We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic house on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
283 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A romantic house on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This historic building (home of the philosipher Dewey) is your temporary home.. You have your superb buffet breakfast (lots of fruit and berries, too) on the veranda, you can relax on the veranda or in the living room during the day, or go the 10 meter to the beach in front. But remember to come back for the complimentary tea with cake and fruit in the afternoon. There is free parking and free WiFi. The hotel is part of the Southermost Hotel (right next door), and you can use all their facilities as pools etc. To rate this place lower than 5 stars is not an option :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    56
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
412
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent five wonderful days at La Mer and Dewey House. Breakfast on the patio, relaxing on the beach. Walking to dinner each night. Staff was friendly and always helpful. Afternoon tea was a nice touch. B&B on the beach inside a larger resort with pools and very nice cafe bar right on beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the La Mer Hotel. The inn is located on the quiet end of Duval Street and we enjoyed five relaxing days on the property and walking through the historic area of Key West. Sam and her staff went out of their way to answer questions, suggest activities, and attend to the little details that make us want to stay here again. The rooms are large, well-furnished and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and is served on an open-air porch at the Dewey House facing the beach - what a great way to start the morning! If you're looking for a warm-weather escape where you can stay busy with activities or just do nothing and relax, look no further than the La Mer Hotel and Dewey House.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool at the Southernmost Hotel and were were not bothered by any noise - the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The activities at Southernmost were wonderful. There were beach and pool activities nearly every day. The yoga was super and so was the water aerobics class. The staff at La Mer/Dewey House are like family. It allowed us to relax and not worry about a thing but deciding where to eat each evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Spent Super Bowl weekend at La Mer at Southernmost. What a beautiful, cozy, warm and quiet B&B! They have 2 additional properties adjacent to the B&Bs and share amenities. B&B guests enjoy a fabulous breakfast each morning on the deck overlooking the ocean. The only negative is I wished the coffee was available before 8:30am (the 24 hr coffee available at the pool was horrible). We never made it to the afternoon tea. The resort concierge, Bryan, offered great suggestions for activities and restaurants. The staff was extremely attentive. Poolside service was GREAT and dinner at Southernmost Beach Cafe was terrific. Fabulous resort with a great staff. We will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our second visit to La Mer certainly did not disappoint. The room was lovely and the service top notch. A special shout out to Sam for the hospitality during our stay, Greg for the friendly chat by the pool and Dexter for the warm welcome at check-in! The gentleman who fills in for Sam is such a friendly face at breakfast and I just love his personality. Seriously, the staff makes this place special!! We'll be back next year unless we can squeeze in another trip in 2013 :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We just returned from La Mer Hotel (one of the B&B's in the Southernmost Hotel Collection). It was incredible. I hated to leave. The room was great with a nice balcony with ocean view (even though it wasn't advertised as ocean view). We've stayed at other B&B's and the staff was always okay, but at La Mer, the staff and breakfast were truly excellent. Samantha was proactive in making sure we all had what we needed. They had fancy pastries, lots of fresh fruit and the best quiche I've ever had. Samantha would also make waffles if you wanted them. Breakfast was served each day in an open air terrace overlooking the beach and ocean. We definitely found paradise at the La Mer Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Hotel
Southernmost Hotel
#9 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,886 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pier House Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.