We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #34 of 41 hotels in Key West
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from staying at the Ibis Resort! What else can I say but thank you! From the staff, to my room to the location it was awesome! Tom, my pool bartender was always on top of making my drinks and did it with pride! The owners welcomed us like family. We met some fabulous people by the pool and ended our last night with them. The staff is very friendly offering tips and the best places to see and eat! I cannot wait to come back again, as was stated to me when we left, it's not a good bye but we will see you later! Ands that's for sure! Thanks a million times over!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Making friends + Making memories + Wanting to come back. They are the real goals of a good vacation. I am glad we played a role in making that happen for you. Than you for coming and SEE YOU SOON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    179
    122
    63
    80
See reviews for
121
273
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We really liked the style in our beachfront room. Loved our little patio on the beach with hammocks nearby, the fun art and little painted details on the walls, lovely tile in the bathroom, large plush beach towels. So we were very surprised by the squeakiest mattress I have ever experienced-- truly comical! Luckily we're pretty "static" sleepers because any movement makes for quite a symphony of sound.

I'm giving 4 stars nevertheless because my overall experience was good--the restaurant has good food and there is a nice pool. Take note: wi-fi is only available in the public areas.

Room Tip: A room on the beach is worth it for the view. Beware the squeaky mattresses. Wi-fi only available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am glad you had so much fun. We bought some mattresses that have started to squeak because it is often so humid here. I thought we got them all replaced but you found one. I will get it replaced. So thanks for letting me know. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I liked this hotel a lot. The rooms opened onto a waterfront patio and were spacious and clean. There were birds and manatees to see. The restaurant has free coffee out by 6AM. It was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. But the outstanding feature was the customer service. The waitress ran up to the desk to confirm what time check out was. They responded immediately to every request we made. The desk clerk fixed the loose screw in my sun glasses! The manager stopped us on the walkway to ask about our experience. A trip to Key West should be easy and relaxing. You'll get that with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A genuine smile, a simple "hello", a helping suggestion or an act of kindness are the memorable moments that make us all feel welcome. I think we interact more with our guests than a lot of hotels. It's actually the best part of our job. It's so nice to hear that it meant a lot to you. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were in a pinch to find a hotel for the boat show. Claudine answered my call and was able to find accommodations for us! She went above and beyond and that was awesome! The check-in and check-out was easy, fast and smooth. Our room was a waterfront room and it really was waterfront! Cute, cute, cute, old Havana style, tastefully appointed and the view was spectacular! I saw some comments regarding "the rooms were small" but it is an older hotel so that is generally to be expected. But again, they created a cozy atmosphere in the true Key West spirit!!! Hot water, good water pressure, clean beds, plenty of pillows. Love the old pictures on the walls. Grounds were clean, pool big and clean. Restaurant on property was great - had breakfast and lunch there. Add in the turtles and exotic birds on the premises and you have a winner! So thank you again Claudine for helping us - you rock :) !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Claudine has worked at Ibis Bay longer than anyone else. You found out why. Thank you for letting me know how well she did. She'll get a gold star!!
To me, being on the beach on Ibis Bay is like living in a Key West postcard. Out of 47 Key West hotels only 8 have their own beach. We are the most affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was a little concerned about trying this hotel because of previous reviews, but I am so glad we tried it. We stayed there 3 nights and it was fantastic. The hotel property is very clean (was especially impressed with the beach areas) as well as the rooms. I want to give acknowledgement to the housekeeping staff their, especially Anna who cleaned our room (400) during our stay. We were in and out and had all our stuff (including bike gear) that she worked around. The only thing I was not impressed with was the restaurant or bar. Not really because they were bad but because a lot of the food was not to my taste. The service there was okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Ibis Bay is a great place that was not great for a while. It is a historic coral gem built in the 50s. Our renovations have made it better in every respect, and unique just like Key West.
Thank you for your review. I hope we see you again soon. I will make sure Anna sees your review. She is terrific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had waterfront room. Bed was very worn out, sagged to middle.
Fridge did not work when we got there. Called front desk, they sent engineer, he comes in and tells us its a ow capacity fridge and we had too much stuff in it. I said really? He barely spoke english, said all rooms were full so we just had to deal with it. He left, I checked back of fridge and found an issue.Fixed it myself and worked full blast the rest of the time.

We also requested a microwave which was not in room, called and they had to get us one.

We ate at their resteraunt and the food was pretty good but the service was awful. The girl was clueless right down to when she brought the check she did not give me a pen to sign the bill. She was dreadful throughout the meal.

Had to ask twice for housekeeping to wash the floor. And we tipped them everyday.

Pool area was nice, no hot tub. Pool bar is not open all the time, so plan ahead, but you are not allowed to bring your own into pool area.

They are doing a lot of upgrades such as new sand, hammocks a small dock etc. However you are waterfront not beach front. There is no beach.

Not sure we would stay again based on matress issue. Our backs were killing us. And no headboards lets the bed move away from wall and you lose your pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I located your waterfront room and the problem turned out to be a broken bed base. We replaced it. All our mattresses are new so I knew it wasn't that.
"Little things" not going right can erode a great experience. Like you enjoying the food at The Stoned Crab but the waitress not leaving a pen to sign the check. I am going to use your review to address the issue at our weekly manager's meeting. Thank you for your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A "Mystery Vacation" air/hotel package brought us to the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our very clean room had a colorful, tropical decor, a flat screen television with lots of channels, and a dorm room size refrigerator with a large freezer for storing lots of ice. Another nice feature was the iPod charging/docking station alarm clock. In addition to the ample 3 drawer dresser, the room had a queen size bed, 2 night stands, relaxed, soothing light from 2 paper lantern lamps, and a pair of tropical island style turquoise cane chairs. It was quiet at night, so we slept very well on the comfortable pillow top mattress and noticed the quality bedding which included 4 pillows with allergen pillow covers, crisp white sheets, and a lightweight comforter. Another nice touch was the black facial wipe washcloth for make up removal. We loved the convenient location - close to restaurants, grocery/liquor stores, shopping centers and only 12 minutes by bike to Duval Street. Ibis Bay has a nice pool with music, a bar, and movies on Thursday nights. The beach area's hammocks and clean sand for our beach towels, created the perfect place for enjoying the sun and watching the Ibis birds. Owner Chris and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have the best location, but we enjoyed our courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I met this lovely couple while they were enjoying a dice game on the beach one afternoon. We had a chance to talk a little about the hotel's past and its future. I am so glad they put their thoughts on "paper" because they are well-travelled and that perspective should be shared. Thank you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.