resort! What else can I say but thank you! From the staff, to my room to the location it was awesome! Tom, my pool bartender was always on top of making my drinks and did it with pride! The owners welcomed us like family. We met some fabulous people by the pool and ended our last night with them. The staff is very friendly offering tips and the best places to see and eat! I cannot wait to come back again, as was stated to me when we left, it's not a good bye but we will see you later! Ands that's for sure! Thanks a million times over!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Making friends + Making memories + Wanting to come back. They are the real goals of a good vacation. I am glad we played a role in making that happen for you. Than you for coming and SEE YOU SOON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We really liked the style in our beachfront room. Loved our little patio on the beach with hammocks nearby, the fun art and little painted details on the walls, lovely tile in the bathroom, large plush beach towels. So we were very surprised by the squeakiest mattress I have ever experienced-- truly comical! Luckily we're pretty "static" sleepers because any movement makes for quite a symphony of sound.

I'm giving 4 stars nevertheless because my overall experience was good--the restaurant has good food and there is a nice pool. Take note: wi-fi is only available in the public areas.

Room Tip: A room on the beach is worth it for the view. Beware the squeaky mattresses. Wi-fi only available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am glad you had so much fun. We bought some mattresses that have started to squeak because it is often so humid here. I thought we got them all replaced but you found one. I will get it replaced. So thanks for letting me know. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked this hotel a lot. The rooms opened onto a waterfront patio and were spacious and clean. There were birds and manatees to see. The restaurant has free coffee out by 6AM. It was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. But the outstanding feature was the customer service. The waitress ran up to the desk to confirm what time check out was. They responded immediately to every request we made. The desk clerk fixed the loose screw in my sun glasses! The manager stopped us on the walkway to ask about our experience. A trip to Key West should be easy and relaxing. You'll get that with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A genuine smile, a simple "hello", a helping suggestion or an act of kindness are the memorable moments that make us all feel welcome. I think we interact more with our guests than a lot of hotels. It's actually the best part of our job. It's so nice to hear that it meant a lot to you. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn and Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#34 of 45 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#5 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#19 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.