We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #13 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“It's all about the details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights during a quick weekend getaway. We booked a luxury ocean view room and were given room #419 in the Dewey House.

I had originally booked another property in Key West, but changed our reservation to the La Mer and Dewey House after doing some additional research. I am so glad that we did! The Dewey House was perfect for us! First off, we enjoyed all of the small B&B charm you would expect, but were blown away by the large resort amenitities, such as a full fitness center.

Our check-in went well. There was plenty of free parking on-site (another plus!). Jenny gave us a tour of the property. We were completely blown away by our room! I had no idea that the room included a jacuzzi tub (I am a sucker for jacuzzi's). There were so many nice touches, like the small window above the bed to the champagne and wine glasses in the room. There was a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in the room fridge waiting for us. The towels were soft and fluffy. We love the Aveda bath products. The pillow top mattress on the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. There was also a coffee maker in the room, and we enjoyed coffee on our balcony every morning. The robes were very comfortable. There is a wall safe in the room - in our room it was in the closet area. There was also plenty of storage space.

We liked that the fitness center was very close and opened each day at 6:00. There were two treadmills, two ellipticals, and two bikes. The ellipticals and bikes that I used all worked well. There were also plenty of free weights and a weight machine. There were cups, water, towels, and sanitizing wipes. If you are staying at the La Mer and Dewey, the front desk will give you a separate key card to enter the fitness room.

We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast each morning. There were so many nice touches, from the Nutella to the delicious quiche. We never walked away hungry from breakfast. On Sunday, they had orange juice and sparkling wine available for Mimosas.

We also enjoyed the afternoon tea - such a nice variety of fruit and cheeses.

Bryan the concierge was very helpful suggesting a place for dinner for Friday evening. It's like he knew exactly what we wanted, because he suggested Duffy's and it was a perfect fit for us - a short 6 block walk with good service and reasonably priced food. Plus free coupons for Key Lime Pie. The grilled dolphin was moist and flaky - just delicious.

My husband thoroughly enjoyed jogging each morning around the island.

We used the Shores pool every afternoon after coming back from Duval Street. Although we thought we would use the quieter, adult only pool across the street, the Shores pool was never very crowded. We also used the tanning pier as a jump off point to swim in the Atlantic. Again, very thoughtful touches included having steps leading down to the water that were lined with rubber mats for sure footing. The ocean water is not the cleanest (lots of sea grass), but the swimming area near the pier has a soft sand bottom and no rocks.

The hotel is a block away from the Southernmost Point barrell. We enjoyed our strolls to Duval Street (which starts less than a block from the hotel). It is a bit of a hike to walk the entire length of Duval (and back). So we never did make it to Mallory Square for the sunset celebrations. The hotel is within 6 blocks of the Hemingway House, which we did take time to tour. The cats really are the stars there.

We had dinner on Sunday night at the Southernmost beach cafe. We were still fairly full from lunch, and both just wanted salads. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking. The food all was reasonably priced (plenty of choices under $20). I got a ceasar salad with chicken; my husband got the beet salad. Both were so big we could not finish them. We also got the Key Lime Pie martinis (yum!).

We even enjoying sitting on the lovely large porch of the Dewey House with a couple of cocktails, simply relaxing and people watching.

The only negative thing I can say is that, although the website provides warnings that weddings are frequently held on South Beach in front of the La Mer and Dewey House, they do not stipulate that these aren't just weddings, but wedding receptions. When I first read about the weddings, I thought, oh, no big deal, what's more romantic than a wedding on the beach? The good news is that they must wrap up by 10:30. But think of every wedding you've been to, and the loud thumping music and caterwalling DJs, and you have an idea of just how loud this can be. Of course, we were out one night until past 10:30. The second night we stayed in to watch a hockey game so it was a bit on the unpleasant side. There was no reception on Sunday night, and in fact the large tent that is erected for the receptions (and partially blocks the ocean view) was taken down giving us a much better view of the beach. I have attached photos both with and without the tent. Since most people are out late in Key West, this is by no means a deal breaker. It's just something to be aware of, since weddings on the beach are not the same as four hour wedding receptions on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    43
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
323
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We just came back from a 3 night stay at La Mer. Only thing we can say is that we wish we had stayed longer. Staff is very friendly and attentive, excellent breakfast at Dewey House and great room. All we missed was the balcony.

Towels, free parking, beach chairs and chilled water and coffee were included, bringing added value.

The hotel is absolutely stunning. Even though the first 2 days were windy, the pool was always nice and all the staff very helpful. We will definitely go back, albeit will go for a room with balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We wished we could stay longer, we were in the Dewey house room 414, there was a partial ocean view, smaller room but huge bathroom. The people were so nice Jenny and Darlene very helpful. Fletcher with the free beach chairs cold wash towels and smoothies on a hot day. The hotel is beautiful, great pools always something to do at the resort but plenty of quiet places. Great beach and restaurant, food was very good. We loved the breakfast that was included and the tea time was enough food not to need lunch. It was a very special and romantic place to stay. I would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Superb staff. Great breakfast every morning. Gorgeous location, also just a quick walk to all the Duvall excitement. Only stayed for 4 days, but WOW! You also have access to all the Southernmost Hotel activities. Great side benefit, if you overdo it on Duvall, start walking, when you hit the beach turn left.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

From the first, this bed & breakfast was wonderful. We had some reservations glitches before we arrived, but Samantha fixed everything and the room was fabulous. We did not care if we had an ocean view as long as the room was quiet. We stayed in the Dewey House on the first floor and it couldn't have been nicer. And I was surprised at how quiet it was! The staff was wonderful. We could walk out our room door and go directly to the beautiful breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach. The concierge staff helped us tremendously with great recommendations and reservations. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. All in all, a terrific experience!

Room Tip: If you want a room with ocean view, stay next door in Southernmost on the Beach. (same owners). As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

La Mer and Dewey House was everything we hoped it would be. Elegant, great service, and a terrific location. The complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea are served on a stunning veranda overlooking the ocean. The staff was very gracious and eager to please. The location was ideal; on the beach and close to all that Key West has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor and be sure to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here ten years ago and always said we would like to return as we loved it so much. So glad we did as it is every bit as good, if not better than we remembered. So glad to see Randall still here to give the tour. We had a beach front, ground floor room in La Mer. Beautiful! Breakfast overlooking the ocean was great - buffet with everything you you could want. We took afternoon tea a couple of times - even had a glass of champagne to celebrate the marriage they had there late afternoon. A lovely bonus. Bryan the Concierge was the most helpful - suggesting and booking restaurants which we would not have found or tried if not for him. Cafe Sole was the best! Loved our stay and would not hesitate to recommend either La Mer or Dewey House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.