We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property and Staff are the BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #19 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Property and Staff are the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I have been vacationing in Key West for six years and have either stayed at the Dewey House or Southernmost on the Beach each time. All of the properties that make up the "collection" are beautiful and well taken care of. What keeps us coming back are the people. We receive the same service each time we visit and almost everytime we come we see the same people year after year. This tells us that the staff is treated right and that they love their job and it definately shows. We tend to spend the majority of our time at the Shores Pool. There are many fun activities to join in on (i.e. Beer School, Wine School, and many fun pool activities) which are hosted by Boomer McFall the Activities Director. Each year we look forward to having fun poolside with Boomer and this year he did not disappoint! THANK YOU BOOMER! We also note that there has been some expansion to the Activities staff which have deemed to be a wonderful addition. The poolside service by Heather was fantastic as usual! She is always friendly, attentive and has a beautiful smile. I would also like to throw a shout out to the bartender James (IMO he makes the best bloody mary in town!). The Beach Cafe serves terrific food and there is also great service there. We had terrific service everywhere we went on the property. Just a few more folks to mention are Jessica, Cynthia, Luis, Randall, Ryan, Michael, Bill and Boyko. Thank you again to everyone that helped make our vacation one of the best! We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I am so glad to read that you had such a nice time with us but I think it’s fantastic that it’s our staff who keep you coming back. While we take exceptional customer service very seriously it can appear effortless because 1; we do love our jobs and 2; our guests are some of the nicest and friendliest anywhere. It is our pleasure to make sure they have the time of their lives. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to seeing you again and making your next stay with us even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    53
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
402
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Southernmost Resort properties three times. The first two times (2009 and 2011) we stayed at the Dewey House. LOVED IT! This month we had the pleasure of staying in the La Mer. Our room was beautiful, and house keeping was impeccable. The staff at the Southernmost properties are so very nice - every single one of them!! From our room, to the pool, the Shores Bar, the Southernmost Beach Cafe - there is no better place to stay when in Key West. We will definitely return. Thanks to all the staff at the Southernmost properties for making another fabulous vacation!!

Room Tip: The La Mer and Dewey House are so quiet, any room is a good room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Dewey House. Both Victorian houses combine to create one unique B&B experience. I’m also glad you took advantage of the rest of our properties amenities as well as the award winning dining featured at our Southernmost Beach Café. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booked a room last minute, making same day reservations for 2 couples traveling in after other accommodations fell through. The front desk was great helping us select a room and securing the reservation. We selected a room at Le Mer, the bed and breakfast hotel attached to the Southernmost Hotel. When we arrived, we were welcomed like their best guests - the front desk was well staffed so we were quickly checked in. After checking in, we were personally shown to our rooms by a staff member that for our brief stay treated us like old friends. The room provided a champagne cocktail at arrival, access to afternoon snacks which included fresh tropical fruits, desert, coffee and tea. Our room was immaculate, stocked with water bottles, plenty of plush towels and beautifully appointed. The property includes access to a great beach, 3 pools, several bars and no shortage of private, intimate shady places to rest. This hotel is a great escape from Key Wests craziness but close enough to shopping and bars that you can walk everywhere. Definitely lives up to its high rating - not to be missed if you want your stay in Key West to be memorable, stress free and respite from the crowds and noise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so glad we were able to accommodate you when your other plans fell through. An experience at our bed and breakfast is truly unique and I’m pleased you enjoyed yourselves so much. Exceptional customer service is what we strive for every day for every guest, no matter how long or short their stay. It’s nice to hear from our guests that we’re succeeding. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been vacationing in Key West for many years since we got married here 11 years ago and have stayed at many B&B's and loved them all but this past May we fell in LOVE LOVE LOVE with the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House. From the moment we arrived we were treated exceptionally, our room was gorgeous and so clean and well appointed. Both the La Mer and Dewey were just beautiful we truly found our happy place, we had that B&B feel that we have grown to love while visiting Key West with all the amenities of staying in a luxuary Hotel with access to all that the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel and the Southernmost Hotel had to offer, pools, bars and activities.

On our 3rd day there unfortunatly I had an accident and messed my leg up pretty badly and our Anniversary Vacation took a sudden turn. What could have been a total disaster turn out to be one of the best relaxing vacations we have ever been on and we have The Southernmost Hotel Collection to thank for that, we didnt get to do all the things we had planned on doing but it really gave us a chance to slow down in this perfect paradise, despite my injury.

