We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Small Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Southernmost Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Southernmost Inn to your Saves list
The Southernmost Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special Promo
Ranked #46 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Small Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had not been to Key West prior to this trip so we had no idea of what to expect or how to plan for the experience. There are a number of "Southernmost Hotels" one can choose to stay at. The Southernmost Inn is a stand alone hotel and, in our opinion, not to be confused with the others. This is a small, quaint "adult only" hotel located just a block from Duval Street, the activity hub of Key West. Parking is difficult, so one must rely on their feet, a tour trolley, a bicycle or a scooter. At one time the Inn was a cigar factory. Now fully renovated, the rooms are of adequate size, some with balconies or patios, all though leading to two pools and a bar with snacks. The staff was great, the grounds were clean, the hotel is private and cozy. We had an excellent time there and would return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    73
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
136
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was smallish but nice and comfortable. The staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was also very good and comprehensive. It is near Duval street with many good restaurants and activities. Also near to Higgs Beach which was great. The pools were clean and warm and the whole place was well looked after. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked this the week before we arrived, and we ended up with a lovely two room suite! The bedroom had a comfortable king bed and I slept better here than any other place during our week away. The room was very clean. Not decorated much, but we weren't in there much either. There was a pool right outside our door and another just a few steps away. Onsite bar had good happy hour prices and we were able to rent bikes to use to travel to the beach, Mallory Square and up and down Duvall. There were no children there, which added to the peacefulness. A great place to relax and unwind before we returned to family, kids and jobs.

Room Tip: We were in 214, large, quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Before my trip to KW for Memorial Day Weekend, I scanned this Inn's reviews weekly. Mostly due to the fact I resided here when it was Pearl's 5 years ago.

This Inn certainly does have its pros and cons. It's a nice hotel, quiet and close to Duval. Housekeeping was very nice and quick.

We had a King Room, not suite. The rooms are very small and so are the bathrooms. They offer a stand alone storage option which, for 2 people, was sufficient enough.

There is the issue of small rooms but how much time are you really spending in the room?

If I had to find something wrong, I didn't care for the shower curtain. It's a flimsy shower liner, too long for the shower, so it bunches up at the bottom and had mold all over it. The fan in the bathroom doesn't work well and we had to prop the bathroom door open with a garbage can.
Expect no counter space either.

This inn was "upgraded" and I think they did a decent job with what they had but it certainly could still improve.

Also, I read on here how nice and considerate Dawson at the front desk was. He was okay. Sort of short and abrupt. Maybe we caught him on a bad day? Johnathon was very nice and accommodating.

If you're going to stay here, request room 514. I was told it's one of the biggest rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for room 514 if it's available. It's supposed to be one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was less than I was expecting based on the photos from the site; very sterile, no counter space in the bathroom to place anything, a tiny 3'x3' square shower with extra tiny bathroom, and the window blinds did nothing to prevent the giant spotlight outside of the window from blasting in at night. On a positive note, there are two small salt water pool areas with nice lounge chairs, towels and a pool deck bar that serves drinks and snacks. Although relaxing at times it was difficult to get over her back-hoe doing major construction in the next yard over. The noise stopped around 5pm on the weekdays. Location was very nice at the quieter, south end of Duval and United. There are several restaurants that are very close along with scooter and golf cart rentals. If you are not looking to spend much time in your room, and bright light at night doesn't bother you, along with the beeping noises from the gym next door this place is for you.

Room Tip: Find out exactly which room number you are getting prior to booking or paying. Ask for photos. Just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon early arrival to the Southernmost Inn we were greeted by a friendly check-in agent who explained to us that there wasn't a possibility of an early check-in (prior to 3) but we were invited to use the property amenities including the pool. We found parking easily on the street, which is paid (parking is at a premium in Key West, expect to pay and if driving to the Keys I would recommend a compact car that is easier to park) and decided to take a much needed nap by the pool. The pool bar/snack bar was staffed with friendly attendants and they offered free popcorn as well. I had booked a King Suite for our stay and requested a balcony (which we really wanted) once we checked into our room noticed that there was no balcony and the room overlooked the parking lot. Being that this trip was intended to celebrate both my birthday as well as my bf's bday we were not impressed and asked to be moved to another unit. They explained to us that was not a possibility the first night but did end up moving us to an alternate room the second and third night to an awesome room (they said it was a downgrade) that overlooked the pool (french doors opened up to the pool area and small private patio). We were much happier with that placement and really enjoyed our stay. We also really liked the fact that the property is an adult-only spot, no worrying about screaming, crying or pee in the pool. LOL! I would highly recommend this location, right around the corner from Duval Street, about a block from the beach and much more reasonable than the prices commanded at any of the larger resorts.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony book a King Room (not a King Suite) and request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I stayed here for a week because of a family member getting married on the island. The staff was always extremely helpful and polite. The pools and pool bar were great to have on the grounds so you didn't have to go far to have a good time. It was only a short walk to Duval Street, restaurants, and the beach. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The rooms were very clean and nicely updated as well.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Southernmost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southernmost Inn

Address: 525 United Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Southernmost Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Quaint Key West charm and hospitality set in a historic cigar factory in old town. The Southernmost Inn is only a few steps from the southernmost point in the US and the ocean. Our guests enjoy free WiFi, 2 pools, a jacuzzi, free continental breakfast and a full bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Southernmost Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southernmost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.