We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, convenient parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Chelsea House Pool & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Meriden, CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice room, convenient parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had room 7 and didn't have any of the noise problems I've seen others comment on. Very comfy and clean room. Lots of onsite off-street parking. A few blocks from Duval... a little walk down to the party side, but always good exercise to walk off all the food and alcohol calories! Didn't check out the continental breakfast since we were only here for a long weekend and have our "must-visit" breakfast places. Would stay here again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    167
    77
    69
    25
See reviews for
41
276
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We couldn't be more happy with this place after our dreadful Miami Beach hotel. Charming in every sense of the word.

Pros:

* Super cute and historic!
* Free wifi, although spotty and slow
* Pool
* Free breakfast
* Spacious bedroom
* Cable TV
* Awesome location...we walked everywhere
* Porch connecting to room

Cons

* Price was a bit much, 200+..but I guess that's Key West for you. All in all, a good spend.
* Bathroom was a little small. Ok, really small. No place to hang towels.
* A/C unit was right over bed and LOUD. Hard to watch TV or sleep with it on, too hot with it off.
* Pool was a little small...but was fine since nobody was really using it ever.
* Internet as I said was spotty and slow. Had to be in right position in room to be able to do anything (really!)
* Not really the hotel's fault, but smoke alarm went off randomly and fire department had to come and make sure we weren't smoking or anything in there. Annoying is all..could have done without that, but not really the fault of the hotel.
* Again, not really the hotel's fault, but it was mostly people I'd guess aged 45+. It was nice to have the quiet, but at the same time a little strange seeing nothing but elderly. Some younger people cam near the end of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay in as many years with our group. We wanted the same room as last year and was told "they didn't book like that". Upon arriving we found that other guests were given the rooms they requested. ( I guess I spoke with the wrong clerk). We were stuck on the third floor in a very small room. We booked well in advance so it wasn't last minute. For the over 200 a night charge we were disappointed to say the least. Breakfast wasn't as good either. Not sure if we will stay there next year.......

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Beth at the front desk was wonderful, giving us lots of information and excellent recommendations for our stay. Key West is expensive in general, and our room was no exception (and we did stay in the least expensive room they had). The room was tiny, but very clean, nicely decorated and bright with access to the upstairs veranda. Bathroom was small as well but shower was spacious. Bed was not super comfortable. Breakfast out back was simple, but the pool area is beautiful..very lush and just what you want to have that island feeling.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place to stay in Key West! The front desk staff were so wonderful & helpful! The room was clean, updated & quite! The bed was comfy! The only negative was the room was so small..... No place to put our luggage or clothes, thankfully we packed light.
Would definitely recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought we were staying at an exquisitely maintained B&B, based upon the price we were paying and the website. It turned out to be a worn-out place that lacked any special touches. Breakfast was very simple. Just adding some boiled eggs would have raised the quality significantly. The pool area is very nice, but the pool is pretty small and I didn't see anyone swimming. Our full size bed was not very comfortable. The house cleaners were vacuuming the hallway relatively early. The walls are thin. It was fortunate for us that the people in the neighboring room were very quiet. I would give the staff a high rating. When we asked for wine glasses and a cork screw, they were quick to comply and generally went out of their way to be helpful. The rooms were not very functional with things missing like some place to hang your clothes, a small sink with very little room to place your items and no place to hang a hand towel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chelsea House Pool & Garden is nice historic inn. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt welcome. Clean rooms. Parking space for guests. Location is good for walking to Duval Street and all attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea House Pool & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Pool & Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is centrally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just two blocks from Duval Street, you can walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. This former estate property includes two grand Victorian mansions dating from 1888 and 1906 that stand on an acre of tropical gardens. Within the expansive grounds there is a large heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Chelsea House Pool & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.