We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #13 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

La Mer and Dewey House is a small B&B that is part of a large hotel complex, so you get the benefits of the large hotel amenities combined with the intimacy of a B&B. You can take advantage of everything the Southernmost hotel has to offer and can then escape to the tranquility of the B&B.

The rooms are quite spacious and well equipped. The beds are extremely comfortable and the staff is quite friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast is served each morning on the patio overlooking the beach. The setting is beautiful, the continental breakfast is quite good and the coffee is excellent.

I have no complaints about my stay here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies overlooking the beach are the best rooms, but any room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    43
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
323
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Park Hills, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Nov 2012 for a special BD celebration. We LOVED it, so much better than staying in a hotel. We felt like guests in someone's very comfortable home. Breakfasts on the ocean-front veranda were heavenly - fresh fruits, juice, quiche, pastries, made-to-order waffles, and endless cappuccino. They serve afternoon tea too - what a treat. The staff is amazing, so helpful and pleasant. Beautiful place for a wedding (there was one the weekend we were there). The on-site restaurant was delicious. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We are always looking for that one great place to stay, that when we leave, we say, "Wow! We are coming back here soon!" La Mer and Dewey House is that place for us in Key West!

We stayed in Garden View room 408 of La Mer and it is really a Garden/Courtyard and partial beach view. Just perfect. The room is on the 2nd floor and it is just lovely. The balcony is huge and the room is perfectly sized with a nice table for 2, King sized bed, vaulted ceilings and spacious bathroom. The bed is VERY comfortable and the entire house is so quiet. It was booked solid, but we always felt like we were the only ones there.

The 2 houses have a unique "Victorian old meets modern day new" feel to them. Very tastefully decorated and cozy, yet with that great vintage feel. We met Sam (who was great!) when we first checked in and then we really didn't see many people after that. Perfect for us!

The houses sit on the quiet end of Duval Street and yet it's very easy to walk a short distance to everything. The beach was not crowded (South Beach) and while we had read about weddings blocking views and closing down the beach, we experienced none of that for our entire 5 day stay. The bar/restaurant on the beach was a great place for ocean side dinners and lunches. (Beach chairs are free for hotel guests).

It was nice to be able to access all of the Southernmost properties with our La Mer stay. We made a habit of watching the sunset from the pier at the southernmost because there was beautiful Luce music and I obstructed views! Just gorgeous!

Breakfasts at Dewey House were also well above and beyond a "continental" breakfast. There were made to order waffles, quiche, fresh fruit, cereals and juices. Extremely filling for a full breakfast. High Tea was also excellent. Nice finger sandwiches and desserts.

Truly, La Mer and Dewey House will not disappoint. The staff is exceptional and friendly and the location can not be beat. There has been some talk about the cost, but we did not run into a horrific price being quoted to us and we were able to take advantage of certain "specials" that we were told about when we booked our reservation.

Lastly, Our final night, we were lucky enough to be able to wish Sam and her Groom a wonderful wedding night and sent them a bottle of wine. She's a great asset, La Mer!! Congrats to them!

We'll be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a 6 night stay at the Dewey house with my boyfriend. We were only supposed to stay 5 but decided we didn't want to leave. The front desk was very helpful and let us keep the room we had been staying in. The room was small but very cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was huge. We had a private porch which we loved, and if we wanted to people watch we also allowed to use the front porch facing the street, and the Dewey terrace which was oceanfront. We enjoyed the breakfast that had everything you would need. I read some people complaining on here about it, but it was fruit, pastries that were delicious, cereal and bagels and breads. It was fine for us because we are light eaters in the morning. There were no grand slam meals because this is not Denny's. We had no problem putting away our own dishes since it was only a few feet from where you are sitting. It's not like they made you wash them! We spent most our time at the shores pool bar. Great staff there. We enjoyed all the facilities at the other Southernmost properties. The hammocks at the Southernmost on the beach were very relaxing and had servers ready to take your order. We really enjoyed La mer and Dewey house. We've stayed at other southernmost properties but chose this one because its more romantic and quiet. These properties are perfect, you don't even have to leave them to enjoy Key West. I haven't stayed at another hotel in Key West and I don't plan on it. You can't go wrong staying at anyone of their 3 hotels. Already planning a trip back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had mixed feelings about this place. Our room was beautiful and opened directly onto the beach. Their Southernmost Beach Café was only a few steps away and served delicious reasonably priced meals. It also incorporated an authentic American bar style area where many of the guests met and mingled. Also we had a problem with some lost luggage on arrival and after an initial hiccup at reception their duty manager, Sam, was exceptionally helpful in assisting us sort it out.
But…there were more negatives than I expected. Our room was pleasant, but smaller than the internet site led us to anticipate. Breakfast was basic – and that’s a generous description. Furthermore at the price being charged you certainly don’t expect to have to clear away your dishes personally!
Perhaps the biggest issue is the website leaves the impression that this property is a stand alone bed and breakfast operation. In fact quite to the contrary it is an integral part of the Southernmost hotel complex with completely shared facilities. All that you buying really is a nicer room and a small degree of seclusion which is certainly not the impression the website gives.

Room Tip: 402 opens onto beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at Bed and Breakfast.Deluxe breakfast and afternoon tea on terrace overlooking Atlantic Ocean.Other resturant and bar there also.Beautiful scenery and great place to walk,shop and relax! Would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

For us, it's perfect. You get the intimacy of a B&B and the amenities of a large resort. We've stayed in 7 different rooms, each unique and well done. There is no reason to look elsewhere. On the beach, 3 pools to choose from, really good open air restaurant/bar on the beach, great hosts in Sam and Randall, great activities director in Boomer, great breakfast, afternoon tea, turn down service. In the winter, sunset celebration with live music. And then there's Duval Street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.