We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #15 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Wigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A wonderful hotel, you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive. The rooms at la mer are absolutely lovely with every need taken care of. The tranquillity pool is really chilled. Service is great. We loved sitting out in the private porch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    45
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
330
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We just had a truly relaxing stay at the LeMar Hotel at the Southmost on the Beach. We had a 1st floor room that was very well appointed. The complimentary continental breakfast every morning saved us a bunch on breakfast and the food was quite good. In addition to the usual fruits, sweet rolls, cereals and yogurt, they also had fresh baked breads, quiche and they would whip up a waffle in a couple minutes. We mostly enjoyed the quiet, even though South Street is a somewhat busy street. Very nice pool area although the service was a little slow at times. For real quiet, walk out to the pier and grab a chair.So relaxing to listen to the waves and nothing else. The staff at LeMar was very friendly and accommodating. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband just returned from a 6 day stay at the Dewey House. Everything exceeded our expectations. Larry gave us a great recomendation as we arrived late on St Patrick;s Day. Sam was a wonderful Hostess, she had many suggestions that seemed JUST what we wanted!! Randell also worked breakfast and the tea, and had a delicious suggestion for dinner..Everyone went out of their way to make this a Wonderful 25th Wedding celebration! The location is perfect: we woke to the view of the ocean and a relaxed, tasty breakfast that included quiche, fresh fruit,yogurt, pasteries, fresh juice and coffee, we were able to enjoy the adventure of Duval St and when ready, retire to the quiet and relaxation of our room. We will certainly go back and encourage our friends to stay at the Lemur Dewey House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Dewey House for 4 nights while visiting Key West for a friend's wedding. We cannot say enough good things about this resort property. From our arrival, to our departure, we were made to feel as though we had nothing to worry about other than relaxing and having a good time. The staff is extremely accommodating and overly friendly. Everyone is in a good mood and chatty! We currently live in Europe and are not used to such good customer service so it was a very pleasant surprise. The accommodations at the Dewey House are 2nd to none. This place is rate #11 best B&B in Key West, I don't know how it isn't #1. You can see from my reviews, we travel A LOT so a good review from me means it is definitely a place worth visiting. The bed in our room (actually the one pictured here) was AMAZING!! We were so jet lagged from traveling from Europe and not sleeping for 24 hours and that bed made for the best night's sleep! The room is located on the 1st floor right next to the veranda where they serve breakfast and afternoon tea and is also just steps from the beach. A perfect location. The breakfast was wonderful and the waffles are definitely worth trying! The beach cafe and restaurant is also fantastic! We ate there several times and every time it was delicious. It is also very reasonably priced for being right on the beach. Again, the staff are super friendly and helpful. I cannot say enough good things about this resort. It is absolutely worth every penny it costs to stay there!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I just spent a wonderful 5 night stay at the Dewey House. Staff, room, amenities, location all a ten. We had a ocean view and loved sitting on our veranda each morning and evening. The breakfast each morning delicious. The only negative would be the bathroom as it was small. Think they are going to be remodeling. We would definitely return.
Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: loved our ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our get-away in Key West. We stayed at La Mer. Our room was perfect. The location on the 2nd floor overlooking the ocean could not have been better. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Our balcony was perfect as I spent much time there reading and people watching. We even got to be part of a wedding! The location was fantastic. We were able to conveniently walk to Duval Street nightly for eating, drinking and show seeing. It was great to be able to come home to peace and quiet after spending a few hours on the Northern part of Duval. Sam, was great at recommending places to eat and was always willing to answer any of our questions. The breakfast provided was delicious; quiche, waffles, fruit and assorted pastry, coffees and fresh juice. We would definitely go back and stay at this Southern location.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms, overlooking the ocean, in my opinion are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is my second time at La Mer and I am still pleased with the service and ammenties. Sam, one the concierge staff, was very accommodating when I called a week before arriving, asking about gluten free and lactose free food items at the hotel. She promptly went grocery shopping for such items so that I could have them at breakfast and tea time. Just make sure you let them know of food allergies ahead of time so they can purchase some items for you.

They also provided us with breakfast to go one morning since we had an early dive charter. Loved that. Randall is helpful and friendly as always and so is the rest of the staff. Great pool, bar and beach. I didn't have a problem with the noise despite the spring breakers and motorcycles. Key West is a busy town this time of year, but that's part of the fun... always something to do!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.