We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Save Saved
You added Chelsea House Pool & Gardens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 hotels in Key West
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiance and I just got from our trip to Key West during Thanksgiving weekend! We had a fantastic weekend and loved staying at Chelsea House. The staff was very nice and helpful. I called on the way down to let them know we were running late and I spoke to Bryan. He was very sweet and walked me though all the steps for the "late check-in" process. As it turned out we made just before he was about to shut everything down for the night. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The room was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast that was offered by the pool in the morning was great! Plenty of stuff to choose from for a light breakfast to get you going in the morning! Both houses are beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. Also, private parking which is a big plus to us!! The only complaint I have is that I wish there was more counter space in the bathroom. We made it work, not that big of a deal really.

Thanks so much to the staff at Chelsea House for your hospitality! And, thanks to Bryan for waiting for us to arrive and for all your great suggestions!

We'll be back!!

Thanks for everything,
Julissa & Kurt =)

Room Tip: Room #1 was great! Good size, comfortable bed and the a/c worked great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    162
    77
    69
    25
See reviews for
40
270
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were treated to drunken staff, unfriendly management, horrible beds and cheap linens and very bad food. Our Bathroom drain had hair in it and the floor was dirty. For our honeymoon I expected better but was sadly not to find it at Chelsea House. On our last day we came back from breakfast only to find repairmen in our room. Our things were thrown on the bed and they told us they forgot to let us know that they needed the room and we had to get out. Over all a very bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Leslie P,

Thanks for writing your review, although we do not think it belongs to our hotel! We have searched our records from December of last year, when you say you stayed with us, and cannot find any stay for you nor a honeymoon group. We do have records of three happy Wedding groups at Chelsea House, though! You also would never be greeted by a 'drunken staff' nor unfriendly management because our front desk and management staff are hospitality professionals who take great pride in their customer service! Since it has been 11 months since your visit, I believe you are mistaken about the hotel in which you stayed. Thank you, again, for writing and we hope you do choose our Chelsea House on your next trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I travel over 900 miles to get here. I live in Atlanta and can go around the block to find plush accommodations. That's not why I stay at Chelsea House. It's just intimate enough and just private enough. The mansion is over 100 years old, so I don't expect plush. And compare the price to just about any other guesthouse in Old Town. It's a great value. Many of the rooms are unique, even unusual, with lots of character. The management always works with me to make sure I come back, and next year will mark my twentieth annual stay. I can hardly wait

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens November 6-8. AAA had rated it a 3 diamond. In our opinion, it was a low 2. Bed quality was poor, room amenities minimal; breakfast options poor. Needs painting. The floor in our friends room had paint splotches all over the hard wood floor. We were charged a 25% surcharge because of a power boat race was in town and rooms were expected to fill. They didn't! Find a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great hotel and staff! The location was perfect, 5 minute walk to Duvalstreet, 10 minute walk to South Beach. Staff was very helpfull. Bryan, thanks so much for your help!

Rooms are clean, not very spacious, but enough space for 2 people. We had a superior economy room. Nice balcony.

Nice pool! I would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location of this B&B is reasonably convenient - close to Duval Street, but not right in the middle of the noise and drunk people. Free parking was available in the lot adjacent to the hotel, and street parking was also pretty easy to find when we stayed, which was nice.

This is a charming old house, meaning there are some wear and tear on the building but not run-down. My friend and I stayed in their cheapest available room which was on the top floor attic facing a modest sun deck. The stairs up to the room were narrow and steep, and made squeaky noise. The room was clean but small - a queen size bed took most of the room and there wasn't enough space to comfortably sit and relax. We decided this was acceptable because we weren't spending a lot of time in the room anyway. The bathroom was very small and the AC in the room was loud.

Breakfast was pretty basic consisting of bagel, toast, variety of packaged cereal and yogurt, coffee, milk, orange juice etc... nothing warm or cooked, which was a little disappointing from this kind of B&B, but the hotel website did say continental breakfast, so I should not have raised my expectation too high.

The pool was in the garden right next to the breakfast bar, and was quite lovely. It would have been nice to float in it and relax in the shade in a hot afternoon. We didn't get to fully utilize this nice pool, which we regret.

Overall, this place was not too bad, however I gave 3 stars because it was not going above the expectation for the price. If I return to Key West, I will consider this place as well as I do other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A nice property on the surface, but lacking in many details. Our room was very spacious, but the door to the bathroom was done over with cheap luan plywood...unpainted with shabby knobs and poorly fitting doors. There was no attempt at decorating a very promising room. Toilet paper was that annoyingly thin stuff. No glasses, even on request from the desk...just flimsy plastic cups one would find at a Travel Lodge. A decent breakfast layout ...no banana's, just apples and oranges.

Very helpful, apologetic staff. We were disappointed.

Room Tip: See it first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea House Pool & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Pool & Gardens

Address: 709 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Red Rooster Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea House Pool & Gardens 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection and is centrally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just two blocks from Duval Street, you can walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. This former estate property includes two grand Victorian mansions dating from 1888 and 1906 that stand on an acre of tropical gardens. Within the expansive grounds there is a large heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chelsea House Pool & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.