We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but could easily be better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chelsea House Pool & Gardens to your Saves list
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK, but could easily be better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and picked it, well to be honest it was the only place last minute in our price range as we changed or travel plans 2 days before heading out. When we checked in I requested a coffee maker as I like to roll out of bed to a cup of coffee. Especially when I am on vacation. I was told she would look into it. Never heard back. They could Charge a deposit for things like coffee makers and blow dryers so that they don't get stolen. But they should at least have some on hand for those who want them. Rooms are clean, but there is NO PLACE to put ANYTHING. No closet!! and only 2 hooks to close together on the wall for hanging clothes and holds like 4 hangers. No towel racks, no vanity for toiletries, back of commode is tiny and has button on top to flush so you can't set anything on that either. We had to put almost ALL of our stuff on the floor of the bathroom or shower. The "Dresser" only held half of my clothes and my blow dryer/toiletries etc. My boyfriend had to leave his clothes in the suit case all week. Both doors had no weather striping, so AC leaked terribly and the very bright hallway lights shined in our eyes all night. Grounds are very nice and it is in the perfect area for dining, renting bikes, Duval street etc. But if they would take a little money and add few storage options (shelves, towel racks, medicine cabinet etc.) my score would be easy a 4.5. Would not recommend for anyone with high expectations of a comfortable stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    167
    78
    68
    26
See reviews for
42
278
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Chelsea House is a really cute place off of Trumon and walking distance to Duval. It has a nice pool and a breakfast selection that is small but was enough for my crowd. The House itself is very Key West chic and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint was that we got one of the cheaper rooms and it remained a little warm the whole time we were there. It was also a bit hard to get to as you have to go up a pretty narrow staircase. Otherwise, it was a nice stay and we would probably stay there again except request a room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Go for a superior queen or a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We found this room to be unbelievably small for the price charged. The room was originally part of the upstairs porch. The bathroom was so small that you could actually rest your head on the opposite wall while sitting on the commode. And for the price, one would expect that the water pressure in the shower would be better than "that of an 87 yr old man with prostate issues", as my boyfriend said. I would have hoped that a hair dryer would be available for guests. But, worst of all were the ants we found crawling in the bed. The next day, after notifying the desk staff, we were offered a different room, which we accepted, only to find the same types of ants in the bathroom. As for the free breakfast, we have enjoyed better from less expensive accommodations. I had hoped to enjoy an orange, only to pick up one the was half molded. I won't go into the disappointing hard bolied eggs. And that was after having to request staff to clean the table.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

our greeting staff member "Yellena" was very professional and wanted to accommodate in any way. She gave several restaurant suggestions. all good. Small but nice pool. Breakfast was ok. Rooms were ok but this is an old B&B. Good location to most everything. couple blocks off duval.

Room Tip: 11 & 12 are 1st floor. Many are 2nd and 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Upon arrival our room was ready, clean, bright, large king 4 post bed, small frig, happy to see, clean small 3 piece bath, very nice first impression
The pool and sitting area was nice, plenty of room. We didn't realize it is pet friendly, good space for larger groups and family. 3 free parking areas, which are premium in key west.

Able to walk anyplace, 2 blocks from Duval Street. Would return again. I was surprised how quiet it was, the property was near full. Had a great 3 days!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We chose the Chelsea House because-well honestly because our favorite B&B was full- and we were not disappointed. The staff was very very friendly and even made it a point to let us know when they were there until etc. (Ben was great-super friendly and willing to help us with whatever we needed-including a soap emergency when I dropped our bottle and it spilled all over so we needed more). We stayed in the house connected to the pool. Our room opened onto a small porch that connected to the patio/pool area. The view was very nice and there was a small sitting area outside our room on the porch that we could access through a second door in our room. I could not hear the road noise or people for that matter(although that could be because of the in wall a/c unit).
The room was a standard queen I believe and had plenty of space for us (the smallest area was near the bed on either side but there was more than enough space to get in and out of the bed). The bathroom was very large and housed the refrigerator as well. The room was clean and cool and really provided us with enough space and quiet. House keeping also cleans guests rooms in the afternoon so I didn't have to worry about them waking me or my husband early-which was great for us as we take part in the night life of Key West. The property was lovely and they included parking in the price-which is a big deal in Key West (they have two lots so don't be discouraged if the front one is full there is another one right around the corner). The B&B is very close to Duval street (a short walk) but wasn't so close that we had any issues with noise.
I only had three very very very minor issues with our stay and honestly they are personal preference things-one the a/c was loud as it is a window unit so if that bothers you then you may want to address that when booking-I am not sure if all rooms are window units or not. Our bed was very squeaky-like a joke in a movie squeaky but it wasn't uncomfortable. The other thing was the shower tap was fickle...do not turn it too far because you will burn yourself I can promise you that...I think maybe I was impatient with it and thought maybe I hadn't turn it far enough when I really should have waited for the water to warm a bit. Honestly, though, these issues were so very minor that I would not hesitate to rebook the same room in the same B&B tomorrow. It was a great stay in a well priced and well maintained B&B and I want to thank the Chelsea house for making our mini vacation amazing.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room in the house connected to the pool-this is where they serve breakfast and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff Was friendly and helpfull, our room Was beautiful, comfortable and spacious and had the best time in key west. The historic neighborhood is pretty and fun to walk by.
Would definetly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea House Pool & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Pool & Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is centrally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just two blocks from Duval Street, you can walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. This former estate property includes two grand Victorian mansions dating from 1888 and 1906 that stand on an acre of tropical gardens. Within the expansive grounds there is a large heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea House Pool & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.