We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were in a pinch to find a hotel for the boat show. Claudine answered my call and was able to find accommodations for us! She went above and beyond and that was awesome! The check-in and check-out was easy, fast and smooth. Our room was a waterfront room and it really was waterfront! Cute, cute, cute, old Havana style, tastefully appointed and the view was spectacular! I saw some comments regarding "the rooms were small" but it is an older hotel so that is generally to be expected. But again, they created a cozy atmosphere in the true Key West spirit!!! Hot water, good water pressure, clean beds, plenty of pillows. Love the old pictures on the walls. Grounds were clean, pool big and clean. Restaurant on property was great - had breakfast and lunch there. Add in the turtles and exotic birds on the premises and you have a winner! So thank you again Claudine for helping us - you rock :) !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Claudine has worked at Ibis Bay longer than anyone else. You found out why. Thank you for letting me know how well she did. She'll get a gold star!!
To me, being on the beach on Ibis Bay is like living in a Key West postcard. Out of 47 Key West hotels only 8 have their own beach. We are the most affordable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    190
    129
    65
    86
See reviews for
137
288
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was a little concerned about trying this hotel because of previous reviews, but I am so glad we tried it. We stayed there 3 nights and it was fantastic. The hotel property is very clean (was especially impressed with the beach areas) as well as the rooms. I want to give acknowledgement to the housekeeping staff their, especially Anna who cleaned our room (400) during our stay. We were in and out and had all our stuff (including bike gear) that she worked around. The only thing I was not impressed with was the restaurant or bar. Not really because they were bad but because a lot of the food was not to my taste. The service there was okay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Ibis Bay is a great place that was not great for a while. It is a historic coral gem built in the 50s. Our renovations have made it better in every respect, and unique just like Key West.
Thank you for your review. I hope we see you again soon. I will make sure Anna sees your review. She is terrific!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had waterfront room. Bed was very worn out, sagged to middle.
Fridge did not work when we got there. Called front desk, they sent engineer, he comes in and tells us its a ow capacity fridge and we had too much stuff in it. I said really? He barely spoke english, said all rooms were full so we just had to deal with it. He left, I checked back of fridge and found an issue.Fixed it myself and worked full blast the rest of the time.

We also requested a microwave which was not in room, called and they had to get us one.

We ate at their resteraunt and the food was pretty good but the service was awful. The girl was clueless right down to when she brought the check she did not give me a pen to sign the bill. She was dreadful throughout the meal.

Had to ask twice for housekeeping to wash the floor. And we tipped them everyday.

Pool area was nice, no hot tub. Pool bar is not open all the time, so plan ahead, but you are not allowed to bring your own into pool area.

They are doing a lot of upgrades such as new sand, hammocks a small dock etc. However you are waterfront not beach front. There is no beach.

Not sure we would stay again based on matress issue. Our backs were killing us. And no headboards lets the bed move away from wall and you lose your pillows.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I located your waterfront room and the problem turned out to be a broken bed base. We replaced it. All our mattresses are new so I knew it wasn't that.
"Little things" not going right can erode a great experience. Like you enjoying the food at The Stoned Crab but the waitress not leaving a pen to sign the check. I am going to use your review to address the issue at our weekly manager's meeting. Thank you for your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A "Mystery Vacation" air/hotel package brought us to the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort, and we were pleasantly surprised. Our very clean room had a colorful, tropical decor, a flat screen television with lots of channels, and a dorm room size refrigerator with a large freezer for storing lots of ice. Another nice feature was the iPod charging/docking station alarm clock. In addition to the ample 3 drawer dresser, the room had a queen size bed, 2 night stands, relaxed, soothing light from 2 paper lantern lamps, and a pair of tropical island style turquoise cane chairs. It was quiet at night, so we slept very well on the comfortable pillow top mattress and noticed the quality bedding which included 4 pillows with allergen pillow covers, crisp white sheets, and a lightweight comforter. Another nice touch was the black facial wipe washcloth for make up removal. We loved the convenient location - close to restaurants, grocery/liquor stores, shopping centers and only 12 minutes by bike to Duval Street. Ibis Bay has a nice pool with music, a bar, and movies on Thursday nights. The beach area's hammocks and clean sand for our beach towels, created the perfect place for enjoying the sun and watching the Ibis birds. Owner Chris and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have the best location, but we enjoyed our courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I met this lovely couple while they were enjoying a dice game on the beach one afternoon. We had a chance to talk a little about the hotel's past and its future. I am so glad they put their thoughts on "paper" because they are well-travelled and that perspective should be shared. Thank you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Ibis Bay Resort for 5 nights with pretty much last minute reservations. Our room was pretty recently redone and it was very cute. BUT it was also pretty tiny. My husband missed a desk for his computer and I missed having a full-length mirror. I think adding a couple of hooks in the bathroom would make that area a bit easier to manage.That said - we slept great! We had enough room for our "stuff." There was a refrigerator and there were beach towles provided. The bath towels were not plush but they did the job. Our room was kept clean and resupplied with shamppo, soap, paper products as necessary. THe front desk folks were friendly and helpful and the Stoned Crab Restaurant, on site was great. No coffee in the rooms but coffee is free at the restaurant for guests. It was a 2 1/2 mile walk to town but the walk will be much better once the roadwork on Route 1 is finished.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Tripadvisor is a great way for me to know what our guests like and need. Ibis bay was built in 1956 and is therefore a protected historic structure. Changing the existing room sizes is not permitted but we can construct new rooms that are larger. So thats what we are doing. Thank your for your insights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a find, great price for an island style hotel right on the water in Key West. Short bike ride to Duval and all the bars, but nice and quiet for sleeping. Great pool all of the staff and servers/bartenders were great. Our sliding door opened right to a hammock on the sand overlooking the water.. Wonderful. On site restaurant, the Stoned Crab is also fabulous..can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Everyone who works here loves this place as much as the guests. And I think that's what guests pick up on when they come here. I love your pic of your hammock on the beach. Thank you for writing your review. We all appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Once again I stayed at Ibis Bay not once but two more times. The latter part of. September into the first week of October. Then again for 5 days during FantasyFest. As always the staff was great , rooms were clean, location is fantastic and the restaurant was top shelf. The only way I wont stay at Ibis when I am in Key West is if they are already booked up.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your support. Ibis Bay has come a long way recently thanks to some pretty big renovations being completed. But more importantly our great local staff are proud of their hotel and it shows. We are looking forward to you coming back. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.