We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea House Pool & Gardens to your Saves list
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My daughter and I had our first visit to Key West Feb 18th for 4 nights and really enjoyed the location and service of the Chelsea. We also had to ask to be moved from the suite near the parking as the recycling and garbage removal was too loud. Luckily we secured another king suite on the second floor of the Inn that was very quiet and comfortable. The gardens and pool were beautiful and welcoming in the morning for coffee and bagels or in the late afternoon for a swim after a busy day cycling the island. I am confident you will enjoy being so close to Duval street and Hemingway house but be sure to let them know your room preference as there were plenty of rooms with lovely porches facing the pool that would have been very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    173
    81
    71
    27
See reviews for
43
289
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Key West. We had a wonderful time at the Chelsea. Bryan & Betsy at the front desk are fabulous people. They gave us places to eat at and things to do. We chatted with them on many occasions. It was as if we had known them for awhile. True heritage homes. Small rooms but lovely. Walking distance to Duvall st. Nice pool and good little continental breakfast. Lovely front porch to enjoy your morning cup of tea. If we ever come to Key West again we'll be sure to stay here again. Thanks again Bryan & Betsy ( top o the mornin to ya Bryan ;) )

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Key West and I didn't want to stay in a "chain hotel". This was the perfect place to capture the Key West charm. It was a couple blocks from Duval Street and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The staff was very friendly. Everytime we walked into the lobby, I felt like we were walking into an old friends house. We ended up adding an extra night and had to switch rooms because the same type wasn't available both nights. They made this very simple, calling us when our new room was ready and offering to move our luggage. Both rooms were nice and clean with comfortable beds. We had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Croix Valmer.France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Key West regularly since 1985. We have stayed in the top hotels,in luxury motels and rented houses. Last December we were fortunate to discover this little gem right in the center of the old town. It is one of a groupl of six "Historic Key West Inns" We occupied one of the larger ground floor rooms. Very quiet with a marvellous large comfortable bed with excellent bathroom and shower. Also a terrace with table and chairs. A great spot for catching up with the latest John Grisham! The pool is small, but fine and a simple, tasty breakfast is served poolside. The friendly management were most hepful and the free off road parking was an added bonus in a town where parking spaces are at a premium.

I managed to leave some medical stuff behind, and it was posted to my home immediately. Thank you....

Room Tip: Ask the management to show you the rooms. Some are much larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very well located, charming place in Truman street. 3 free parking. Nice rooms, do not hesitate ! Receptionists make reservation at restaurants. Be careful, ask for a room closed to the swimming pool for a goos internet connexion.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esher, surrey, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Although we hadn't chosen to stay here. when we checked in Beth could not have been more helpful. She took us through everything pointing out local attractions. Full marks to her :-)
Because we were supposed to be staying next door they upgraded us to a Junior suite. Unfortunately the 4 junior suites are set in a block at the end of the property on the corner of Truman and Elizabeth. This is very noisy. The suites are on 2 levels and accessed from the car park. The suite itself was nicely furnished but dark. The safe was screwed into the floor in a tiny cupboard and difficult to access easily. We had a nice balcony on which we could sit and have a drink and although it overlooked te road that was not a problem. Our main problem was that because the suites are basically in a car park when the trucks came to empty the recycling which they did on our first morning at 04.45am it is really noisy. They reverse into the car park and seem to be emptying the bins for ever. Then the next lot come at 06.00am to empty the normal rubbish. Because you are surrounded by small bed and breakfast places and other Inns the bin emptyimg can be an issue. Continental breakfast is included and is set up outside by the pool. It is nicely laid out but seating is sometimes difficult to find. The pool is small and cramped. When we were there they were cutting back the foliage around the pool which meant for a while there was even less seating. All in all it is clean, in a good location in so far as you are only a couple of blocks from everything but it can be very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We can make it very simple. Just walk up the steps to the office, be careful, on the broken steps. Entering to there reception area notice the carpet stains, the general condition of there office. The entrance tells it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea House Pool & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Pool & Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is centrally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just two blocks from Duval Street, you can walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. This former estate property includes two grand Victorian mansions dating from 1888 and 1906 that stand on an acre of tropical gardens. Within the expansive grounds there is a large heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea House Pool & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.