We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coconut Grove Stinks!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Tranquility Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquility Guesthouse
815 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Coconut Grove Stinks!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2006

Stayed here a while back and had one of the worst experiences ever in a hotel. Booked for 3 nights...got there and checked in with no problems. Unpacked the bags in the nice but tiny room and went out for a while. Came back to the room and nothing was there!!! Went to front desk and they told me that they packed our bags and that we had to go somewhere else....they had overbooked for the weekend. Furious, I told them that we already checked in and how dare they do this to us. They said they booked the room to other guests further in advance than we did and that since those guests had nowhere else to go and were complaining, they took precedence over us. How dare they!!! Not only that, but they didn't even try to find anywhere else for us to go. We had to do that ourselves. So we did. And when I was unpacking at the next place I found that a few articles of expensive clothing were missing. Simply outrageous. I SOOOO hope this place has changed management since then. The treatment I received bordered on criminal.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

We stayed at the Coconut Grove Inn for 5 gay days and had a great time - the property is beautiful, directly linked to the Oasis next door. In total you have access to 4 pools, 3 hot tubs, spread across 4 poolside areas. There's stairways, sundecks, a porch with big swinging hammock, lots of trees and lush tropical plants, plus a nice old facade - it was even prettier than we were expecting based on the website.

The whole place had a friendly vibe, and guests were mingling and arranging dinners and play dates in no time. A poolside drink hour, snacks, and nice long breakfast period helped. The pool and hot tub areas remain open all night, and were fairly busy at all hours, gay men being the... social creatures that they are.

The only drawback was the housekeeping - our room (310, top floor) was in dire need of vacuuming and a new carpet; even found a potato chip left between the bed cover and blanket. Luckily we're not overly fussy about that sort of thing, but at $200+ a night you do expect some basics to be taken care of.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2005

I enjoyed my stay here. I had a nice room upstairs in the front (#306 or #307, I don't remember which), with a large front porch and a hammock. It was very quiet here when I went in December - perhaps too quiet, it was slow season, but it was very relaxing. Guest have access to the Oasis next door (owned by the same people as Coconut Grove and the Coral Tree across the street - so it pretty much seems like one complex). I liked the pool at the Oasis the best, and very much enjoyed going there every day for a dip to cure my hangover. The grounds were beautiful. The staff was friendly. It was a short and pleasant stroll to the bars and restaurants on Duval Street. I would consider staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2004

In June 2003 I also stayed in the Treetops room in this rather quaint old building. I found the staff very helpful and pleasant. The room as a previous reviewer has said had a strange layout at the top of the building, with a full length mirror that could catch you by surprise in the middle of the night! My favourite aspects were the private balcony and general peace of the place. I liked it so much that I am going back this year in June 2004 - the first time I have ever re-visited a holiday location!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2004

Stayed there in May 2003, what a mistake. Ownership and management had changed from a previous visit in 2001, and not for the better. It may have been gay, but it certainly wasn't friendly! The first place my boyfriend and I have ever checked out of DAYS early. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2003
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2003

I stayed here with my over New Year 2002/3 in the Tree Tops room - unusual layout at the top of an old building with a separate bedroom, a kitchen and a large sitting room - an a little roof terrrace high up overlooking the island.

Very friendly place - lots of free booze every day and a big basket of sweets and party favours! Helpful staff (who spend most of their time trying to find the house cat!)

About 5 mins walk from the centre of Duval St - Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tranquility Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Guesthouse

Address: 815 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Tranquility Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Guest House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.