We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #15 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We chose La Mer Hotel on a whim for a spur of the moment trip to Key West. The reviews promised a fantastic experience and we were not disappointed. We had a second floor ocean view mini suite that was impeccable. The staff continuously showed their genuine desire to ensure that we had nothing short of an outstanding time during our visit. The food at the Beach Café was wonderful and the pool side bar offered excellent drinks, food from the café and Sunday night football ... We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am so happy to read that your stay with us was everything you hoped it would be. Online reviews can help travelers make informed travel decisions and I’m glad that the reviews you read led you to give us a try and that your experience lived up to your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    44
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
328
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wife and I were completely satisfied with the La Mer Hotel in Key West. The room was immaculate, the staff was very friendly, helpful and anxious to be of service. The location was ideal. One evening we enjoyed an incredible sunset and an equally incredible moon rise on the La Mer's dock. Also, there are so many great restaurants and things to do in Key West!
We have spent time at beautiful resorts in Hawaii but the cost of airfare and travel time make frequent visits prohibitive. With that said, our close proximity to Key West make regular visits to the La Mer much more likely.
Bill and Susan; Clearwater, FL

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Le Mer and loved it! We had a great room on the first floor with a little balcony. The room was private and great for the romantic getaway we planned. The staff was all very friendly on the property. We got a massage that was ok but nothing spectacular. We loved the property...the restaurant, the Southernmost café was great! The breakfast that came with staying at the Le Mer and Dewey House was definitely worth it and a great way to start the day! It was nice that it was on the beach and you could actually lay out on the beach. We loved the location b/c it was a little further away from all the bars but definitely not too far to walk when you wanted to get into town. We loved Key West as a whole. Great time was had!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the nicest hotel that I have stayed in within the US. From the moment we stepped onto the grounds we felt safe, comfortable and well taken care of. The house attendant showed us around the property and we were taken to our amazing guest room. The landscaping on the property is lush and not overdone. Lots of native tropical plants and a lovely water feature that provided that relazing sound of splashing water. Everything from the soft sheets to the jetted bathtub(Aveda products!) and the little kitchenette were absolutely perfect. The tv choice were decent although we wish we could have had a dvd player or in room movies since we don't really get to watch movies at home(toddler!)

Each day went a little like this: wake up just in time to head downstairs to the YUMMY breakfast buffet. Waffles, juices, yogurt, fruit, baked goods from an amazing local French bakery...it was a truly divine start to our day. The house attendant checked on you to see if you had any questions about Key West or needed ideas. Super sweet young women that really knew the idland. THen we would head back to the room to get dressed for some touristy things...butteryfly conservatory, Hemmingway house, EcoTour kayak & snorkel, just walking around looking at all of the cool houses. And then lunch and somewhere yummy nearby wherever we were. Taxis were easy to access and the front desk would call one for you. Much cheaper than the pedicabs--and less sweaty...it's really hot here in the summer!

Afternoons were filled with lying on the tanning pier. What a wonderful idea! Since actual beach front is at a minimum here, build a pier out on the water with ocean access and lots of lounge chairs! I thoroughly enjoyed this with the exception of a group of women who blockaded the walkway and were exceptionally drunk and loud...we can tell you've had work done, we don't need to know the details! There was a bar onsite nearby. The bartender was very helpful with drink ideas as well as dinner ideas. Plus you could just charge it to the room which is nice! After our lazy afternoon we'd have a glass of wine on the balcony, get dressed and head somewhere yummy for dinner. Everywhere we ate was great!

We ate at the onsite restaurant when we first got there and enjoyed it. It was very busy but priced appropriately for an onsite restaurant and the food was good. Very similar to a lot of the other places we ate in town.

We never went to the adult pool or did the onsite activities but they both looked fun but we were kind of tuned out from participating. I really loved this hotel and am super happy with spending the extra money to have such luxurious accomodations on this special getaway with my husband. I can honestly say I actually felt 100% relaxed on this vacation!

Room Tip: Any room here will be amazing. We had a upstairs room with a little balcony facing the water....Rm 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Key West was on my bucket list, and my sweet husband surprised me with a trip there for our 20th Anniversary! What a FANTASTIC trip we had starting with the Dewey House- to which we upgraded with the help of Dexter upon our arrival. All of the staff was wonderful, particularly Sam who was key in making us feel welcome and giving us some great tips for enjoying the area. She has immersed herself in the history of the house and the keys; her professionalism, sweet nature and knowledge is a real asset for your business! Our room 420 was perfect: great view of the beach and yet privately tucked at the edge of the restaurant. The bed was so comfortable and the decor was just beautiful. Breakfast was superb- with pastries from a local French bakery, fresh fruit, crazy good quiche, wonderful coffee...and the view! In the afternoon a delightful spread of fresh fruit, sweet treats, cheese and crackers is set out. That along with tea (and champagne one day) really made our days special. The property is meticulously maintained and truly a Key West gem of a home! Located at the quiet end of Duval, we found the location perfect for sightseeing. We could leave our room and be at Mallory for the sunset in 20 minutes walking! Since we left, we have wistfully checked the live webcam of the beach every day, and dream of going back. I can't overstate how exceptional this Inn is, and is the ONLY place I want to stay in KW.

Room Tip: To me, all of the rooms seem to possess a unique charm though we only saw ours really. Second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am just thrilled to read that you had such a fantastic experience with us for your 20th anniversary. I’m familiar with your room and have to agree that it’s gorgeous, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Sam, the guest house manager, is an amazing person and team member and we feel very fortunate to have her working with us. Our Bed and Breakfast’s location is unique to the area as it offers a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean and convenient access to Key West’s South Beach. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and even though you’ve scratched Key West off your bucket list I hope you’ll return and give us another opportunity to make your next special occasion exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Being a VERY picky person, I can honestly say that this property met and exceeded my expectations. Sam and the front desk staff were very nice! Our room was upgraded, and it was beautiful...nice size...luxurious...the pools on the property are fantastic! Attn to detail and service was great! Will def stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed & Breakfast. I am so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. Sam the manager of the houses is a wonderful person who loves her job and it shows. Guests who stay at the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House have access to all of the amenities our resort has to offer and I’m happy that you enjoyed your time around our pools. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your next stay with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was my first trip to Key West and I felt so blessed to find this place for our first trip and our anniversary. Room was top shelf and we felt like royalty. We had a patio overlooking the garden and a fountain. The breakfast included in the room price was magnificent. Fresh fruit and a variety of breads and Danish and the coffee was excellent. Some mornings we were offered Mimosa's as well. Fantastic. Great location to get around as well. We rented bikes and spent a morning exploring. My husband and I will be back. Fell in love with the place. Best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m very happy to read that your 30th anniversary also turned out to be your best vacation ever. Exceptional customer service is our goal every day for every guest and I’m happy to learn that we were able to make you feel like royalty. It is absolutely our pleasure. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.