We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Execution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Execution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

The other reviews are short, but pretty descriptive as to what you get at this place. The houses (La Mer is one and Dewey is two) are part of a bigger collection owned by southernmost and there are two or three actual hotels on the property (I would consider La Mer and Dewey house more of a B&B). What this does is gives you the amenities of a larger operation with the feel of an actual B&B. There were three pools, one hot tub, a tiki bar, a poolside bar, a beach and a beach cafe/bar. Across the street was an ice cream stand, a souvenir shop and a convenience store. In the hotel across a parking lot was a fitness center.

Some quick hits about the property and amenities: the beach has seaweed and the ocean right here is rocky, but still nice to have the beach and sand right outside your door, go to the concierge stand to get 2 for 1 drink tickets for Duval St., free wi-fi, beer is reasonably priced and mixed drinks are expensive at the tiki and poolside bars, house location is at the south end of Duval St and not in the thick of things, but close enough to get there...but a long walk if you want to go all the way to the N side of duval (Relatively speaking, the island is only 2m X 4m), spa looked small and only there to say they had a spa (but I never tried it), free continental breakfast (cereal, hard boiled eggs, pastries, belgium waffles, english muffins, bread, etc).

We rented a scooter and it was well worth it ($150/3 days) as scooter parking was plentiful and car parking was not. The beach at the state park is worth the visit and easy to get to via scooter (or car).

The houses have a total of 19 rooms that come with a safe, umbrella, wine glasses, martini glasses, refrigerators, coffee makers and robes in each room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    50
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
358
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

My husband and I drove from Houston Tx all the way to Key West Florida, Needless to say when we arrived in Key West we were tired but excited.
We were greeted by Samantha and Linda who were the sweetest ladies you could ever meet. They had our reservations and called for Sam (female) to come and show us to our room and around the property. When Sam first took us to our room, I was AMAZED!!, The room was beautiful, We had a king size bed with a beautiful cherry wood entertainment center slash closet. The room was upstairs room 412. We had a private balcony, and a wet bar. The room looked like it was never slept in. After my pure amazement with the room, Sam took us to show us where we would eat breakfast at. Which was Dewey House. The whole bed and breakfast was a good experience. My husband and I went back to the room and changed and went out exploring Key West. When we came back to our room, the bed was turned down for the night with 2 pieces of chocolate candy on each pillow. This type of service is like a 5 star hotel. Our beds was made up every morning, clean sheets, refill on soaps, towel and water. Did I mention the private beach. And the Southernmost Cafe. Larry is the beach keeper and he was just the GREATEST. While relaxing on the beach, Larry bought over frozen pineapple treats, and popcicles to cool us off. He was very polite . At breakfast, We have fresh fruit, bagels, waffles, orange juice, coffee and eggs, cheeses. We also had an afternoon tea. Which was the greatest, hot and cold tea, fruit, cheese, crackers, the works. I did everything to come back to my room, because it was so nice. They even delivered a paper every morning while we were there. Since the property is in the Southernmost chain, we were allowed access to the pool, which had a bar area there equipped with servers. We had access to the fitness room and 2 of the other pools that were on site.
We really enjoyed our stay. The day before we were to check out, We were surprise by a friendly little notice that tomorrow was our check out, they even left 2 chocolates.
You must come and see this place. I mean, you will feel like you could stay there forever.
I love the Southernmost chain especially La Mer and Dewey House. I rate this place a 10+.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I booked our trip to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and our accommodations were better than our honeymoon resort in Jamaica . We chose to stay at the Dewey House for it's intimate charm and fantastic location. The complementary continental breakfast and tea time were also fantastic. The Southernmost Resorts are one of the few hotel chains on the island that don't charge for parking or internet access and you have access to all of the amenities that the resort has to offer, including a private sand beach, three pools, two pool bars, and an oceanfront restaurant. They are also located on the Atlantic side of Duval Street, so not only was it quiet, but you are only a short walk to all of the entertainment, great bars and shopping that Key West has to offer. This was our first time staying with the Southernmost Resort and we will definitely be back again. After seeing our pictures and hearing about the phenomenal service and attention to detail we received, our friends and family have all asked for information to book their next trip. We cannot thank the staff at the Dewey House enough for their spectacular service and are looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We spent a lovely weekend in Key West at the Dewey House, part of the Southernmost hotel group. The House was right on a small stretch of beach near everything in Key West. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was sumptuous. Our hostess, Sam was incredibly friendly engaging all guests in lively conversation, giving tips on local eateries, bars and sights. She alone was worth the trip to this deligtful location.
The patio was tranquil, and guests have run of all of Southernmost's four pools and beach. restaurants, and bars. The hotel made the weekend just a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We dropped our kids at sleep away camp on Sunday and at sun up on Monday we were winging our way to Key West. We decided to stay at La Mar. We had stayed there six years ago for a long weekend with friends and we very much liked it. We didn’t realize that this trip we would love it. We will stay there every time we go to Key West.

We arrived early, prior to check in, but since our room was ready they happily let us into it. We had an ocean view suite which was beautiful and a great view of the ocean. We were please to be able to clean up, change and start our mini vacation in Key West.
We discover that there had been a few changes since our last visit including the acquisition of the beach bar/restaurant and the hotel next door. Both changes are for the better. We didn’t spend much time in the pool at the hotel next door but it was very nice as was its bar. We only ate lunch on the beach once but it was very good. The bartenders at the beach were excellent and I was very please that it took them no time to get to know how we were. They were ready for us and our evening cocktail every night before we headed out to dinner.

The beach: People who have not been to Key West before don’t realize that there isn’t a lot of beach on the island, at least not in the Old Town area. Le Mar sits on one of the largest and it is at the southern end of Duval. The beach is groomed every morning and there are chairs available at no charge for hotel guests. The water is nice but there is some rocks and grass on the left side of the beach as you enter the water. If you are going in the water head over towards the pier and go in there. While nude sunbathing is not legal in Key West no one seems to mind topless. There is a sign on the beach the reads “No top, no problem”. My wife and several others on the beach took advantage it the four days we were there.

The breakfast which was included was what I would expect for a B&B and very good. Pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal and freshly made waffles. The maid staff took impeccable care of our room. Because Le Mar sits on the south end of Duvall it is quite at night but only a short trip up to the Mallory Square area where the night life is excellent.
You can rent scooters and bikes across the street and walk to a lot of place although the walk all of the way up Duvall can be a little long.

We had to fly out of Key West at 6 AM to get back to the Baltimore area to pick up our boys at camp on Friday evening. The hotel staff was incredible with assisting us. Everything from a wake call, help with bags and a cab in time for us to make the flight. I’m not sure I would have handled the return trip at that hour without them.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

My wife & I came to Key West to celebrate her birthday & our 37th anniversary. From the very beginning we were made to feel special. We had booked a garden view room but were very surprised to learn upon arrival that we had been upgraded to a direct ocean view room. (was it due to the room not being taken by someone else or to our "special occasions"? Who cares!) We were introduced to our hostess "Sam" who gave us a short history of the property & explained about the morning breakfast & afternoon tea amenities. She also provided great ideas on local eating establishments. Thanks Sam!The best part of this location was the beach view & being at the quieter end of Duval St. Oddly enough, the beach location provided the only negative as there was a distinct odor at the waters edge which probably comes from the rotting seaweed that collects at the shore. Not enough of a negative to prevent us from coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Fl
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Recommended to me by a constant keys traveler. GREAT location, beautiful room, staff was very friendly on site....only issue was when i made the reservation...the lady who took it was rude and snotty...but I live in South Florida so I am used to it....that is why they have only 4 stars!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.