We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Mer has flair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #15 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“La Mer has flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

La Mer Hotel offers a comfortable stay in a renovated Victorian mansion right on the beach. Although we didn't have an ocean view, our room, Number 401, was spacious and well-decorated with a very large bathroom, as well as seating on a shared veranda. Although it was on the street side and also along the parking area for the Southernmost Inn on the Beach, we did not have a problem with noise. A small refrigerator and coffee maker housed in a large wardrobe were welcomed amenities, as were the beach towels. The air conditioner was a bit noisy and could probably use an overhaul. A continental breakfast of fruit, cereals, waffles, yogurts, cheeses, juices, coffee and teas is offered right next door at the Dewey House. It could use a bit of an upgrade in its offerings but it made a good start to the day especially as the veranda looks straight out to the beach. Guests at La Mer and Dewey House also have access to all of the amenities - gym facility, spa, swimming pools, concierge service, and so on - at both the Southernmost on the Beach and the Southernmost Hotel, adjacent sister properties. So, if you like the feel of a small, boutique hotel (bed and breakfast) but enjoy having access to a larger hotel's amenities, La Mer is a good option. The staff is exceptionally helpful, providing excellent service with courtesy and a smile. The location is at the quiet end of town but within walking and biking distance of restaurants and attractions. We would definitely enjoy the charms of La Mer again on another trip to Key West.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    46
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
348
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our return visit to the Dewey House was as special as the first. Top service, caring staff, clean, and lots of beauty and value to the property and location. We have already booked again for the next couple of years. Looking forward to many more visits in the future. Would recommend it to anyone, anywhere.

Room Tip: For real privacy, room #416 in the Dewey House was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dewey House on the recommendation of a friend who visits regularly. This was our first visit to Key West and now would not stay anywhere else. We booked an oceanview room and had a wonderful view of the beach and ocean from our balcony. We were first a bit taken aback at the perceived lack of privacy (we WERE right on the well-used beach, right next to the Beach Cafe) but very soon acclimated to the convenience. We were pleased that the sounds and music from the cafe was not audible from our room or balcony. The staff was wonderful - especially Sam whose warmth and enthusiasm made us feel right at home. The room was very comfortable, the service impeccable. Need recommendations for things to do or dining? The concierge was helpful with both recommendations and making reservations.

Although the breakfast options remained the same each day, the variety of offerings (fresh fruit, bread & rolls, cereal, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, orange juice, quiche, made-to-order waffles) was enough to satisfy without being boring. Afternoon tea brought sweets, fruit, cheese and crackers daily - a nice transition to a later dinner.

The grounds are well-maintained and we liked the amenities available through the Southernmost Collection (several pools, a fitness center, restaurants if you didn't want to leave the property.) It was a most excellent visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We made our reservation about 8 months in advance and requested a quiet room. We were given room 413 in Dewey House. This room was not quiet. The traffic in the morning was very loud. Even with the AC fan on high it did not block the noise. The noise also made it impossible to sit on our side veranda and read. They did offer to let us change rooms on the 2nd day but this would have meant packing and unpacking again. Since we stayed for 7 nights, this really was an inconvenience. That said, I would stay at Dewey House again but not in this room. The place is spotless and the beds are very comfortable. The staff from the time you check in until the time you leave are wonderful. Breakfast is great with many choices. The fresh fruit is wonderful. However, most of the time the espresso cand cappucino machine does not work. And I agree that it is inconvenient to have to wait until 8:30 for coffee. Your room does have a coffee maker but if you want to get coffee without waking your spouse, it's wait until 8:30. The beach is OK. The water is not very clean but there are pools and many areas to sunbathe. The grounds are very nice. A big drawback with the pool is that they allow babies with diapers in the pool. For me, this was a definite turn off. There is an adults only pool but it is across the street and not very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very sorry you were not completely delighted with your stay at our historic guest houses. Spring break is notorious for being a busy time in Key West and I am sorry your room did not provide you with the peace and quiet you were expecting. I realize it is very inconvenient to have to move to a different room during a long holiday but I am pleased our front desk staff attempted to address your displeasure by offering you the option of a quieter room. The manager of the guest houses apologized and confirmed that the espresso machine was inoperable one morning but assured me it was replaced with a fully operational espresso/cappuccino machine by tea time that afternoon. I am happy to share that your thoughtful critique has improved operations. Coffee is now offered at 8am every morning at our guest houses. Additionally we will be providing swim diapers for guests who forgot to pack them. We value our guests’ feedback and take their comments seriously as they can help us improve our services and every guest’s experience. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had 7 wonderful nights at the Dewey House Southernmost Resort. Incredible room, breakfast at the inn, concierge service was over the top, dining at the Southernmost Cafe was excellent. Tremendous service by the entire staff. Our first visit to Key West and we cannot wait to return and stay at Southernmost again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We chose a king bed room with ocean view at Dewey House for our first stay at Key West - and were delighted by it. Room 419 was on the second floor,nicely designed, with a balcony facing the ocean, spotless, with a very comfortable bed and quiet. We weren't bothered by any noises - not even by a wedding on the beach or the Beach Café. This charming, adults only B&B is very homey and private but with all the amenities of the Southernmost Hotel which are included in your stay, as are the breakfast and lovely afternoon tea on the 1st floor patio and the beach chairs on the beach conveniently at your back door. The staff is thoroughly gracious and helpful - I have to name Jenny and Sam here who took very good care of us.
The property is at a walking distance from Duval St. and all the 'action' and near the Southernmost Point.
This was the right place for us in Key West and we had a great time here.

Room Tip: Kingsize-bed room 419, second floor in Dewey House is quiet, with a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at the Dewey House for the second leg of our honey moon after the Sandals resort in the Bahamas, and enjoyed it immensly! We went in unseasonably hot weather so my only complaint was the pool situation. I crossed the street to the other pool on property, adults only, but it was surrounded by a wall so VERY hot on the pool deck for sunbathing/reading... had to leave after only about 20 minutes... dipping in the pool every few minutes just wasnt wnough.Nice touch though... a server came around for drink order and even brought popcicles! The main pool was VERY crowded and small and lots of kids playing and rough housing. I ended up going out on the pier where it was quiet and there was even a decent breeze.

The room itself was fantastic! Great bed and beautifully decorated! The bathroom was small, but that was OK for a B&B, and expected since our room was on a funny shaped corner. Minor problem was the window coverings... we were right on the walkway, so we had to be careful coming out of bathroom since bathroom door faced our windows and you could see in:)

Our favorite part about this hotel was the service! We were greeted with big smiles by everyone, and the innkeeper quickly introduced herself as we were wondering around, and explained how the breakfast and tea times worked, etc. Very helpful. It was great having a computer in the "lobby" area, and the continental breakfast was GREAT!!! Surpassed my expectations. Tea time was nice too, tograb a sweet bite and some cheese and crackers on the patio before heading out for dinner/evening advantures. When we arrived there was a bottle of champagne (honeymoon) and a hand written welcome note from hotel staff! We even got a handwritten Christmas note! The hotel is walking distance from the touristy part of town, but it was nice to be a little farther from the bars, etc. We found the best way to get around was to rent a bike... only $15 for 24 hours, so we could ride to bars at night and still have the whole day to explore with the bikes, for way cheaper than getting cabs or pedi-cabs. Overall, would definately recommend!

Room Tip: Shoot for a second floor to avoid foot traffic, and ocean front would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.