We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh, best vacation ever!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #15 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ahhhh, best vacation ever!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West. We drove from Miami and checked in at the Le Mer. Everyone at the front desk was very helpful, friendly and fun. Their suggestions for dining were right on the mark. Our room was spacious and very quiet. The breakfast was scrumptious. Great location to see everything in Key West. We should have stayed longer and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. I’m so glad that you had the best vacation ever while staying with us. Exceptional customer service is what we strive for every day for every guest and it is so gratifying when our guests let us know we are succeeding. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to making your next stay with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    44
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
328
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay in the Dewey House in the Oceanfront room. Fantastic stay! From the greeting at the front desk by friendly Sam, to the morning breakfasts & afternoon tea w/ wonderful Randall to the cool bartenders at the Cafe; the staff here clearly love their jobs & make you feel welcome. The room was very clean & smelled so fresh; serviced twice daily by excellent housekeepers. The room I had was large with all the usual amenities plus a great whirlpool tub which was great after all the walking around Key West. The beautiful view was of the little South beach which is tiny but grew on me. They have 3 pools to choose from but I loved the adult tranquility pool which had upgraded furnishings. Add in plenty of free parking & free wifi, plenty of beach towels, activities & this is the only place to stay. I loved my balcony, the hammocks & just reading by the pool. You will not find any better in Key West for the price for sure. PS the Butterfly Conservatory is 1 block away; must go there & for sunsets go to Zachary State park instead of Mallory Square. Awesome; can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Room 418 had the best view I think in Dewey House but the cafe blocks some other rooms views but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so glad you had a fantastic stay with us. It sounds like you took full opportunity to use all of the amenities our resort has to offer and found some wonderful spots in Key West to make beautiful memories. Our award winning Bed and Breakfast is unique in that it offers our guests the serenity and privacy of “home” while providing access to 3 pools, 3 bars, 2 beaches, free wi-fi, parking, lounge chairs and beach towels. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you stay at the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I swpen 4 nights at the Dewey House in June for our first trip to Key West celebrating our 36th Anniversary.. The moment we arrived it was as if we were the only guests they had. We were treated like no other B&B has ever treated us. I will rave and I mean absolutely rave about Sam. Sam was the epitome of guest relations. She showed us our room, she gave us ideas of things to do, offered and gave us a champagne cocktail on our arrival. During our 4 days, Sam was by far the most pleasant and outstanding staff I have ever encountered. The rest of the staff were fantastic also but she just made you feel welcomed and appreciated. Southernmost, take note, Sam is one of your most valuable assets. Our room was incredible, housekeeping was above and beyond what is considered normal. The pools, the beach, the bars and the bartenders were all top shelf. I would recommend the Dewey and certainly not even think of staying anywhere else in Key wet.

Room Tip: Room 416 at the Dewey house is so peaceful and quiet. Only about 10% of wall space connects with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Bed and Breakfast. I am so happy to read that your experience with us was beyond your expectations. The Southernmost Hotel Collection would certainly agree with you that Sam is one of our most valuable assets. Her dedication and attention to detail is a major reason our Bed and Breakfast is continually recognized and awarded industry acclaim of high standards. Your high praise will certainly be shared with Sam. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We loved our stay at la mer hotel at southernmost hotel, great location and pool. Staff members like samantha and jen made our stay so comfortable and nice. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Only drawback was the restaurant. It was not up to par with the rest of the hotel....Tony and Lorna NJ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so glad you loved your stay with us and thought our staff was wonderful. Every day we strive to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and I am so glad we were able to do this for you. I am sorry to read that your experience at our award winning Southernmost Beach Café was not what you had hoped but I hope you will give us another opportunity to make your next experience there second to none. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future and making your next experience exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at this first class hotel in June 2013
Both La Mer and Dewey house share facilities with the other hotels in the group which across the street and right next door
Good beach side resturant (with own beach which can be shared with locals) and amazing views.
The location is perfect and far enough away from the main bustle of key west yet within a short walk if desired

Room Tip: Beach side would be my choice, so you can wake up to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Bed and Breakfast. We are fortunate to be located next to South Beach and this affords our guests with amazing ocean views from the comfort of their rooms or our Dewey House terrace. I’m glad you enjoyed your experience at our award winning Southernmost Beach Café. For ocean front dining and convenience it can’t be beat. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I have been vacationing in Key West for six years and have either stayed at the Dewey House or Southernmost on the Beach each time. All of the properties that make up the "collection" are beautiful and well taken care of. What keeps us coming back are the people. We receive the same service each time we visit and almost everytime we come we see the same people year after year. This tells us that the staff is treated right and that they love their job and it definately shows. We tend to spend the majority of our time at the Shores Pool. There are many fun activities to join in on (i.e. Beer School, Wine School, and many fun pool activities) which are hosted by Boomer McFall the Activities Director. Each year we look forward to having fun poolside with Boomer and this year he did not disappoint! THANK YOU BOOMER! We also note that there has been some expansion to the Activities staff which have deemed to be a wonderful addition. The poolside service by Heather was fantastic as usual! She is always friendly, attentive and has a beautiful smile. I would also like to throw a shout out to the bartender James (IMO he makes the best bloody mary in town!). The Beach Cafe serves terrific food and there is also great service there. We had terrific service everywhere we went on the property. Just a few more folks to mention are Jessica, Cynthia, Luis, Randall, Ryan, Michael, Bill and Boyko. Thank you again to everyone that helped make our vacation one of the best! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I am so glad to read that you had such a nice time with us but I think it’s fantastic that it’s our staff who keep you coming back. While we take exceptional customer service very seriously it can appear effortless because 1; we do love our jobs and 2; our guests are some of the nicest and friendliest anywhere. It is our pleasure to make sure they have the time of their lives. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to seeing you again and making your next stay with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Southernmost Resort properties three times. The first two times (2009 and 2011) we stayed at the Dewey House. LOVED IT! This month we had the pleasure of staying in the La Mer. Our room was beautiful, and house keeping was impeccable. The staff at the Southernmost properties are so very nice - every single one of them!! From our room, to the pool, the Shores Bar, the Southernmost Beach Cafe - there is no better place to stay when in Key West. We will definitely return. Thanks to all the staff at the Southernmost properties for making another fabulous vacation!!

Room Tip: The La Mer and Dewey House are so quiet, any room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Dewey House. Both Victorian houses combine to create one unique B&B experience. I’m also glad you took advantage of the rest of our properties amenities as well as the award winning dining featured at our Southernmost Beach Café. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.