We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Guesthouse
Save
You added Tranquility Guesthouse to your Saves list
815 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Coconut Grove Guesthouse is the most newly renovated of this Oasis/Coral Tree/Coconut Grove complex. It was very comfortable, and nicely redone. They were able to keep the charm of the older home but, still have modern ammenities.

We stayed in room number 311 and it overlooked the pool. However, it did not have a private deck. The bathroom was very nice....tile floor, tile shower, and granite countertop. The room has a flat screen t.v. mounted to the wall....but, limited channels and picture quality. The bed was adequate with nice linens.

The entire complex is very large, and has multiple levels of decks. Some rooms having their own private decks, some not. There are also 4 pools in the complex. When we wanted privacy we utilized the pool at the coconut grove and would most times, be the only ones using it. When we felt more "social", we would use the pool at the Oasis, as that seemed to be the gathering spot for most guests.

Our room was basically clean. There were a couple of bottles of shampoo under the sink stand along with dust that were never removed, and some corners with dust etc.... In addition, when the curtains were opened fully, they would slide off of the track....just little things here and there. Overall, the room was cleaned timely and regularly, and no problems with fresh towels, etc...

All of the staff at the hotel were nice and helpful. We locked ourselves out 4 times...(the door slams shut behind you)...each time the staff was very friendly and gave us no attitude for our clumsiness.

We were given fruity drinks each day at poolside around 3 p.m. That was nice...but, basically only two rounds. Also at 6 p.m. they would serve wine and appetizers. The wine was Copper Ridge brand....and the appetizers were frozen food warmed in an oven....not the highest quality...but, hey it was free and platable.

Breakfast each morning were packaged bagels, boxed cereal, and some sort of banana bread, etc...two mornings there were hard boiled eggs. They also served orange juice, milk and coffee. Again, not the highest quality, homemade fare....but, it was free, palatable and convenient.

We arrived, Wednesday, July 22nd and left Wednesday, July 29th. I understand this is the off season. On Wednesday and Thursday there were only 10-15 people in the entire complex. Friday and Saturday there were maybe 35 people, and Sunday people began to leave again.

Most people during the week were over the age of 50. On the weekend there was more diversity to the ages...but, few if any under 35 years old. This was not a pretty-boy, circuit crowd. But, everyone was very nice and we made some great friends.

Also, beware ...a couple of locals arrived and stayed Friday and Saturday....their antics were more of what you would read about at the Island House. We understand they frequent this place fairly regularly on the weekends...and, it really changed the dynamics of the place for the late nights they were around.

Anyway, bottom line....this place has great potential. It is large... great decks, pools, staff. However, it appears that the owners may not be putting money into the upkeep of the property. While our room had been re-done in the past few years after a fire, there were still major stains on the carpets...there were scuff marks on the walls in the halls....the pool shower area at the Oasis, had new tile...but, it didn't match the flow of the rest of the complex....and the area around it had been primed, but not painted....it appears that they are simply doing bare-bones maintenance and not really re-investing in the property. This gives me concern about the longevity of the place

With all of that said....I would definitely stay here again.....it was a fun time, fun people, nice staff and mostly clean.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coconot Grove for 5 nights in early May. We have to say - we had a great time and will definitely be back. We're glad we stayed at Coconut Grove, as the rooms seemed more updated than the Oasis. Coconut Grove also seemed less cruisy. The pool at C.G. was dead and the hottub was very quiet, so it gave us some time to be alone.

The breakfast was nice - fruit, yogurt, bagels...nothing fancy but it did the trick. We only stayed for wine one night. There was meatballs and cheap wine - fine if you're on a budget, but we wanted to walk down and see the sunset.

The location is fantastic! Everything is walkable. The front deak will help you make reservations, but they don't go out of their way to help. The organic salad/sandwich place next door is great!

Overall, we were there to relax and spend time with each other and we felt very comfortable. We are both in our early 30's and found this place to be the best for spending time in a gay establishment without it being overly cruisy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

I just returned from a 4 day getaway to Key West, staying at Coconut Grove for the first time. Having stayed at Equator and Alexanders and visited Island House, I have now seen the majority of the Key West gay accomodations.

Overall, it was a great stay. Unfortunately, I have stayed at Pineapple Point in Ft. Lauderdale, so I have been spoiled. Pineapple Point is one of the nicest hotel experiences, let alone gay inn experiences, I have had the pleasure of enjoying. From a service, cleanliness, details, and overall experience perspective, Coconut Grove has a long ways to go come close to that experience. However, by Key West inn standards, I think it is a great choice.

All of the other reviews are accurate: Coconut Grove has been remodeled, and is steps above from a decor and modern amenities standard from Oasis and Coral Tree (I did not see a Coral Tree room, but I did see an Oasis room...Hey- it was vacation!); breakfast is very standard (as opposed to hot dishes and other offerings at Equator and Alexanders); happy hour is self serve wine with no other choices (as opposed to the full bar of Alexanders, or the hosted cocktail hour with blender drinks at Equator); I thought the service was almost non-existent... was never really greeted by any staff members during my stay, there is no one at breakfast or happy hour, they didn't ask if I needed assistance in making any plans or reservations... I did see others taken to their rooms with bag assistance and a tour of the property- I didn't have that service, but others did.

All that being said, I would stay here again. With the three properties being joined, there are lots of guys to mix and mingle with; the decor, design and modern feeling of Coconut Grove is very, very nice (which puts it ahead of Equator); and the pools and sun decks give lots of room for sun and play.

It's no Pineapple Point, but is a great choice in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. The rooms are stylish and well appointed. We only had a small room but more than satisfactory for 2 nights. Free frozen drinks between 3pm-4pm and wine etc at 7pm. Todd was very helpful. Parking was available outside on the road free of charge. Even though it said waiting 30 minutes Todd said thats fine as they rent the sign. Most of the activity is at the attached Oasis which is accessible. The pool and hot tub at coconut grove were hardly used only by us.. almost a private pool and tub!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis Tn
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed here on a trip to Key West the week before Thanksgiving. The accomodations were nice - not perfect. On the negative side the property could use just a little maintenance and someone with some decorating taste to have a go at the rooms. Green and wine bedspread, blue couch with orange throw pillows and yet another mismatched color of carpet - it is an insult to the eyes. But on the positive side - The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and supplies refilled daily. The atmosphere was terrific and friendly. The complimentary breakfast, afternoon cocktails and evening wine and Hors d'ourvers (sp?) were nice and these things gave us a chance to meet and talk with the other guests. This socialization time was very enjoyable. Overall - don't let the few little negatives on this property deter you as the positives of staying here well outweigh any negatives and make it a terrific place to stay and enjoy Key West. Yes we would certainly stay here again on another trip!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjinsacto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed in the Tree Top Suite, and were very happy with the room accommodations. The Coconut Grove was remodeled a couple of years ago, and is the nicest of the 3 properties.

My only complaint was the lack of keeping things stocked up at the breakfast, and the service of the rooms was a little less than I like to see.

The staff was wonderful, and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests around the pool, at breakfast, and at cocktail hour.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms have been renovated recently and are really nice. We were very pleasantly surprised by the updates. The hotel is centrally located. They rent out bikes there on property, which makes it really easy to grab one and enjoy riding around the island. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Beautifully renovated rooms
  • Disliked — A/C struggled a little keep the room cool, but it's key west and july, so not too suprising
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquility Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Guesthouse

Address: 815 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Guest House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.