We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great non-profit cinema” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
416 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
(877) 761-3456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tropic Cinema, South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex, screens Indie and foreign films, Hollywood blockbusters and documentaries every day. Florida Monthly magazine, polling its 800,000 readers, has named the Tropic "Best Florida Cinema" for 4 consecutive years.
Key West
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great non-profit cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Grab a glass of wine at the bar and enjoy a current film. The Tropic exhibits many first-run Hollywood films and interesting features that you won't see at Regal. Located in downtown Key West, it's an easy walk or bike ride.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    91
    14
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Fun vintage theatre. The individual theatres are small and intimate. The look is very art deco, old Florida. worth taking a look.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Loved coming here. The people working here really know how to treat you! Such a CLEAN place. You can get wine, beer, cookies, candy, hummus, fresh popcorn and real butter, all kinds of flavored pop corn salt. It really was enjoyable on a rainy afternoon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, Manager at Tropic Cinema, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Coca-Cola Freak, Many thanks for your visit to the Tropic Cinema. We like to think it's a pretty special place. We're keenly aware that you can see movies almost anywhere -- on pay-per-view, on your cell phone, in an airplane -- so we do our best to make your Tropic experience the best we can. That means not only great films, but also friendly staff and volunteers and clean restrooms and theaters. (Nothing can put me off a movie like a sticky restroom floor.) So thank you for noticing our efforts. We hope we'll see you again on your next visit to Key West.

Best, Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My hubbie and I love this cinema. It shows all the big-box high dollar movies and lots of the great movies that the other cinemas won't carry because they are foreign films or lower budget but fantastic. And, where else can you get a glass of wine, European chocolate and the best buttered popcorn? Sometimes, it's where I go for dinner and "of course, a movie!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Cute, Quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is a great movie theatre within Walking Distance in most of Old Town. They serve all the normal concessions, plus alcoholic beverages and popcorn seasonings. Key West Snowbirds/locals can sign up for a pass to help reduce the price of tickets. Generally the movie showings are artisty or movies that have been out for quite a few months, but are no longer playing at the Regal (New Town). It is a not-for-profit too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tropic Cinema to your Saves list