We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Cinema

Tropic Cinema
416 Eaton Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 877-761-3456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 326 Activities in Key West
Type: Movie Theaters, Amusement
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropic Cinema is South Florida's only nonprofit multiplex cinema screening 1st-run indie, foreign and documentary films and Hollywood blockbusters every day. With 4 theaters, state-of-the art projection services and the best concessions stand anywhere (we serve wine and beer and drizzle our popcorn with 100% melted butter), it's no wonder Florida Monthly magazine named Tropic Cinema "Florida's Best Cinema" for four consecutive years.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was a delight to be in this movie theatre. Small and intimate but with a big screen. Like you are in your own screening room (if you were rich enough).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    111
    19
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great cinema”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A varied programme, intimate theaters and knowledgeable staff help to make this cinema a very good experience for those who like a short break from the bars, beaches and restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited Key West for 5th consecutive year, and this is the first time I ever saw a movie on the Island. Passed by this place every year, and just never felt the inclination to see a movie. Pleasantly surprised by the decor and friendliness of staff. Nice size theatre screen and comfortable seats. I will definitely visit again next year.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

quirky theatre, offbeat movies, marilyn monroe statue. I kind of never want to go to another movie theatre.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wine, Beer and a Movie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I always like the Florida movie theatres where you can have a drink and see a movie. Tropic Cinema has some very unique reading material and a nice homey seating area in the waiting area. I enjoyed reading the books and magazines here. I would like to see some special pricing nights as I thought the tickets were a bit steep.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropic Cinema also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Tropic Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.