We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole experience was very disappointing for such an expensive stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Southernmost Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Southernmost Inn to your Saves list
The Southernmost Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special Promo
Ranked #52 of 93 Key West B&B and Inns
Towson, Maryland
1 review
“The whole experience was very disappointing for such an expensive stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The experience was very disappointing for such an expensive stay. Our room was so small that we had to turn sideways to get by eachother. We had one window that faced a wall. We never opened the blinds, for the natural light, because there were workers next door. We were woken up at 7am every morning because of the work being done directly out our window which was exasperating for trying to have a restful vacation. The towels were very tin and the bathroom smelled of mildew. There were very few places to put our things, perhaps because the room was so small. The people working there were not friendly. the WiFi did not work in our room. We would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
100
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent 4 nights at The Southernmost Inn. The hotel is located right off of Duval Street but on the quieter side which was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we were upgraded to a King Suite. The room was very spacious and clean and the bed was comfortable. The first night we stayed, we noticed that our hairdryer wasn't working. We notified the front desk the next morning and we had a new hairdryer within a few hours. The pools were clean the bar was nice. There is a happy hour everyday. The only negative for me was that the bar is open to the public so there were a few people who weren't staying at the hotel that were using the bar and pool area. Other than that, it was a perfect stay and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Manager at The Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your excellent review! We are glad that you had a great experience with us. We are proud of our convenient location and relaxing property. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very clean, the staff is friendly, and the grounds are very well kept. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a getaway or a vacation in Key West. The only issue I had was trying to find ice after everyone had gone home for the evening. Maybe I wasn't looking in the right places...obviously not a deal breaker but it truly is the only negative about our stay, if it even is, I can mention.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Manager at The Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Jeff, we appreciate your wonderful review and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you stay with us on your next Key West vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a lovely time at Southernmost Inn.The staff is so friendly and helpful.,easy to get where ever you want.------A big Hello to Dennis ,Petey,and all the lovely Staff that I can't remember all names. It was GREAT!!

Room Tip: Probably stay off street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Manager at The Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for your excellent review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. I’ll pass your kind comments on to our staff. We hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I spent the weekend in this inn and it was great. Dawson who greeted us and checked us in was very helpful and knowledgeable of the sites to see and activities to do on the island. The social areas and the pool were very tidy and spacious with a very nice minimalist decor, the pool bar has a full liquor stock but the service from the bartender was not welcoming, which makes you wonder why would you be rude in such a slice of paradise. Aside from that the room was cozy, we got a king size bed the sheets and the pillows were super soft and comfortable, the only downside of the room was that it was too tiny the bed took almost 75% of the space it was a bit hard to walk around it, oh and there was only one outlet in the bathroom to plug in our camera and phone chargers :(.. There are a few kinks to work out in this Inn but overall a great place to stay for a great price compared to other hotels and Inns in the surrounding area. 4 stars for service and convenience! :)

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Manager at The Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We take these reviews very seriously and any feedback is greatly appreciated. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Or I suppose one could describe it as a "boutique " hotel. Very clean and plenty of towels, king size bed comfortable. Ensuite bathroom with a good shower. No in room coffee/tea making facilities, this surprised me as one does get this in a basic hotel. Simple breakfast, buffet style with plastic "cutlery", polystyrene plates and bowls a cardboard cup! This, I find unacceptable for a price way over US $300 for the night. Even in a backpacker one has "proper" cutlery. In addition the interior decor is minimalist, bare boards and stairs. All well and good but the noise and echo at night is awful. Inevitably some guests come back in the early morning hours, don't know how to whisper and be quiet to respect other guests, clump up the stairs and along corridors. Breakfast ok but too many gadgets.

Room Tip: In the back of the site and not in the bigger buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seasoned traveller from Devon
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's expensive in Key West, particularly at Spring Break and rooms are hard to find so we took a room at this Inn.
I'm a reasonably light sleeper and I thought this house was noisy, guests coming in at 3.30 am and talking normally in the corridors, wooden floors and stairs which amplify noise and doors noisily closing,not necessarily the fault of the Inn but avoidable.
The room was clean, nice sheets and a comfortable bed, bathroom clean and adequate. We had a dual aspect front of house room with a balcony overlooking Atlantic Avenue.
Great location for Duval and Mallory Square, within walking distance if you're so minded!
Parking is an issue unless you're prepared to pay an extra charge ($25?) but there's free overnight street parking near the Casa Marina at Higgs Beach, a ten minute walk.
Breakfast was ok with cereals, cold boiled eggs , toast, muffins and hot drinks, I would have expected something better for the money like scrambled eggs and bacon?
Overall not the best value for the money but perhaps one can't achieve that in Key West, the second highest room rate area in the US after New York!

Room Tip: The further from the street the better and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan H, Manager at The Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
We appreciate your taking the time to write this review. While we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location and clean rooms, we’re sorry to hear that we fell short on other points. We take these reviews very seriously and value your feedback. We are always looking to improve, and we are taking your feedback on the noise into consideration. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Southernmost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southernmost Inn

Address: 525 United Street, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Southernmost Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Quaint Key West charm and hospitality set in a historic cigar factory in old town. The Southernmost Inn is only a few steps from the southernmost point in the US and the ocean. Our guests enjoy free WiFi, 2 pools, a jacuzzi, free continental breakfast and a full bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Southernmost Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Southernmost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.