We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pensione Inn

Save Saved
You added La Pensione Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Pensione Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   809 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
“Very Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in room number 9 great room with two french doors that lead out to a wrap around balcony. Great breakfast and the staff was very friendly. They even called me when I left my Kindle there. I was able to get it back before we left Key West. I cannot not say enough good things about La Pensione. Internet was fast and the bed was very comfortable. Room number 9 is great but keep in mind that it does face Truman Ave (US 1) so you will hear the traffic at night. Also, the balcony lights are on so you have a "night light". Great ceiling fans make the room nice and cool. I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    50
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
4
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sprang-Capelle, NL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We loved our stay at “la pensione”. Host Cindy made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was good, especially the waffles. Pool was big enough for a good swim. Rooms were very spacious and clean. There was no TV in the room but that made our stay even more relaxing. Wifi reception in the room was good. Big plus was the fact that we could rent bikes at “la pensione”. Location is fine; close to attractions but not in a very busy street. Next time when we visit Key West we will certainly want to stay in “la pensione” again.

Greetings from your Dutch friends, Cindy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A wonderful 9- room mansion/in with wonderfuly charm and perfect location a few blocks off Duval Street. Our room was very spacious (#9) with access to the wrap around balcony just outside one of 3 french doors complete with table and chairs. Kick pack with a glass of wine or your breakfast and people watch. This was truly a nice place to begin or end your day. Only draw back and certainly not anything against the inn or staff is that during the holiday weekend the traffic was a little noisier than normal as well as the rooster that liked to begin his day around 4:30 -7:00 or so. Got to love Key West! So if you want a little more peace and quiet, request one of the back of the house rooms. The staff is wonderful. Cindy and Frieda were both so gracious in tending to our needs and provided great recommendations on places to go. We loved the waffles everymorning! No need to venture out anywhere for breakfast (juice, coffee, fruit, bagels, cerial, hardboiled egga & waffles)--it was perfect. The pool area was nice, relaxing and secluded--I only wish we had taken more time to hang out there. You can always use just one more day in Key West. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks again ladies for making us feel welcome. We had a blast!

Room Tip: If you want a little more peace and quiet, request one of the rooms toward back of house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at La Pensione for a long weekend! I have already recommended it to all of my friends and family. The service was absolutely outstanding and the amenities were wonderful. Loved the convenience of renting bikes right from the Inn and the fabulous location just a few blocks from Duval Street. Great for friends or a romantic getaway. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location, just 2 minutes walking from Duval Street (the centre of the island).
Atmosphere is very familiar and the 2 ladies who manage the hotel were both extremely kind.
Price in August is fair, I can't say the same for the high season one (just read on a paper).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you're a B&B fan, then you'll enjoy your stay here. The staff knows how to treat a guest. Very welcoming, comfortable place - we felt very at home. From the room photos, we were expecting more than we got for a room but it was clean and the bed was comfortable with charming double doors out to the balcony. Breakfast was good with a fresh, homemade waffle, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, etc., and a variety of charming places to eat it with downstairs balcony, upstairs balcony, poolside, front porch, dining room. I enjoyed great conversation with Freida in the morning and Cindy in the afternoon - both are very helpful if you have any questions or need anything at all! Very good air-conditioning in the room. Great location 3 blocks from everything yet not surrounded by craziness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Gerat place to stay I remember when it first opened Joe and Vincent were great owners and it is still the same. Nice to come back to as room that 's not noisy. And go to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Address: 809 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pensione Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.