We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea House Hotel in Key West to your Saves list
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 5 Nights & Fun
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had a wonderful stay in Key West at the Chelsea house. Stayed in room 26, the Forster Room. Room was slightly small but worked for the 4 days we were there. There is so much to do and see in Key West that the only time we spent in the room was to sleep and shower. The staff was extremely helpful, friendly,and accomodating in all aspects of our trip. Our room was clean as was the rest of the house. The location is the greatest, just a few short blocks from Duval almost in the center of the island. They only serve a continental breakfast, which was fine for us as we wanted to explore the island and try all of the wonderful restaurants around us. Our only complaint would be more space for your clothes and a full sized mirror on the wall. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachfamily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This place has everything you need in a hotel. It's not the Waldorf, but that isn't what it's supposed to be about. From a service and amenity standpoint, I would favoribly compare it with a Holiday Inn Express, but with an historic twist. The Chelsea House is actually two historic houses, along with some extra rooms that were added at later dates. The two main houses are ca 1880's and 1905, respectively. We stayed in Room #1 of the 1905 house, which appears to have once been the dining room when it was originally built as a private residence. It still retains all of the history you would expect from the historic house that is it, but comes with nearly all of the modern aspects of a new hotel/motel. In short, it has everything we needed. It features a very comfy bed, new TV with great channel selection, a new and quiet AC, a fully modern bathroom (but, with a style largely in keeping with the historic archetecture) and also...and this is very important when choosing a hotel in KW if you have a car...really good parking lots! None of this was lost on us and we were glad to have all of it. If you want a really good taste of KW and/or Southern FL history, you don't want to miss this place. You certainly won't find any places like this left in Miami and likely not too many in most of the other parts of the Keys. But, fortunately, KW has chosen to retain and retrofit most of their historic buildings and the CH is an excellent example of this. Don't miss it! (Also, I need to add that Bryan and the entire management and staff were very friendly and helpful with all of our needs and questions.)

Room Tip: I would tend to recomend a first floor room to anyone whom might have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiance and I just got from our trip to Key West during Thanksgiving weekend! We had a fantastic weekend and loved staying at Chelsea House. The staff was very nice and helpful. I called on the way down to let them know we were running late and I spoke to Bryan. He was very sweet and walked me though all the steps for the "late check-in" process. As it turned out we made just before he was about to shut everything down for the night. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast that was offered by the pool in the morning was great! Plenty of stuff to choose from for a light breakfast to get you going in the morning! Both houses are beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. Also, private parking which is a big plus to us!! The only complaint I have is that I wish there was more counter space in the bathroom. We made it work, not that big of a deal really.

Thanks so much to the staff at Chelsea House for your hospitality! And, thanks to Bryan for waiting for us to arrive and for all your great suggestions!

We'll be back!!

Thanks for everything,
Julissa & Kurt =)

Room Tip: Room #1 was great! Good size, comfortable bed and the a/c worked great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were treated to drunken staff, unfriendly management, horrible beds and cheap linens and very bad food. Our Bathroom drain had hair in it and the floor was dirty. For our honeymoon I expected better but was sadly not to find it at Chelsea House. On our last day we came back from breakfast only to find repairmen in our room. Our things were thrown on the bed and they told us they forgot to let us know that they needed the room and we had to get out. Over all a very bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Leslie P,

Thanks for writing your review, although we do not think it belongs to our hotel! We have searched our records from December of last year, when you say you stayed with us, and cannot find any stay for you nor a honeymoon group. We do have records of three happy Wedding groups at Chelsea House, though! You also would never be greeted by a 'drunken staff' nor unfriendly management because our front desk and management staff are hospitality professionals who take great pride in their customer service! Since it has been 11 months since your visit, I believe you are mistaken about the hotel in which you stayed. Thank you, again, for writing and we hope you do choose our Chelsea House on your next trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Key West hotels

Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I travel over 900 miles to get here. I live in Atlanta and can go around the block to find plush accommodations. That's not why I stay at Chelsea House. It's just intimate enough and just private enough. The mansion is over 100 years old, so I don't expect plush. And compare the price to just about any other guesthouse in Old Town. It's a great value. Many of the rooms are unique, even unusual, with lots of character. The management always works with me to make sure I come back, and next year will mark my twentieth annual stay. I can hardly wait

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaGuy489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens November 6-8. AAA had rated it a 3 diamond. In our opinion, it was a low 2. Bed quality was poor, room amenities minimal; breakfast options poor. Needs painting. The floor in our friends room had paint splotches all over the hard wood floor. We were charged a 25% surcharge because of a power boat race was in town and rooms were expected to fill. They didn't! Find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel and staff! The location was perfect, 5 minute walk to Duvalstreet, 10 minute walk to South Beach. Staff was very helpfull. Bryan, thanks so much for your help!

Rooms are clean, not very spacious, but enough space for 2 people. We had a superior economy room. Nice balcony.

Nice pool! I would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fhayda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Saint Hotel Key West
The Saint Hotel Key West
#8 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea House Hotel in Key West is a 33 room boutique hotel in Old Town, Key West, near Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife, the sunset pier, restaurants, waterfront activities and quaint island neighborhoods. A variety of guest rooms and suites are located in two former estate properties, both in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style built in 1891 and 1905. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free in-room internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing