We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great long weekend Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Save Saved
You added La Mer Hotel and Dewey House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Mer Hotel and Dewey House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 15%
Ranked #21 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great long weekend Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

At the time I was more of a european vacationer, but since we only had a long weekend honeymoon my wife got me to go to Key West. I have been forever changed.

Thanks to the amazing hospitality, great location, and perfect weather in the Southernmost Resorts Key West is now my favorite spot ever. The rooms in the Dewey House were extremely clean and very nicely laid out. We were given a bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon as well.

We especially loved the free breakfast, not to mention the pool, pier and beach attached to the resort. We highly recommend hitting up the pier for some late morning cocktails and catching some sun.

We're hoping to make it back this year. Although this spot may be out of our budget, we may be able to justify it just for the knowledge that we will be taken care of.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great in these houses. The only difference is the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizpat55, Front Office Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow TripAdvisor travelers. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Honeymoon at the La Mer & Dewey. The entire staff feels honored that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    46
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
333
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed in Lamer house in garden view. The room was very nice and amenities are great. We had breakfast in the porch facing the ocean. I know some people complained about breakfast not having variety but it was a great selection. Very nice and helpful people.

In terms of attractions, Lamer is just two blocks away from the Southern Most point. However, it is about 15 minutes to the north end of Duval street where most activities are. Since the hotel is located on a quieter side of town, we never had problem with noises. I take out one star because of the price. We paid around 250$ per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

It was the best vacation and the best place I have ever stayed at. It was everything and more than I had hoped for. The cleanliness and the quality were outstanding. The service and the staff could not have been better. It was perfect. I don't have one bad thing to say about it.

Room Tip: Every room is well situated and some have better views then others. All are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I travel often and usually spend at a bed and breakfeast whenever possible
The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House is the B and B part of the souhternmost hotel co. in the southern tip of keywest.
room service superb. never disturbed us when we slept after 10 am. always had bed turned in afternoon.
wifi/ parking free
The B and Bwas definitly worth the extra as it was much more quiet and you had access to all amenties of the complex plus a great breakfeast and an afternoon tea. Great cappichino machine as well.
the Southernmost on the Beach also v nice as we investigated this but more crowded and and lots of kids.
More personal touch with the innkeeper (Sam was superb) and fewer guest rooms in the B and B
No problems with a.c. and plumbing. Only 1 day did i have problem recieving wi fi. but there is computer with printer downstairs ava 24 hours.
Great locale as the whole complex is situated on the south end(quiet) of Duval
rec you rent scooter or bike. .The Tropical is located 200 feet from dewey house but plenty of rentals throughout keywest.
great restaurants all over and all of innkeepers as well ashotel employees (Inc maids)
were extremely helpful
we actually at other hotels while visiting but we are definitly returning if they have availabilty at the B and B

Room Tip: you won't go wrong with either the B and B or the Hotel. Both good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at La Mer. The service was excellent, the entire staff was very attentive to our needs. It was a bit of a splurge because the rooms are pricey, but our room (#404) was really quite lovely and had a nice ocean view.
Breakfast was really good, lots of variety. It was served until 10:30am which gave us time to workout and take a dip in the pool before we ate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizpat55, Manager at La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the La Mer Hotel & Dewey House. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

A quaint little cottage right on the beach. The facililty was immaculate and decorated tastefully. The view from the veranda where you ate your breakfast was a beautiful way to start your day. The staff is incredible from the inn keepers, housekeeping and conceirge. Their main goal was to make sure your stay was everything you wanted it to be and more.

Room Tip: Book your stay by phone
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the La Mer Hotel of the Southernmost Hotel Collection for our honeymoon. The room was exquisite, the staff was exceptional, the food was mouthwatering (and affordable), and the ocean was just as it should be. On one of the few natural beaches in Key West, this hotel was perfect. My experience at this hotel cannot be matched by any other. Because of my stay here, it will be difficult to travel anywhere else! I feel refreshed and happy. If you are interested in a vacation that exceeds your interpretation of Corona commercials, stay at this hotel (or any of the Southernmost hotels)!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Mer Hotel and Dewey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Hotel and Dewey House

Address: 504-506 South St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mer Hotel and Dewey House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West's only beachfront bed and breakfast. Enjoy complimentary gourmet, continental breakfast and tea hour daily on the Dewey Terrace. The La Mer Hotel and Dewey House are part of the Southernmost Hotel Collection. As our guest, you will be able to use the facilities at the other two properties including access to three pools, an oceanfront tanning beach, petite spa, 3 bars and enjoy daily entertainment and on-site activities. All included in a $25 plus tax daily resort fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Mer Hotel and Dewey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Hotel and Dewey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.