We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Middle Aged Woman Visits Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Single Middle Aged Woman Visits Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I took the Ferry from Ft. Myers and it cost me only $100 one way. Nice trip. I got off the boat with my big suitcase and had lunch at Turtle Crawl. Dragged my bag to grocery nearby and got two bottles of Merlot for a good price. Called a cab (was there in under 5 minutes) and arrived at the B&B. They checked me in quickly and my room was gorgeous. The breakfasts were wonderful. I ate on the porch and looked at the ocean. Afternoon tea was a nice surprise. I never felt uncomfortable traveling alone. The taxi was only $7 from the ferry. The pedicab was $24 from Mallory Square to the B&B. It was worth it. A nice ride down Duval Street back to my beautiful B&B. Everyone was helpful and friendly. Key West IS paradise.

Room Tip: My room was the cheapest. My deck could still view the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    54
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
407
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

There is simply no better place to stay in Key West than La Mer and Dewey House. From the welcoming staff who exhibit radial hospitality to the charming appointments to the delicious breakfast to the perfect afternoon tea this is the place to recharge your batteries. All the flavor of tropical Key West without the noise! You can walk to the more raucous end of Duval Street and then retreat to the breezes of the private terrace overlooking South Beach. Hooray for Sam, Darlene, and Randall the finest innkeepers in the world!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Dewey House is in the best location if you want all Key West has to offer. You are within walking distance (or biking which is what I would recommend) of Duval, Mallory Square, Truman Annex, etc.and at the same time far enough away to enjoy the quieter parts. The beach is small but in Key West it is as good as it gets. The staff were wonderful. Randall especially made our stay comfortable. Wait staff at the pool and bars were great. The accomodations are top notch. My only suggestion would be a reconfiguation of the pool at the Southernmost on the Beach, the closest to Dewey House. Lounge chairs are very crowded and probably about half are in the shade most of the day. Overall, this is a definite on my list to return to.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

La Mer was the perfect bed and breakfast. We were warmly greeted by the front desk staff and the friendly and helpful concierge took us to our beautiful, stately, romantic room. Everything exceeded our expectations and the view was breathtaking! We enjoyed relaxing on our porch that was just a step onto the beach. At night, from our bed, we could hear the waves crashing the shoreline. Breakfast, which was included in our rate, was presented beautifully...a variety of delicious fruits, pastries, and quiches. We also enjoyed afternoon tea, complete with homebaked breads and cookies! Everything was absolutely wonderful at La Mer…our only complaint is that we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The Dewey House is the perfect blend of quaint Key West with resort service. Having grown up in North Florida, the Dewey House presents a 'Florida comfort' that most resorts have lost. I plan on staying again as well as recommending it to anyone whom asks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Great hotel with excellent service. This is the perfect part of Key West in a quiet and beautiful part overlooking the beach. I don't, however, recommend the spa

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the La Mer Hotel for three nights/four days earlier this month. We had booked a verandah room and was allocated what the floorplan in our room showed was the smallest room on the first floor. I would never have known as it was really spacious and comfortable; so the other rooms must be quite large. We were greeted by the innkeeper, Darlene, who was most welcoming and informative. The breakfasts were great with fresh fruit, quiche, waffles, cereal and pastries -- more than we could ever eat. It was also great to have access to the entire Southernmost Hotel collection amenities including the beach and three pools. In addition, the location could not be beat -- we parked our car for the entire time we were there and walked through the historic district. We also took the Old Town Trolley which stops right across the street from the hotel. This property was well worth what we paid and we would not hesitate to return. It was fantastic in every respect.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Hotel
Southernmost Hotel
#9 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,866 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pier House Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.