We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
416 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 877-761-3456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 338 Activities in Key West
Type: Movie Theaters, Fun & Games
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropic Cinema is South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex cinema screening 1st-run indie, foreign and documentary films and Hollywood blockbusters every day. With 4 theaters, state-of-the art projection services and the best concessions stand anywhere (we serve wine and beer and drizzle our popcorn with 100% melted butter), it's no wonder Florida Monthly magazine named Tropic Cinema "Florida's Best Cinema" for four consecutive years.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a GREAT place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't let the outside appearance of the building fool you. Once you walk inside, you will see comfortable sitting areas throughout the theater, a concession stand that offers more than the usual snacks. Friendly staff and very clean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    117
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best independent theatre in the state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This charming venue for both studio and independent movies has several small theaters and often sponsors special festivals and screenings on particular themes. It has a flavor of Old Hollywood in the decor, and the Zabar's cafe features that famous New York coffee along with soft drinks, wine, beer, various snacks and, of course, freshly made popcorn. It actually did win "best movie theatre" in some state magazine competition, and it's easy to see why. Love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wife and I caught a movie here while on vacation. Maybe the nicest place you will ever watch a movie. Nicely appointed lobby, bathrooms were immaculately clean. We had a bottle of wine while we watched the movie. Great gourmet doughnut shop next door too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favorite theatre, the best movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It is nearly the only theatre I will go to, with a rare exception. Great clean multi theatre, Indy movies, great snacks, good popcorn. In old town, highly recommend

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely cinema!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am SUCH a big fan of this place, it's a cute and charming movie theatre, it feels like you are back in the 50's, but with all the latest technology and comfort in every way! The staff is polite and friendly and obviously very proud of their cinema, they know so much about cinematography - and the Tropic Cinema also shows Art Haus Films, European films, as well as non-blockbuster films; which I think is great! However, you will also find the usual Hollywood-movies here.
What I really like is that you may buy a gl of wine here, and bring it with you into the theatre. You may also enjoy cheese & crackers, hummus & crackers, as well as the good bag of popcorn with or without butter. I came here several times during my visit to Key West. Love this gorgeous cinema!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.