We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and comfortable bed but LOTS of ants” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Chelsea House Pool & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice location and comfortable bed but LOTS of ants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

First impression...HOT. They leave the doors to the Inn open. But, the AC in the rooms worked really well. So, the sweltering Key West heat didn't make it into the rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The location was great and we lucked out with one of the three on location parking spaces.

The big problem was that the bathroom was quite literally crawling with ants. They seemed particularly keen on the bar of soap that the hotel provided. We only stayed one night and didn't bother telling the management though. It didn't have a major impact on our stay because they seemed to remain in the bathroom.

A smaller problem was that the breakfast choices were limited and overall poor in quality. I've had a better continental breakfast at a roadside motel. Not at all what I'd expect from a historic inn.

While there were some people with children in the inn, be aware that there is a clothing optional sun deck that is visible from many of the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We're glad that you enjoyed our super comfy beds and the great location of the Chelsea House. We do leave the front door of the main house that leads to the lobby open, simply because when it is closed it looks like the inn itself is closed! When the door is open, it looks welcoming and guests know we are open for business. This time of year in the tropics when we have scattered rain showers, the tiny little "sugar ants" try to sneak indoors. They're particularly attracted to sweets, so when guests have open boxes of cookies, donuts, etc. in the rooms, it's harder to deter them. It's the same in our homes for those of us who live here, which is why everything is better when kept in Tupperware. Thankfully they're small and harmless, and if guests don't have open food throughout their rooms, we rarely see them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    167
    77
    69
    25
See reviews for
41
276
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed her for a couple nights and absolutely loved it!! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful when we were trying to find good places to eat and visit. Hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area. Very close to Duval St. Check-in and check-out was very fast and easy. We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is outdated and in need of repair. The shower in our bath had filth between the tiles both nights of our stay. They credited us one night should have credited us both for these unsanitary conditions. Breakfast was poor also not a good value at all unless you don't care about personal hygiene or outdated sub par

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Laurie,

The bathroom in the room you were in has since been re-grouted and is in tip-top shape. I wish you would have mentioned your displeasure when you were here, as we could have easily moved you to another room. When you subsequently wrote to the property manager after your departure, she did indeed refund you for one of the nights of your stay. Your written response clearly thanks her very much, you stated that you were happy and would definitely return to stay with us again, and in fact you signed off with "Have a Blessed Day!" You can see why we are confused that you turned around and wrote this review, in light of this correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

First off, if you are not anorexic, and if you have back problems, this place is NOT for you. The shower is the smallest I have ever seen, you can't bend (so ladies forget about shaving) and you can barely turn around and wash your back. It's gross enough staying at this very outdated hotel, let alone having your body touch their nasty shower walls. The tile in the bathroom is absolutely disgusting, I was gagging as I brushed my teeth.. had to close my eyes. We paid $300/night and it was a total waste. The bed is SO hard, I didn't sleep much at all, and went home with back pain. The housekeeping lady (tall african american woman) was so rude, we had BLOOD on a towel she left us and gave us an attitude when we asked her to change it. Front desk staff is very friendly and the location was good. Other than that, a total waste of $.. I should have paid the extra $40/night and stayed at the WESTIN ... never again.

Room Tip: we got a superior queen, and this was a total waste-
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello litagd2014, I'm sorry you did not feel you received good value for money, as our rates are among the most competitive in the historic district of the island. We aim to provide our guests with a wonderful, homey Key West experience, and I apologize if anything wasn't of the highest standard at the time of your stay. I would appreciate it if you would e-mail me at msimmons@historickeywestinns.com with your room number and dates of stay, so that I can investigate the issues you raised with our staff. Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was not too sure with my booking after I read the comments on trip advisor. It seems like the non-renovated rooms generate the bad comments. When we arrived, we asked for a renovated room and we couldn't have been happier with the room we got. The check-in was quick and friendly. There was plenty of parking space, which was an important criteria since we were in the heart of the historic hood. We were a group of 3, sharing a room with two queen beds, facing the the pool, on the ground floor (room 29). It was spacious, very modern and clean. Water pressure, AC, all work perfectly and there was soap, shampoo, cream available. The pool is not very big and packed with kids at times, but for the intense heat of June, it was refreshing and clean. The breakfast buffet is served near the pool and consists of bagels, baked goods, yogourts, cereal, coffee, fruits etc. There was enough for everybody. We were able to walk to all the attractions. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 29 is spacious, renovated and faces the pool, which gives you quick access to the breakfast are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and picked it, well to be honest it was the only place last minute in our price range as we changed or travel plans 2 days before heading out. When we checked in I requested a coffee maker as I like to roll out of bed to a cup of coffee. Especially when I am on vacation. I was told she would look into it. Never heard back. They could Charge a deposit for things like coffee makers and blow dryers so that they don't get stolen. But they should at least have some on hand for those who want them. Rooms are clean, but there is NO PLACE to put ANYTHING. No closet!! and only 2 hooks to close together on the wall for hanging clothes and holds like 4 hangers. No towel racks, no vanity for toiletries, back of commode is tiny and has button on top to flush so you can't set anything on that either. We had to put almost ALL of our stuff on the floor of the bathroom or shower. The "Dresser" only held half of my clothes and my blow dryer/toiletries etc. My boyfriend had to leave his clothes in the suit case all week. Both doors had no weather striping, so AC leaked terribly and the very bright hallway lights shined in our eyes all night. Grounds are very nice and it is in the perfect area for dining, renting bikes, Duval street etc. But if they would take a little money and add few storage options (shelves, towel racks, medicine cabinet etc.) my score would be easy a 4.5. Would not recommend for anyone with high expectations of a comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Chelsea House is a really cute place off of Trumon and walking distance to Duval. It has a nice pool and a breakfast selection that is small but was enough for my crowd. The House itself is very Key West chic and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint was that we got one of the cheaper rooms and it remained a little warm the whole time we were there. It was also a bit hard to get to as you have to go up a pretty narrow staircase. Otherwise, it was a nice stay and we would probably stay there again except request a room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Go for a superior queen or a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea House Pool & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Pool & Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is centrally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just two blocks from Duval Street, you can walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. This former estate property includes two grand Victorian mansions dating from 1888 and 1906 that stand on an acre of tropical gardens. Within the expansive grounds there is a large heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Chelsea House Pool & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.