The Inn Keepers and Staff at the LaMer Hotel and Dewey House and at the Hotels, the staff at the Southermost Beach Cafe' and Michael and Fletcher who ran the beach were AWESOME!!!! They were all so helpful to me and my husband from dealing with changing rooms from 2nd floor to a 1st floor so I didnt have to climb the stairs, to helping us with seeing a Doctor, getting us a wheel chair, to bringing us take-out from the Cafe, to saving the same 2 lounge chairs and umbrella on the beach for us for the remainder of our vacation and continuing to check on us to see if there was anything we needed.

This was definetly a different vacation for us but one we will never forget. We are so grateful for everyone who helped us during those last 3 days of our vacation and we won't just be back next year this will be the only place we stay at from now on when we visit Key West.

I totally recommend staying at this perfect slice of paradise...

Carol & Bill, Neptune New Jersey

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I and so pleased we were able to turn around a potentially disappointing anniversary vacation. Our goal is to make sure our guests have the time of their lives even if that means getting them on site medical attention, changing their rooms or delivering them dinner from our award winning Café. I am sorry your injury prevented your from enjoying more of Key West but it sounds like you were able to explore more of what our entire resort has to offer. I’m glad it turned out to be one of your most relaxing vacations ever. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to exceeding your expectations the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at La Mer, which is part of the Southernmost Resorts Group, and now can't imagine staying anywhere else. The staff was so welcoming and delightful. We were pampered from the moment we arrived. We loved that our room at La Mer was so lovely and quiet, and included a delicious and elaborate breakfast, as well as afternoon tea on the lanai at Dewey House. We also used the excellent pool, private beach and private pier at Southernmost Hotel on the Beach. The staff came around to check on us the exact right number of times... not so much as to be annoying but enough that we never wanted for anything.

Another great thing about La Mer is the location. Key West is so small that getting to the harbor and other attractions was so easy and yet you don't have to contend with the crowds and craziness on the north end of Duval unless you want to. It's so loud up there and so peaceful at La Mer.

You can't beat what you get for your money here. There are no resort fees like at the other large hotels. And I don't know what sort of magic spell they put on the bedding but I slept better here than I ever have in a hotel of any classification anywhere in the world.

We can't say enough about this place. This staff is made up of the nicest people and the guest house is in such a beautiful setting. We loved every moment we spent there. We wish we could give more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us so much. Our staff at the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are top notch and it’s wonderful that you felt so welcome and wanted for nothing. Exceptional customer service is our goal and that includes the freedom to use all of the amenities our resort has to offer. I’m glad you took advantage of these and they helped to make our bed and breakfast the only place you can imagine staying at while in Key West. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Dewey House for 3 nights last week and was thrilled. Breakfast time and afternoon Tea arrangements were fabulous. Try the waffles! Pools were warm, clean and the staff spoils you, you feel really taken care of. I had a great mani/pedi with Amber at the spa. Room was Immaculate. I spent hours on the porch reading, it was really charming and the grounds are simply beautiful. I will be back as often as possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m so pleased to read that you were thrilled with your first experience of the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House. Our staff there certainly makes sure every guest is well taken care of. I’m glad you enjoyed your treatments at our on site Petite Spa as well as the other amenities our resort has to offer. Thank you again for taking the time to write you review and we hope you will give us another opportunity to pamper you the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Dewey house for 3 nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. All I can say is that 5 stars is not enough to describe our experience. From check-in, to a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge, breakfast and afternoon tea on the patio, convenient bike rentals, staff who acted as if we were cherished family members, comfy beds, plump towels and Spa beauty products - there is nothing we would have changed. Key West is a lovely destination with so much to choose from...History at the Truman White House, sea museum, Ernest Hemingway house...swimming and snorkeling at the beach....shopping, eating and drinking on Duval Street and at the marina area...biking on streets where local drivers respect bikers. We can't wait to return and bring family.

Room Tip: If you can afford the splurge, an ocean view on the second floor of Dewey House is amazing. Room 418...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I’m so glad to read that you wouldn’t change a thing about your experience at our bed and breakfast. Our staff tries to anticipate our guests every need and I’m happy we were able to provide this. Exceptional customer service is our goal for every guest, every day. I’m pleased that our commitment to and success in this endeavor makes you eager to return and share the experience with your family. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.