We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Key West B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pensione Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Pensione Inn to your Saves list
La Pensione Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   809 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect Key West B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We relaxed at La Pensione for three nights. Our group had three rooms. My room was #9 and had three sets of French doors leading to a gorgeous wrap around balcony. We enjoyed the beautiful Key West Christmas parade which runs directly in front of La Pensione from my balcony.

Cindy and Freida were absolutely amazing. Cindy made us 'love' waffles for breakfast and provided great advice on destinations, directions, restaurants and attractions. We can't speak highly enough of the professionalism and hospitality shown to us by Cindy and the team.

Cindy's brother is a fantastic musician and plays regularly on Duval Street. He's a true joy to watch.

We will definitely stay at La Pensione next time we are in Key West and plan on reserving all three upstairs balcony rooms.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the most requested; however, you can hear the street noise and want to make sure you close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
4
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed at La Pensione for 4 nights and couldn't have felt more welcome. Cindy and Frieda were friendly and helpful. It was like visiting old friends. The building was beautiful and close to everything. We had room 4 which has 2 double beds and opened onto the pool, perfect for a late night swim and one last cocktail. Breakfast was delicious and the coffee I could easily become addicted to. I will be back,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, ky
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at La Pensione 3 nights, and had a wonderful visit. Cindy and Freida were both very hospitable and helpful. We had room 7, which opens onto the shared balcony. There was still quite a bit of street noise, and they do keep the balcony lights on all night for security, but we slept quite well, and the bed was nice and firm. Breakfast was lovely, what a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The B&B is nice, clean, situed in an hisotoric building very charmant, the rooms are large.
The breakfast is delicious, mainly the waffles and including bread, fruits, juice.
La Pensione is well located, only a few minutes by foot from the main street of Key West, Duval Street.
Parking is easy and the staff is so helpful.
I really recomend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed for just a couple of days september 2012.
It had a excellent room, bikes for rental and a little tiny pool.
Only bad side of it is we had to be quiet after 10pm and close the door on the way out.
Breakfeast was allright with fruits, pankake, bagels and juice but we couldnt serve ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrizo Springs, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

If you appreciate the older coastal home then you will enjoy your stay here. This charming B and B was overflowing with hospitality and warmth from the first phone call. We were able to lounge at the pool or walk to the shops and restaurants down the street. Our last day was topped off with Cindy's 'love' waffles. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in room number 9 great room with two french doors that lead out to a wrap around balcony. Great breakfast and the staff was very friendly. They even called me when I left my Kindle there. I was able to get it back before we left Key West. I cannot not say enough good things about La Pensione. Internet was fast and the bed was very comfortable. Room number 9 is great but keep in mind that it does face Truman Ave (US 1) so you will hear the traffic at night. Also, the balcony lights are on so you have a "night light". Great ceiling fans make the room nice and cool. I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Address: 809 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pensione Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.