We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best resort in key west!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“best resort in key west!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

good service,nice people,beautiful and romantic honeymoon room!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    199
    131
    65
    87
See reviews for
141
295
19
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

After reading some of the other reviews on here I feel I have to give my version of events. I never write reviews but feel that the hotel has been unfairly called.

The hotel was exactly as described and I found it to be very clean and quaint. Yes the rooms are on the small side, as are the bathrooms, but everything was clean on my stay, nothing was stolen and the front desk staff were helpful and able to answer any questions I had.

We had a room on the second floor facing the parking lot. An issue to others maybe but as we were in Key West to see things and use the room for showering, changing and sleeping it really wasn't an issue. Plus we had less distance to go when carrying our cases!

As we don't like to be disturbed on our holidays we left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door but the one day we forgot, we came back to find the maid had left fresh towels and toiletries on the bed and not touched a thing, despite the fact our cases were open and things were on the bed.

The air conditioning is a little noisy but to be honest, I've rarely stayed in a place that is silent, especially with rooms that face outside so I had no issues there.

The pool was clean and well laid out with plenty of sun loungers and eating in the restaurant was lovely as you could sit by the water and enjoy a nice drink and the tastiest Key Lime Pie we had all holiday.

The walk to Duval street was about 30 minutes, so the hotel is based on the edge of town but the walk was easy with plenty to look at.

Overall I really enjoyed my time at the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort and was pleasantly suprised by the outdoor exterior and the cute, clean rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My husband and I were so disappointed with Ibis Bar Waterfront Resort. The associate at the front desk was slow and careless and the rooms were worse. The room had a wet/mildew musk in the air, the bathroom was too small, and the bed was nasty. Our room was on the "beach" which was smelly, rocky, and brown. It is near a Fridays which shows how depressing this place is. Also Duval Street is pretty close by, which is a total waste of time unless you are over the age of 50. Overall there was nothing about this hotel that would make me want to recommend it or come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Overall it's not bad for a quick getaway but if your looking for a long vacation look elsewhere. The room was clean and redone, bathroom is very small and there are no closets or dressers to store your clothes. AC is noisy and kicks on and off constantly but it kept the room cool. Check in was smooth, bar and resturant were ok too. Ground are nothing to brag about but generally clean. Water sports on site, small beach area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The location is perfect- just far away yet close enough for Duval St madness as well as family fun at Smather's Beach or Ft. Zachary. You can actually bike or moped anywhere from here. The outside of the resort is wonderfully re-done (seashells instead of rocks in the parking lot areas, dried coral on the facade of buildings, brightly colored painted buildings) and it looks inviting. The pool area is wonderful and right next to the hotel bar & restaurant that seemed to always be open with good basic food plus some expensive options that we never tried. The resort owns some interesting animals that are fun to check out- giant parrots and giant turtles. There weren't as many families- it seemed to be older vacationing people so the vibe was relaxed and not chaotic. It was a great place to relax when we needed downtime in between vacation activities so on those accounts- I highly recommend it!

The downside: the inside of the rooms. I was super disappointed that after we upgraded to a "water view room" there was no beach. It was on the water, but on a bay-front where it seemed to ALWAYS be low-tide. And if you've ever been to a beach or worse, a bay, at low-tide- the smell is horrific. Being that our room was right on the water, it constantly smelled like sewage even though we never opened the sliding glass doors because the stench was so bad. DO NOT REQUEST A WATER-VIEW ROOM!! If you do, bring airfreshener and candles. The bathroom was also sad as the lighting seemed like prison lighting. There was also only one mirror in the entire room which was the small bathroom mirror- which made it difficult for two people to get ready at once, or even one person really. There was no dresser or table or anything to put our luggage or clothing on or in. We requested a table which they told us they'd bring and they never did. We ended up leaving our clothes on the tile floors for the 6 days... we had no other choice.

Basically, as long as it's a short stay so you have no need to put clothing away anywhere and you don't get a water-view room and you don't spend much time in your room... you'll be good! It was inexpensive so I'm not totally dissatisfied with my stay, I just think they need a few small improvements and the smell would have been my only negative remark.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are on the bay which smells like sewage- stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Front desk was pleasent. But the room was filthy and the curtains in the room are semi-transparent. Did not feel that I had any privacy at all. luckily the AC was pretty noisy and the white noise help me sleep.

Room Tip: Stick with the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

Currently renovating but it was not a disturbance in any way. Not a cookie cutter hotel which is what we like. Had 4 tropical birds, 2 huge turtles, iguanas, and huge sand castles. It is on the water too. Staff was very accommodating, food in restaurant was average. Nice pool area too. Great value for the rate. In trolley route.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.