We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best key west experience ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southernmost Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Southernmost Inn to your Saves list
Southernmost Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special Promo
Ranked #69 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best key west experience ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is I wish there was a higher rating for the staff! I have been coming with my wife to key west for years and this is by far the best place we have ever stayed. It felt like we were staying at a family members house. I really recommend it .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our staff and happy they made your stay so enjoyable. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you'll visit us again the next time you are in Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    128
    61
    42
    27
See reviews for
10
303
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice place to stay. Good location, good customer service. Brenda at the Bar makes good drinks. Pool in courtyard is a nice addition. One major draw back. Had to park across town in a parking garage for $20/night. Hotel has ZERO parking available. They tell you to park at he meters (which have to be fer every 10 hours (at $2/hour). Consider this expense/inconvenience when making your hotel reservation. Hotel should consider arranging parking accommodations with a neighboring business/garage.

Room Tip: Small rooms, but very suitable for Key West
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. Yes, our parking is very limited. Luckily, our guests find parking on the residential streets to the east of us, which are free spaces for as long as you like. We are sorry you were unable to find parking there. We hope you will consider Pearl's again the next time you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been to Key West many times, as it is a close drive from my home in Miami Beach, but this is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in Old Town. When we arrived, our host Jill gave us a tour of the property and told us some interesting history it. She and everybody else were super-nice during our stay. Although I only booked one day prior, we got a fabulous large room with porch access in the cigar-factory part (main building) of the hotel overlooking the swimming pool. (I've read negative reviews on here about the "old" style of the rooms and bathrooms--please! Go stay in a family-style, boring, corporate chain hotel if you want something like everywhere else.)

I am not sure how the other rooms are, but ours was full of character, spacious, and much better than I was expecting for the low price we paid (about $120 for one night.) The bed itself was comfortable and roomy. The only issue we encountered was with the A/C, and a friendly service call took care of that--even at midnight. We were allowed an extra hour at checkout for the inconvenience. I did not know prior that Pearl's was a predominately lesbian guesthouse, but we (2 gay men) did not encounter any issues and found our stay to be very welcoming, relaxing and pleasant. Pearl's exceeded our expectations. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. Since your in Miami we expect to see you boys down here more often!! We hope you'll return to Pearl's next time you're in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First time stay at Pearl's and loved it!! Staff was extremely nice and helpful. The pool / patio area is very tropical with beautiful magnolia tree and very nice landscaping. Loved relaxing in the pool with the great floats. I appreciated that this was an adult only hotel. Room was a little small and parking was limited, but the location is great. Who wants to be in the room when in Key West especailly when there is such a great pool area? Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property. We hope you will stay with us again when you are next in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

"Do you realise you have booked us into a gay hotel?" said my wife ... I had been concentrating on the on street car charges! As a straight couple we were made very welcome and the hotel is lovely - beautifully decorated and very homely. And lots of free parking nearby!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for writing such a nice review of our property!! I had to laugh when I read it. We are not exactly a gay hotel, but at one time we were and a lot of our guests and employees still are. The important thing for us is that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will spend some time with us again when you are next in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed there 2 nights. The hotel is clean, nice swimming pool and bar. There are beautiful rooms facing the pool, however we have been placed in the studio facing the main street so it was obviously a bit noisy. The staff is friendly and the facilities not particularly new but nice as well. Negative aspects: there is no parking, the beach is far away (there is a small and ugly beach just two blocks away but the only proper beach is in the Natural park 15 minutes by bike) and the breakfast a bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. Your input is so helpful in making our guests' stay more enjoyable. We hope you will come and see us again when you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights here. Staff was always friendly. Room was small, but clean. (didnt spend much time in room anyway) The property is nice and our room location was upstairs over looking the pool and was nice and quite. They entire property could definitely use a facelift and rooms could be updated. It definitely was a good value for the area and I thought the location was great (close to Duvalls shops and restaurants, southernmost point), but in a quiet location. Had breakfast here one day and it was pretty good. Parking at the place is very limited but there is street parking within a block, and we always found a spot. Drinks at the bar were mediocre. Ordered off their drink menu and the bartender had to look at the menu in order to make it. I would think at a minimum the bartender should know how to make what's on the menu. Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if ever in Key West!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeysMezzo, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse on Tripadvisor...your input is always helpful in making our guests' stay more enjoyable. I think we change our drink specials so much the bartenders have to learn new recipes too quickly! We hope you will spend some time with us again the nest time you visit Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Southernmost Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Inn

Address: 525 United St, Key West, FL 33040 (Formerly Pearl's Key West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southernmost Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint Key West charm and hospitality set in a historic cigar factory in old town. Southernmost Inn is only a few steps from the southernmost point in the US and the ocean. Our guests enjoy free WiFi, 2 pools, a jacuzzi, free continental breakfast and a full bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Southernmost Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl`s Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southernmost Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.