We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 24 hrs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelina Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angelina Guest House
302 Angela Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Kent, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great 24 hrs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Owners and staff were great. I arrived early, but they made room for my motorcycle, gave me a place to change clothes and I started my walking tour. The location made walking to everything easy. The room was very clean and comfortable. The grounds are very nice with a nice pool. Breakfast was great and the cinnamon rolls they make are awesome. One of the neighborhood roosters did start work a little early but that's not in the staff's control! Will return with my wife and a longer stay.

Room Tip: I had a room that had a "shared" bathroom and this was not a problem at all as 2 were avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    398
    125
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
311
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We've stayed here twice and agree, the landscaping is lovely and the breakfast good. However, both times we stayed we have had problems with noise. The first time was when we were awoken at 0730 by work going on in the loft, right near our room. It continued so long we just got up bleery eyed and started our day. An option to sleep in, undisturbed, isn't too much to ask but we hoped this was a one off and weren't too deterred from booking for our next trip.

The second time was much much worse. The guesthouse was fully booked minus our room with some kind of party (birthday I think) but we didn't know this beforehand. At around 0130 we were awoken by people running up and down the hall just outside our room shouting and acting generally drunk. We had words with them ourselves, twice, but they just got louder. We tried knocking on the door to where the owners live, part of the guesthouse, but there was no answer. This continued for hours and we we had to get up pretty early the next day as we had a lot planned. Grossly unimpressed with our fellow guests we informed the management at the house the following morning. They did say that there was a phone on the landing to call them but this was hidden by the group of drunken guests congregating outside our room so we didn't know it was there. The doors are relatively thin so sleep was impossible for most of the night.

Naturally we weren't at all happy so we suggested that the party of guests split our room cost between them but I don't think they were keen...what a surprise. To their credit the management refunded 1 nights stay to try and make up for the issues we experienced, though we did have to push the point a little to get a proper reply. Whilst the gesture was appreciated, the following day wasn't really enjoyed as it should have been as both of us were really sleepy all day. We get precious little time off of work and to have a night and the following day ruined by inconsiderate guests is really out of order.

Would we go again? Yes, but I would call the owners immediately with any problems on the phone that's on the landing (now we know it's there). Other than this the guesthouse is really clean and very quaint. If you happen to be staying at the same time as seasoned travellers/decent human beings you should't have a problem but I would check first that no large parties are booked before committing to a booking.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, it's the fellow guests you need to watch out for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

So glad we found this place. Helpful staff. Pool was wonderful! Lush and private grounds. Bike rental on site that we certainly took advantage of. Unsure what the other guest found uncomfortable about his soft bed, we thought ours was very comfortable and clean. Pillows were also comfortable. Breakfast was great. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly. Same could be said by many people we met there over the week we stayed that keep coming back to Angelina's year after year. We can see why. We stayed street level with a queen bed, couch, huge bathroom, fridge and microwave. Roosters roam all over Key West. Be sure to pack earplugs if you do not want to hear them crowing at 5 a.m. (But I will admit I got used to it and kind of liked it by the end of our stay.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed two different nights in two different rooms and both were AWESOME! The owners and staff are the GREATEST, but THE CINNAMON ROLLS, they are SPECTACULAR! We did not have many planned things going to Key West, we kinda wanted to go with the flow. Julie was AWESOME and made sure that we were all set up, THANK YOU! Hope you enjoyed the Mahi. This will be the place we stay when we go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Have to say the people are real friendly, the place is quaint, the pool area nicely landscaped and maintained. As others have rated the cinnamon rolls for breakfast were great, so why do I say "fell short". We had a king bed that sank so badly that we would have slept better in a hammock. My rule #1 is that a place must be clean, which it was; but failed on my rule #2 which is comfort, since the bed was so uncomfortable, I could not honestly recommend anyone to stay. It's difficult for me to believe that anyone in this business is not aware of poor sleeping accomodations, mattresses do not fail overnight. I think if you read other reviews, you will find that my review is consistent. Angelina, you only have one shot at getting this right, spend the money on new beds.

Room Tip: I would shop around
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksandjr, Owner at Angelina Guest House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
As owners of the Angelina our number one priority is making sure our guests are happy. We are unaware of which room this review was about but are pleased to announce we have new mattresses for all the king rooms. (We have replaced all of our other mattresses this past year also). We do appreciate this feedback so we can continually improve our facility. Our only regret is that these mattresses did not arrive before Captain T stayed with us. However we are surprised that the rating of this stay did not match the comments as it appears the rest of the stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for two nights and it was great. We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we opted to try and do as much outdoors activities as possible, but what time we did spend there was perfect. The pool was very nice, all the other guests were pleasant, the breakfast was a nice economical way to start the day. The room was small but nice. We liked that there was no TV; all the more reason to get out and do something. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. And the best part: the bike rentals. Cheaper than the other bike rentals on the island, and very comfortable. It made getting around the key very easy and fun. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights and loved the accomodations. Some rooms are very small - just enough room to open the door! But we were in D and had plenty of room. Walkout to the pool/garden area which means you could have someone eating breakfast within inches of the door to your room. Very clean. Some of the setup was odd - breakfast was set out in the same area that houses the laundry facilities. Rained one morning which made it difficult to eat breakfast as all the tables are outside. Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angelina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelina Guest House

Address: 302 Angela Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Angelina Guest House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelina Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Angelina Guest House to your Saves list