We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good---But” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 15%
Ranked #17 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good---But”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have been coming here for over 10 years, and Randall is always over the top with service and his helpfullness. The Hotel is very clean. Our disappointment was with our room. We reserved a BALCONY and when we arrived our room was not ready. We needed to wait past the normal chekin time to receive a room that we didnt book, no balcony and it was a special occasion.

They could not help us as they were sold out, so my only warning is, make sure you check and re-check that you are getting the room you expect

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
I would like to thank you first for visiting us so often over the years. We love to see our returning guests; it can feel more like seeing old friends rather than simply guests. With 19 unique rooms between the La Mer Hotel and the Dewey House we always do our absolute best to honor every request we can. I am sorry you were disappointed; we ourselves are disappointed when our guests are not delighted with every aspect of their stay. I hope you will return to us and give us the opportunity to make your next visit not simply good but exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    46
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
349
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South of Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have planned going to Key West for a while, and we found the La Mer and Dewey House after a review of Tripadvisor and other sites. We will be back, and we would never stay anywhere else. A bit on the expensive side, it's similar to booking a balcony on your first cruise. You don't want to lower the bar by staying in an inside cabin on the next cruise!

Our room was a first floor garden view at the Dewey House, right off the common area. While we were next to the interior stairway, it never got noisy. Some observations:

Our room:
#114 was tastefully appointed, with a queen bed and a spacious bathroom. The room itself was a tad small, but the ambiance, and the private balcony made up for it.

Breakfast and Tea:
High quality continental breakfast from 8:30 - 10:30, from a local bakery (Croissants de France, I believe). Quiche comes out at 8:45. Freshed squeezed orange juice and great coffee / expresso help you start the day.

Facilities:
Three pools to use, with the tranqulity pool across the street being the quietest. The other two have bars, and are a little more boistrous. If you care to use South Beach, showing your room key gets you free chair rentals.

Grounds:
Clean and well maintained. We noted that landscaping was impeccable, and there was always somebody doing something (pruning, etc,) If you want to escape the Mallory Square craziness, the lawn at the adjoining property has live music as the sun sets.

Staff:
Our innkeeper was a great help every day, and the hotel concierge is on staff until 8:00pm. Both are very well versed in things to do around Key West

Duval Street:
About a 20 minute leisurely walk to the main Duval spots. It's much quieter at our end of Duval

Overall Assessment:
A perfect location in a fun city. The entire Southernmost Collection of hotels made this a very enjoyable first-time visit to Key West, and we plan to return.

Room Tip: If you want the B&B experience, and prefer walk in showers, book a room at La Mer. The Dewey Hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have been coming to the Southern Most Hotel for five years and it is still a great place to stay on the quiet end of Key West. The Dewey house is excellent!!
Everything the hotel has to offer is excellent!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 401 of La Mer for four nights last week. Loved our room, the location and the amenities. Specifically, we enjoyed the lovely breakfast, the live music on the West lawn during sunset, the hammocks and last but not least, the lounge chairs on the pier where we stargazed at night! The staff was top-notch from beginning to end. I also loved having Aveda hair and body products!!! My only suggestion is that you rent bikes from the place across the street instead of the at the hotel. The bikes weren't the greatest. We will most certainly stay here again next year!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I took the Ferry from Ft. Myers and it cost me only $100 one way. Nice trip. I got off the boat with my big suitcase and had lunch at Turtle Crawl. Dragged my bag to grocery nearby and got two bottles of Merlot for a good price. Called a cab (was there in under 5 minutes) and arrived at the B&B. They checked me in quickly and my room was gorgeous. The breakfasts were wonderful. I ate on the porch and looked at the ocean. Afternoon tea was a nice surprise. I never felt uncomfortable traveling alone. The taxi was only $7 from the ferry. The pedicab was $24 from Mallory Square to the B&B. It was worth it. A nice ride down Duval Street back to my beautiful B&B. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Key West IS paradise.

Room Tip: My room was the cheapest. My deck could still view the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

There is simply no better place to stay in Key West than La Mer and Dewey House. From the welcoming staff who exhibit radial hospitality to the charming appointments to the delicious breakfast to the perfect afternoon tea this is the place to recharge your batteries. All the flavor of tropical Key West without the noise! You can walk to the more raucous end of Duval Street and then retreat to the breezes of the private terrace overlooking South Beach. Hooray for Sam, Darlene, and Randall the finest innkeepers in the world!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Dewey House is in the best location if you want all Key West has to offer. You are within walking distance (or biking which is what I would recommend) of Duval, Mallory Square, Truman Annex, etc.and at the same time far enough away to enjoy the quieter parts. The beach is small but in Key West it is as good as it gets. The staff were wonderful. Randall especially made our stay comfortable. Wait staff at the pool and bars were great. The accomodations are top notch. My only suggestion would be a reconfiguation of the pool at the Southernmost on the Beach, the closest to Dewey House. Lounge chairs are very crowded and probably about half are in the shade most of the day. Overall, this is a definite on my list to return to.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.