We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
zagreb
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Great, clean place to stay. It has this laidback southern feeling. Wi-fi works everywhere! Pools are clean. Staff kind. Was imagining renting a house by the sea but all looked shabby. So I picked this place and was amazed. Also stayed in a Waldorf hotel next to this place...and in here rooms are nicer, bigger and everything looks more classy then in a "classy" 4 or 5* hotel!!! Strongly recommend!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    54
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
407
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked two nights via orbitz due to great reviews. Beautiful property, overall staff was great. Upon arrival we were given the two dbl bed room (understood in reservation that it would be a king). We complained and the property manager initially tried to upsell a more expensive room as they were "98% sold out". "Luckily" the $500-$800 rooms were available and those did offer king size beds. We didn't want to pay more than we had already (which was $319 for that night) so we just opted to keep what we had. Manager later offered to move us the second day to a king room same category/better view and for the trouble they would treat us to dinner. She later said she wouldn't because "we got a great deal on our room anyway"(that to me was an inappropriate comment) and I said that's irrelevant and you shouldn't offer things if you're not going to keep your word. Nevertheless, the voucher was later left in our room that evening with an apology. Outside of the initial disappointment on the first day and the wasted time in resolving, the stay was very nice and we would return. Only other issue was the pool waitress. Seemed to take forever to order food/drinks.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am so glad to read that you had a great stay with us. I am sorry for the misunderstanding you experienced with your third party reservation but I’m very happy to read our staff was able to get you into a room more to your liking and offered you a voucher to our Southernmost Beach Café for the inconvenience. Your thoughtful comments are much appreciated and remind us there is always room for improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your next stay with us exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Another great trip at the Southernmost on the Beach. For the past 3 years we have stayed at La Mer/Dewey House and just love the feel of it. Unfortunately one of the houses was under construction so our morning breakfast was moved to the Beach Cafe. The Beach Cafe took great care of us with great options for breakfast. We did, however, miss Afternoon Tea. That was always a nice "pick-me-up" each afternoon. But that did not deter us from having another great experience at this hotel. The pool staff is AMAZING! Thank you James, Heather and Greg! You made our experience all that much better (as you have for the past few years!).

Room Tip: Room 406 does not have an ocean view, but is most likely significantly less expensive. Private vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m so happy to read that you had such a nice time during your 6th visit to us. The improvements we have made to the Dewey House are quite substantial and we are very excited about these changes. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your last stay but I know you will be thrilled with the results when you visit us again. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to sharing with you our beautiful renovations and our commitment to exceptional customer service on your 7th visit to the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose La Mer Hotel on a whim for a spur of the moment trip to Key West. The reviews promised a fantastic experience and we were not disappointed. We had a second floor ocean view mini suite that was impeccable. The staff continuously showed their genuine desire to ensure that we had nothing short of an outstanding time during our visit. The food at the Beach Café was wonderful and the pool side bar offered excellent drinks, food from the café and Sunday night football ... We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am so happy to read that your stay with us was everything you hoped it would be. Online reviews can help travelers make informed travel decisions and I’m glad that the reviews you read led you to give us a try and that your experience lived up to your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wife and I were completely satisfied with the La Mer Hotel in Key West. The room was immaculate, the staff was very friendly, helpful and anxious to be of service. The location was ideal. One evening we enjoyed an incredible sunset and an equally incredible moon rise on the La Mer's dock. Also, there are so many great restaurants and things to do in Key West!
We have spent time at beautiful resorts in Hawaii but the cost of airfare and travel time make frequent visits prohibitive. With that said, our close proximity to Key West make regular visits to the La Mer much more likely.
Bill and Susan; Clearwater, FL

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Le Mer and loved it! We had a great room on the first floor with a little balcony. The room was private and great for the romantic getaway we planned. The staff was all very friendly on the property. We got a massage that was ok but nothing spectacular. We loved the property...the restaurant, the Southernmost café was great! The breakfast that came with staying at the Le Mer and Dewey House was definitely worth it and a great way to start the day! It was nice that it was on the beach and you could actually lay out on the beach. We loved the location b/c it was a little further away from all the bars but definitely not too far to walk when you wanted to get into town. We loved Key West as a whole. Great time was had!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the nicest hotel that I have stayed in within the US. From the moment we stepped onto the grounds we felt safe, comfortable and well taken care of. The house attendant showed us around the property and we were taken to our amazing guest room. The landscaping on the property is lush and not overdone. Lots of native tropical plants and a lovely water feature that provided that relazing sound of splashing water. Everything from the soft sheets to the jetted bathtub(Aveda products!) and the little kitchenette were absolutely perfect. The tv choice were decent although we wish we could have had a dvd player or in room movies since we don't really get to watch movies at home(toddler!)

Each day went a little like this: wake up just in time to head downstairs to the YUMMY breakfast buffet. Waffles, juices, yogurt, fruit, baked goods from an amazing local French bakery...it was a truly divine start to our day. The house attendant checked on you to see if you had any questions about Key West or needed ideas. Super sweet young women that really knew the idland. THen we would head back to the room to get dressed for some touristy things...butteryfly conservatory, Hemmingway house, EcoTour kayak & snorkel, just walking around looking at all of the cool houses. And then lunch and somewhere yummy nearby wherever we were. Taxis were easy to access and the front desk would call one for you. Much cheaper than the pedicabs--and less sweaty...it's really hot here in the summer!

Afternoons were filled with lying on the tanning pier. What a wonderful idea! Since actual beach front is at a minimum here, build a pier out on the water with ocean access and lots of lounge chairs! I thoroughly enjoyed this with the exception of a group of women who blockaded the walkway and were exceptionally drunk and loud...we can tell you've had work done, we don't need to know the details! There was a bar onsite nearby. The bartender was very helpful with drink ideas as well as dinner ideas. Plus you could just charge it to the room which is nice! After our lazy afternoon we'd have a glass of wine on the balcony, get dressed and head somewhere yummy for dinner. Everywhere we ate was great!

We ate at the onsite restaurant when we first got there and enjoyed it. It was very busy but priced appropriately for an onsite restaurant and the food was good. Very similar to a lot of the other places we ate in town.

We never went to the adult pool or did the onsite activities but they both looked fun but we were kind of tuned out from participating. I really loved this hotel and am super happy with spending the extra money to have such luxurious accomodations on this special getaway with my husband. I can honestly say I actually felt 100% relaxed on this vacation!

Room Tip: Any room here will be amazing. We had a upstairs room with a little balcony facing the water....Rm 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Hotel
Southernmost Hotel
#9 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pier House Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.