We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best independent theatre in the state” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
416 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
(877) 761-3456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tropic Cinema, South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex, screens Indie and foreign films, Hollywood blockbusters and documentaries every day. Florida Monthly magazine, polling its 800,000 readers, has named the Tropic "Best Florida Cinema" for 4 consecutive years.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best independent theatre in the state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This charming venue for both studio and independent movies has several small theaters and often sponsors special festivals and screenings on particular themes. It has a flavor of Old Hollywood in the decor, and the Zabar's cafe features that famous New York coffee along with soft drinks, wine, beer, various snacks and, of course, freshly made popcorn. It actually did win "best movie theatre" in some state magazine competition, and it's easy to see why. Love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    91
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wife and I caught a movie here while on vacation. Maybe the nicest place you will ever watch a movie. Nicely appointed lobby, bathrooms were immaculately clean. We had a bottle of wine while we watched the movie. Great gourmet doughnut shop next door too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My favorite theatre, the best movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It is nearly the only theatre I will go to, with a rare exception. Great clean multi theatre, Indy movies, great snacks, good popcorn. In old town, highly recommend

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely cinema!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am SUCH a big fan of this place, it's a cute and charming movie theatre, it feels like you are back in the 50's, but with all the latest technology and comfort in every way! The staff is polite and friendly and obviously very proud of their cinema, they know so much about cinematography - and the Tropic Cinema also shows Art Haus Films, European films, as well as non-blockbuster films; which I think is great! However, you will also find the usual Hollywood-movies here.
What I really like is that you may buy a gl of wine here, and bring it with you into the theatre. You may also enjoy cheese & crackers, hummus & crackers, as well as the good bag of popcorn with or without butter. I came here several times during my visit to Key West. Love this gorgeous cinema!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go when it's slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I really like seeing movies at the Tropic, but my boyfriend prefers to go to the Regal in New Town. Valid points on both sides, I think. Pros: the staff is always super nice. Like when my boyfriend asked for a lot of butter on his popcorn, the man behind the counter put alternating layers of butter and popcorn in the bag. Awesome! I also like their other snacks, and the $14 large glass of wine is a great deal... literally half a bottle of wine! Popcorn and a candy bar for him, wine and cheese for me. Everyone is happy!
When it's not crowded, I like being at a smaller theater. It has a nice, quaint feeling and so much character. However, the matinee on a rainy Sunday was PACKED with people, and the small theaters get a little over-crowded. Additionally, I don't think they have the most up-to-date technology for things like 3D and sound. So I would probably recommend that you go to the Regal for big blockbuster action films. Which you would probably do, anyway.
So it's smaller and older. But other than that, I love it! My favorite place to see a movie. Just depends on what you are looking for.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Manager at Tropic Cinema, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear PKC334,

We love that you’re a Tropic Cinema fan – and we have to admit that we love the idea of you and your boyfriend debating the relative merits of Key West’s two movie theaters. Let me help settle this argument.

First of all, Tropic Cinema is a nonprofit art house cinema, so in addition to selling movie tickets and popcorn – yes, it IS the best popcorn in this part of the world with 100% real butter – we host film classes for the college, we bring filmmakers from all over the country to show their films, we present programs for Keys nonprofits. We do a lot of things that don’t earn us money, but improve our community. Most of our staffers are really volunteers – selling tickets and concessions just for the love of the Tropic and the movies. I think that’s amazing.

Now, let’s talk about technology. We have the very latest, up-to-the-minute projection and sound systems in theaters today. Ever notice how bright and clear Tropic films are on the screen? We use higher lumen projectors than commercial theaters. Ever notice how perspective-rich and crisp our 3D films are? We use a polarizing technology with glasses that react to the film instead of the “passive” color-blocking 3D glasses you get in other theaters.

Thanks for noticing our nice staff, our popcorn and out great wine deals. We work hard to make the Tropic your cinema choice. I hope this settles it once and for all! Thank you for being a Tropic fan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropic Cinema to your Saves list